Customer Reviews


441 Reviews
5 star:
 (155)
4 star:
 (136)
3 star:
 (90)
2 star:
 (32)
1 star:
 (28)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Is she so bad?
Despite wanting to berate Tessa for being so self absorbed I did also feel sympathy for her. Is she a bad mother, or just a mother having to deal with too many situations at once, any one of which would be quite a lot to deal with if they had come alone. I found it a fairly well observed tale of how a life can turn upside down in a moment, when all that is certain in...
Published 14 months ago by Aurora

versus
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Which bad mother?
This is the first Isabelle Grey novel I have read, but I didn't find as much depth to her characters as I would have liked given the life-changing news they discovered. However I think she tried to show each family members reaction to it and other complex emotional issues quite well. I would like to read more of her work.
Published 14 months ago by M J CORIN


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 445 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The mother wasnt that bad, 27 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bad Mother (Kindle Edition)
The beginning of this book started really good, towards the middle I started to get annoyed and bored with the charachter. I also thought the book came to an abrupt ending. A disappointing read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Steely and delicate, 4 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bad Mother (Paperback)
Bad Mother? How about, one of the most insidiously nasty fathers in literature. I read this eagerly as I love Isabelle Grey's writing - and found myself lurching between the carefully controlled tension of being inside her protagonist Tessa's head and heart as she tries to hold her life together after an emotional bombshell - and really REALLY wanting to see this kind, sensitive woman crack, and kick her world apart as she tries to make sense of it all. That feeling of cathartic anger and violence didn't actually come, but was ever-present under the surface, making for a compelling, but uncomfortable read.

One of the great joys of this novel - and showing an astonishing range, was her wonderful portrayal of young love, through the teenage eyes (and other senses) of Mitch, Tessa's son. What could have been coy, or 50 Shades of Teen, was instead so tender and touching that it made me remember and yearn for the pure magic of that experience. And when this beauty and grace slams up against middle-aged bitterness, malice and sheer neglect, the book gains real power and emotional momentum.

It would be fascinating if Isabelle Grey ever wrote from the male point of view - and were she ever to let rip with the danger and violence stalking the background of the two novels I have read so far, I'd probably be sleeping with the light on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars A Huge Disappointment, 14 Dec 2014
By 
Ginger (Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bad Mother (Kindle Edition)
I can't understand all the rave reviews for this book. I thought the main character was spineless and had the emotional intelligence of a potato. I lost patience very early on when the husband dropped his "bombshell" and she reacted (or rather didn't) in the most unrealistic way. Talk about doormat. She seemed completely unaware of what was going on in anyone's life, even her children, to a ridiculous degree. Her gullible acceptance re her "father" was ludicrous, as if in that situation you wouldn't research the whole thing thoroughly before diving in. It was perfectly obvious immediately what the long lost sister/aunt was all about, talk about telegraphed. The whole thing was just so unconvincing, everyone was one dimensional. They did or said things just to further the plot, none of it felt spontaneous, just contrived. I could hardly be bothered to finish it, it was so predictable, but I don't like to give up on books, even ones as poor as this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Draws the reader in instantly. Without giving away the ..., 27 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bad Mother (Kindle Edition)
Draws the reader in instantly. Without giving away the plot, this book explores the dynamics of families (parents/siblings) & touches upon issues such as adoption & prison. This is done in a sensitive way that does not detract from an enjoyable story line. I read this book quickly (it had my attention), a pleasant speed read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great read, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bad Mother (Kindle Edition)
Absolutely heart rending book, an excellent read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Totally engrossing read!, 9 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bad Mother (Kindle Edition)
Couldn't put this book down. A great read from start to finish! Complexities of family life, secrets, deceit and manipulation!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 23 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bad Mother (Kindle Edition)
Couldn't put it down, loved all the characters and family strength look forward to the next book from some author
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent read, 5 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bad Mother (Kindle Edition)
A really involved family saga. A well written book that covers the complicated lives of so many characters within the one family
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The bad mother., 27 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bad Mother (Kindle Edition)
A good read keeps you turning the pages to read more than you should be. Could hardly put this book down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars enjoyable!, 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bad Mother (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this book, it was different, not the run of the mill story. If you are looking for something a little different, I would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 445 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Bad Mother
The Bad Mother by Isabelle Grey
£4.74
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews