Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best history of the Ashes I have read
I really loved this book. It gives the whole history of the Ashes, but rather than concentrating on dull statistics it tells the human stories of the great conflicts and players from the whole of Ashes history. Far too many cricket books are worthy and dull, but this one really brought the passion of Ashes cricket to life. The perfect book to accompany this years Ashes...
Published on 12 Nov 2006 by Cricket Fan

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Nothing new but an ok read.
This book is far more a history of the Ashes than of sledging and contained nothing I hadn't read before. There are better books on sledging (the single chapter in Barry Norman's book contained most of these tales as well as some corkers from the South Africans and West Indians) and more comprehensive cricketing history books but this made for perfectly acceptable holiday...
Published 1 month ago by D. Hopper


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best history of the Ashes I have read, 12 Nov 2006
I really loved this book. It gives the whole history of the Ashes, but rather than concentrating on dull statistics it tells the human stories of the great conflicts and players from the whole of Ashes history. Far too many cricket books are worthy and dull, but this one really brought the passion of Ashes cricket to life. The perfect book to accompany this years Ashes. Highly recommened whether you have been into cricket for years, or if you only starting watching last summer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worthy Alternative History of The Ashes, 10 Jan 2007
By 
DB "Itey" (Huddersfield, England.) - See all my reviews
As befits a journalist on a British quality newspaper, Briggs' narrative exudes authority. The book is presented in a manner that is a welcome antidote to the often overly dense nature of texts on cricket and although it is essentially structured chronologically, the use of pictures and different fonts help to make this a work that will appeal to all readers, not just for those who like to think of cricket as a branch of science in its own right.

Some of the anecdotes are extremely funny - in this dismal time for English cricket, at least Fred Trueman flies the flag for England by consistently proving himself the funniest man in the history of the Ashes - but occasionally Briggs lets his guard slip by lauding a particular comment disproportionately, such as the 'building an idiot' quip levelled by an Australian fan at Phil Tufnell. Certainly not the original jibe that Briggs suggests.

This may be pedantic, but as the England team found in the 2006/07, embrace complacency at your peril!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good way of fighting the depression, 29 Dec 2006
By 
For English fans out there the recent and ongoing Ashes series must be wearing you down. 4 tests in, 4-0 down and the last test was as comprehensive as they come.

This beautifully bound and well thought out book is refreshing after the avalanche of poorly written and hastily rushed out efforts following the 2005 Ashes series. I'd rank it up there alongside Gideon Haigh's excellent offering that clearly stood out from the pack, winning Wisden's coveted cricket book of the year award.

The anecdotes delight; whilst you'd have thought there was little ground left to cover (on the topic of sledging), there were many tales here I had never heard of before. It leaves you with a far greater sense of the history of the Ashes in a more personal sense.

As an afterthought, it is printed on high quality paper and has a satisfying 'weight' when you pick it up - it's hard to beat a well bound book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gets the right balance between humour and history, 8 Mar 2009
By 
Caterkiller (Darlington, UK) - See all my reviews
Fans of proper cricket writing (as opposed to readers of books which treat pro-cricket as one long pub crawl) may be put off by the jokey sub-title and cover og this tome. Don't be; it is entertaining from start to finish giving plenty of history of the Ashes including lengthy sections on the greats such as Hammond, Trumper and The Don. There are a lot of interesting facts included here: Wally Hammond's extra-ciricular activities, the gentlemen vs. players split in the England set-up and the highlighting of some lesser known players who have graced Ashes history (does anyone under 50 now remember David Steele?) This is great stuff, the highlight being an extract of one of Ian Chappell's motivational speeches (too blue to repeat here) and Merv Hughes' classic sledge of Robin Smith: "If you turn the bat over the instructions are on the other side".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sport can be funny, 11 Sep 2009
A very amusing book. Given some of the comments you wonder how the batsmen simply didn't fall about laughing or the bowler hurl the ball at his head in frustration.

It shows that despite it being a team game, there's times when you're on your own and you need to have selective hearing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not just sledging..., 29 Jan 2007
By 
Maneblusser 7 (Mechelen - Belgium) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
When I thought that "Penguins Stopped Play" topped my personal list of most enjoyable and humorous cricket books, this one came along... While it took me a bit before I actually decided to start reading it, after getting through the first few pages it became hard to put it down. This is a remarkably funny book and written both very eloquently and colourful. The fact that the stories go a lot further than just a dull summing up of famous sledging phrases which most of us have heard (or used?) before, adds a very nice extra dimension. The lay-out is also quite original as well as many of the extremely well chosen pictures. In all a book which I can highly recommend to anybody in search of a damn good read, even if cricket is not his or her primary interest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Nothing new but an ok read., 11 Aug 2014
By 
D. Hopper (Coventry, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stiff Upper Lips and Baggy Green Caps: A Sledger's History of the Ashes (Kindle Edition)
This book is far more a history of the Ashes than of sledging and contained nothing I hadn't read before. There are better books on sledging (the single chapter in Barry Norman's book contained most of these tales as well as some corkers from the South Africans and West Indians) and more comprehensive cricketing history books but this made for perfectly acceptable holiday reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Stiff Upper Lips and Baggy Green Caps, 18 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Entertaining read.
The quality of actual paper it was printed on rather cheap which detracted from it as a gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must read, 31 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great read at a great price. I would highly recommend it to all cricket fans both poms and ozzies out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 27 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a great little book ... very funny ... I only wish that I could magically sit by the close fielders and hear it all first hand ... recommended reading for any cricket fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews