Customer Reviews


416 Reviews
5 star:
 (146)
4 star:
 (127)
3 star:
 (87)
2 star:
 (31)
1 star:
 (25)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Is she so bad?
Despite wanting to berate Tessa for being so self absorbed I did also feel sympathy for her. Is she a bad mother, or just a mother having to deal with too many situations at once, any one of which would be quite a lot to deal with if they had come alone. I found it a fairly well observed tale of how a life can turn upside down in a moment, when all that is certain in...
Published 10 months ago by Aurora

versus
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Which bad mother?
This is the first Isabelle Grey novel I have read, but I didn't find as much depth to her characters as I would have liked given the life-changing news they discovered. However I think she tried to show each family members reaction to it and other complex emotional issues quite well. I would like to read more of her work.
Published 10 months ago by M J CORIN


‹ Previous | 1 242 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Is she so bad?, 29 Sep 2013
By 
Aurora (Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bad Mother (Kindle Edition)
Despite wanting to berate Tessa for being so self absorbed I did also feel sympathy for her. Is she a bad mother, or just a mother having to deal with too many situations at once, any one of which would be quite a lot to deal with if they had come alone. I found it a fairly well observed tale of how a life can turn upside down in a moment, when all that is certain in life proves to be false. When she is given the information which shakes the foundations of her world, Tessa isn't given the whole story, but only because her mother is the only person who knows exactly what happened, and after all these years, even she is unsure of what happened in the days of her innocence. In reaching out to find some solid ground on which to rebuild her life, Tessa makes a series of bad decisions. Again they are only bad decisions because being too naive and trusting she doesn't realise that yet again she may not know the whole truth. My frustration with her came when she was so busy trying to make new relationships that she doesn't see the mounting problems within her own immediate family; when she is struggling with the conflicts she sees around her own parentage and doesn't recognise the parental problems her own children are dealing with.

Although I generally like a nice neat ending, with all the strands tidied up, I do like the slightly looser ending here. I liked the way Tessa comes to the realisation that what she is hearing may not be the whole truth, and seeks further enlightenment, even though what she is told is not what she really wants to hear. We are left with the possibility of problems in the future but are not given a tidy assurance that those problems are not going to happen, it is more realistic to be wondering if the events Tessa unwittingly set in train are going to turn up on her doorstep or if everything can be safely locked away. The truth is that no-one knows and she, along with everyone else involved is just going to have to get on with life and hope for the best.

Tessa isn't necessarily a bad mother, she is a flawed human being, who sometimes doesn't think straight, or get things right - just like the rest of us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Bad Mother ???, 7 Oct 2013
By 
LJM (Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bad Mother (Kindle Edition)
Is she bad? Which mother are we talking about? What about the fathers in the book? This is a really good story about the complexities of family life. Secrets that are kept and told, hearts that are broken and dented. Wickedness that hides beneath the facade of normality. Cant wait for Isabelle`s next offering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 4 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bad Mother (Kindle Edition)
This is an amazing book which covers all sorts of family issues and how between them they deal with them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the bad mother, 24 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bad Mother (Kindle Edition)
Very good. Expressed anxiety and other emotions clearly. Shows how much a person can beat themselves up over things they have measured control
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'Adoption' - like dropping pebbles into water - the ripples go on, and on...., 21 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bad Mother (Kindle Edition)
Unsual type of story. It made me think about the ramifications and implications of secrets, when they are revealed and the impact on all of the characters in this book.

The book was very descriptive indeed (though I wonder if it was actually set in Flexistowe)?

Certain 'events' I did not see coming. My advice, just read the book and make up your own mind - certainly a 'page turner'. I disliked the way the book ended...I can only presume that Ms Grey intends to continue the story, which would be very interesting indeeed.

A thought provoking story!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping, 17 Sep 2013
This review is from: The Bad Mother (Paperback)
'The Bad Mother' is an expert portrait of a woman who spectacularly takes her eye off the maternal ball, and the consequences for her and those around her. It's pacy, well-written and plotted, and the increasingly menacing relationship with her newly-found father very gripping.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Which bad mother?, 30 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bad Mother (Kindle Edition)
This is the first Isabelle Grey novel I have read, but I didn't find as much depth to her characters as I would have liked given the life-changing news they discovered. However I think she tried to show each family members reaction to it and other complex emotional issues quite well. I would like to read more of her work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Weak, 14 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bad Mother (Kindle Edition)
I didn't even finish reading it properly. Weak characters, flimsy plot, not nearly enough description about anything..... Halfway through I was not feeling anything for Tessa - the main character. The children were 2 dimensional and Sam was purely a name.... So skimmed the rest and have moved on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Boring, 10 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bad Mother (Kindle Edition)
given the reviews I thought this was going to be a great read, but it was just a run of the mill book. I ended up just skimming through it. very disappoited.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Interesting Idea Badly Written!, 18 Nov 2013
By 
Maz1 (London, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bad Mother (Kindle Edition)
This book started with a good story line about a woman with all the intricacies of a working mother's life, destroyed as she finds out that she has been betrayed- in her view- by several loved ones. There are also twists to the story which would have the potential of making a good read.
However, the characters are so badly developed that it is very hard to relate to or feel compassion for anyone all through; may be with exception for Hugh.
I got very bored half way through and was very happy to skim over chunks of unnecessary and repetitive explanations and ranting.
Regrettably, not recommend it to others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 242 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Bad Mother
The Bad Mother by Isabelle Grey
2.98
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews