Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A thought-provoking read that will touch your heart! xxx
I have never read anything by Linda Green before so I was very keen to start on The Mummyfesto.

Sam, Jackie and Anna are mothers with children at school. After successfully campaigning to save their children's lollipop lady, they find themselves center of attention. As a reporter asks them if they've ever thought of standing in the general election that is...
Published on 15 Feb. 2013 by Megan ReadingInTheSunshine

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The thirty-somethings' calendar girls!
Despite the awful title, which made me cringe, I was attracted to this book by the political storyline, which sounded interesting and original.
In the end I have mixed feelings about it. I enjoyed the stories of the three families,with their various problems which were explored in an evocative and often touching way. It seemed to me very reminiscent of Calendar...
Published 21 months ago by tangerina


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A thought-provoking read that will touch your heart! xxx, 15 Feb. 2013
By 
Megan ReadingInTheSunshine (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Mummyfesto (Paperback)
I have never read anything by Linda Green before so I was very keen to start on The Mummyfesto.

Sam, Jackie and Anna are mothers with children at school. After successfully campaigning to save their children's lollipop lady, they find themselves center of attention. As a reporter asks them if they've ever thought of standing in the general election that is coming up soon. This idea sticks and soon The Lollipop Party is formed, these are mums on a mission determined to change things for the better...

Wow - what a fantastic idea for a book! As soon as I had read the blurb on the back I was very intrigued - Mum's running the country? Well why not! Surely with their experiences as mothers and members of the public, they'd be perfect candidates! I absolutely loved the idea of three mums banding together and standing in the elections, and their policies made a lot of sense too - anti-bullying, funded children's hospitals and hospices, for example - causes that they and other mothers strongly believe in.

I really enjoyed this book - I admit it did take me a few chapters to get fully settled into the story and to get my head around the politics side of the novel. Although this story isn't just about politics, policies and causes - there is so much more than that! With The Mummyfesto comes the very personal stories of three women, and their own struggles, hopes and dreams. I won't say too much about what it delves into so as not to spoil the story, but I'm certain there are readers out there who will be able to relate to the situations and scenarios that the three women face in their everyday lives, and this brings the story to life, and makes it more realistic.

I thought the characters were very well-written and thought out. I very much enjoyed delving into their lives, understanding a bit more about their backgrounds and why they were campaigning for certain causes. As they progressed in their journey throughout the book, Linda Green opens up the characters a bit more so that we are shown more of their personality and what makes them who they are. I warmed to each of the three women and always looked forward to the next chapter.

As I mentioned previously, there are a lot of subjects explored in this story, and Linda Green deals with them sensitively and thoughtfully. The Mummyfesto is very thought-provoking with some moments that will touch your heart. However, there are also some scenes in store which lightens the mood. The Mummyfesto is a very well-written and enjoyable book which will have you cheering on mothers everywhere!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The thirty-somethings' calendar girls!, 27 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mummyfesto (Kindle Edition)
Despite the awful title, which made me cringe, I was attracted to this book by the political storyline, which sounded interesting and original.
In the end I have mixed feelings about it. I enjoyed the stories of the three families,with their various problems which were explored in an evocative and often touching way. It seemed to me very reminiscent of Calendar Girls, but set within a younger age group. However, the plotline of the Lollipop party left me completely cold - the whole setup seemed unconvincing and even childish, and the points listed on the manifesto reminded me of children's lists for Father Christmas!
I also got irritated by the author's repeated harping on her idea that only "mummies" really know how to get things done. Time and again I got the message that women with children are some kind of super citizens; men are looked down on, and women without children just don't get a look-in at all! Yet having a child does not make everyone into a superhero, and there are plenty of wise and worthwhile people who never have a child at all (interestingly, even the character used to illustrate the sufferings of struggling to get pregnant here already has a daughter, so can be part of this super band of mummies). This heavyhanded promotion of a particular stereotyped viewpoint spoiled the book for me. But as light reading, it is enjoyable and quite touching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Touching and entertaining story about mums taking to politics, 5 May 2014
By 
K. J. Noyes "Katy Noyes" (Derbyshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Mummyfesto (Paperback)
4.5 stars

I give my ratings for each book judged in its genre. Not comparing each piece of writing to Austen/Dickens/Rushdie. So to give this a high rating means it's an excellent example of a comedic family drama, an easy read, one with a good amount of emotion, laughs and entertainment.

Don't expect War and Peace. But you can expect quite a moving story. One about three regular mums, all with families and family problems. One fears infertility whilst wishing for a second child. One has a secretive teenager and a daughter being bullied. And one has a severely disabled son.

And in the midst of their own stories, they decide to form a political party and stand in the upcoming general election. All very far-fetched, but very well-handled I thought. All the details I wondered about (okay, but how will they be funded? Alright how will they make it official?) all all covered. The fun part is when they announce their decision and the country takes an interest and helps them form their policies.

I love their policies and the Mummyfesto of the title. I wish theirs was a real party - they'd have my vote!

The social media angle is well used, feeling very current and quite possible.

The family angle is interesting and moving. Each mum's story takes its own share of the story, and I'll admit I was in tears more than once as I walked to work listening to the audiobook.

It's a light read but one that does delve into several deep issues. Highly enjoyable and if you're in the mood, one where you'll need the odd tissue too. And a desire to vote.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This one will get the brain ticking and the tears rolling xXx, 14 Feb. 2013
By 
realovesbooks (South east London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Mummyfesto (Paperback)
I was looking forward to meeting the characters In this book again. I downloaded the short e-book The Resolution and when I read that I really warmed to the characters.
I got a lot more from this book than I was expecting. The storyline follows three friends all of who are facing challenging day to day lives. The author has carefully picked family problems that are very tough to deal with but these are problems many families have to cope with in day to day life so this book really was one that opened your eyes into the challenging lives some families lead.

I loved all of our three main characters, they all seemed like normal down to earth mums you may come across in your local school playground. Sam is the character who I warmed to most. Sam has two wonderful sons Zach and Oscar who has an incurable disease. We are opened to her world of looing after Oscar who is a little delight it is hard to remember he is a fictional character in this book. We also have Jackie who is desperate for another baby but after trying for so long her hope is dwindling away. She also has a mother with Alzheimer's to try to look after. Lastly we have Anna who has three children one of who has her own battle at school. Anna is trying to look after her childrens situation which seems to mean she is missing something else that is crumbling away.

When all the ladies get together and decide that something needs to be done to help all of these families who are facing day to day struggles they do no more that form a political party to put the world to rights.
I am first to hold my hands up and say I am not into politics but if there was a party that represented what these ladies do then my interest would spark and they would have my vote! The storyline really gets you thinking. I was gripped from the first page right the way through this book there were no low points and the book didn't feel rushed or that it was being drawn out it was a perfect read but definitely not a light hearted pure escapism!

I have read many touching reads and a few that have given me a lump in my throat or even a tear in my eye. But this book is something completely different I was sobbing. There is a chapter later on in the book that is written so delicately and it was heartbreaking and beautiful at the same time the floodgates opened!
This will be one of those books that will stay in my mind for a long time yet. I highly recommend this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Heartwarming tale of family, friendship and politics, 20 April 2013
This review is from: The Mummyfesto (Paperback)
When the lollipop lady outside the school Sam's young sons attend is told she is about to lose her job due to government cuts, Sam feels she must do something. The lollipop lady is important, keeping the local children safe as they walk to and from school. So Sam joins forces with with Jackie and Anna, fellow parents at the school and together they fight the governments decision.

Upon their success, Sam is asked whether she would like to form her own political party. Sam has never been particularly politically-minded before but she's fed up with how the country is being run and decides to form a new family-friendly party. With friends Jackie and Anna on board, they devise a manifesto - or rather a mummyfesto - stating their core values and the things they want to change, and throw themselves into the next general election.

When I first received The Mummyfesto I was worried it would be too politically heavy for my liking but I found the underlying story was about the three women and their family issues. Sam has two young sons, one of which has an incurable disease which has left him wheelchair bound and reliant on machines to keep him healthy. Sam works at a children's hospice and when she finds out their government funding is about to be significantly reduced, she's even more determined that things must change to support the nation's families.

Jackie has family troubles of her own. Not only does she have a six year old daughter to take care of, her mother is suffering from Alzheimer's and is needing more and more care. Anna's teenage children are causing her concern; her 15 year old son is hanging out with the wrong crowd while her 13 year old daughter is being bullied, something her school refuses to tackle.

Despite their family commitments, the three women forge ahead with their plans, determined to change the way the country is run, not only to benefit their own families but those of the whole country. The women aren't always supported in their plans but they are strong and courageous enough to put themselves into the political world and challenge what they deem to be major flaws. Each woman is different, bringing something unique to the party. I liked that they were parents and friends above all else and that they supported each other through their troubles.

The children in The Mummyfesto are extremely important in the book as they bring humour and warmth and are also a major drive for Sam, Jackie and Anna to form the party. The children aren't just in the background - children and family are at the core of the new political party and they're at the core of The Mummyfesto too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved this book so much - made my laugh and cry!, 20 Mar. 2013
This review is from: The Mummyfesto (Paperback)
When I saw the opportunity to review The Mummyfesto by Linda Green I jumped at the chance. I love `chick lit', give me anything by Marian Keyes, Jill Mansell, etc and I am well away so I thought it would be a great way to discover a new author.

So what is The Mummyfesto about? It starts with three friends, Sam, Jackie & Anna campaigning to save their local lollipop lady from redundancy with the help of their children. When a TV reporter asks if they fancy standing in the general election they decide to form the `Lollipop Party' to fight for causes they, and other parents, believe in. With the help of social media and blogging they put together a `Mummyfesto' to include all those issues that real people would like to see happen.

This book though is not just about politics. Although politics forms the base for the book, so many more issues are covered. Sam has a child with an incurable disease and works in a children's hospice that is struggling for funding; Jackie is struggling to conceive a much wished for second child whilst trying to cope with her Mum's ever worsening Alzheimer's; and Anna is dealing with her teenage children's drinking and bullying problems at the same time as struggling to keep her loveless marriage on track.

I was really impressed with how many issues were tackled in this book and all of them with so much knowledge and compassion. I have laughed and cried whilst reading it and really became involved with all of the characters' lives. I am sure most people will be able to relate with at least one of the issues in this book.

I thought the politics issues were written really well and did not go into so much detail that it was confusing. At the end of the day they are normal people standing up for issues they believe in, not politicians.

In their Mummyfesto they cover lots of important topics that mean something to them and their families. Lots of serious and not so serious suggestions were brought up, but my favourite has to be `All roads and road signs should be colour-coded...So if you want to go from Leeds to Manchester you just follow the purple line along the road.' Why no-one has come up with this before I don't know!

I will definitely be reading Linda Green's other novels now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So much more than I expected., 17 Oct. 2013
By 
Caroline (Roxburghshire, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mummyfesto (Paperback)
Other reviewers have outlined the plot - suffice to say that this is not what I expected for so little money. I could not put it down. I thought it would be a lightweight bit of chick lit, but hours later when I hadn't gone to bed at a reasonable hour and was sitting in a darkened house with tears dripping onto my iPad - well, I realised that it was an intelligent and sensitively written book about three fairly unlikely friends, and what they did that changed their worlds.
Goodness, I was ready to vote for them too! Just what we need to run the country....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Really wanted to like it but..., 12 April 2013
By 
Jendo (Belfast, Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mummyfesto (Paperback)
I'm an avid reader, read everything and anything. I thought this might be an interesting read having read the reviews here and it sounded less "run of the mill" chick lit than the norm.
But I've waded my way through this. I'm nearly at then end but not finishing it to find out what happens, more out of stubbornness!
I find the three main characters (and their other halves) incredibly forgettable, so much so that at the start of each chapter entitled "Anna" / "Sam" /"Jackie" I'm genuinely having to stop and think oh god which one is she again. Is she the teacher or the ones who's mum is ill or hang on is that the same person. I just didn't connect with them at all.
And then there's the politics- a really clever idea for a story, mums with political aspiration to make the country a better place but boy does this book make mums sound half witted. "the lollipop party" for political party and a list of ideas that anyone with a brain would love to have but clearly there isn't the money to do it all.
I really tried very hard to like this but every line they mentioned about their party and "policies" jarred and grated and I still couldn't remember a thing about each character at the end of each chapter never mind like them.
Really disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Nice idea for a story, 27 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mummyfesto (Paperback)
I'm honestly not sure how I feel about this book. On the plus side I thought it was well thought out and a lovely story. The way 3 ordinary mums felt they could take on the country was quite refreshing to read and as a mother of a disabled child myself, I would very much like to change several policies. But didn't feel I could connect to the characters. I kept getting confused with who was who, having to refer back a few times to remind myself. The referral to "mummybloggers" kept irritating me also as I am a very prolific and determined blogger though find it rather tedious to hear bloggers who are mums referred to as "mummybloggers". This is obviously my personal opinion but it does categorise bloggers and is something that prevent bloggers being treated equally.

The only characters I warmed to were the children; particularly Zach and Oscar and Will - the latter who became my favourite character in the book. I did shed a tear in one part and had a laugh-out-loud moment in another. Yes, nice book but perhaps not really my cup of tea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars For anyone who had a heart..., 3 Mar. 2013
This review is from: The Mummyfesto (Paperback)
I live at a number 10 too, in a backwoods town not so different from Hebden Bridge, with a daughter and mother also at Number 10s, one in the Midlands, the other in the North, so I was intrigued to see Number 10 on the cover of The Mummyfesto and bought a copy. I'm so glad I did! Boo hoo - ha, ha. Good luck to Linda Green, whom I have yet to meet, and to all her heartfelt characters.It may have been a Calderdale February this year, rather than the Daft-b-ggers Spring, but this book made it feel like Spring.
The only type who could be huffy about this tale has been nicely, (but briefly) described already in "Mummyfesto".
This story is SO real: the everyday mini-dramas, and then SO plausible in its mildly hysterical imagination - I burst out laughing, I unexpectedly giggled and I cried.
A great read, and, an important read, for anyone with a heart.... and conscience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Mummyfesto
The Mummyfesto by Linda Green
£4.74
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews