Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

  • Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars83
4.8 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 27 May 2015
These are really excellent little boards containing a pair of individually switched change over relays capable of handling up to 10 Amps on the switching contacts.
There may be morre than one version out there as one review refers to both red and green LEDs however this board only has red LEDs which indicate which input is operational.
There is a 4 pin header marked GND, IN1, IN2 and VCC. Gnd and VCC are self explanatory (if not then you should really not be playing with these sort of things!). IN1 and IN2 are the input pins which control the relays 1 and 2 respectively. Connecting either of the IN pins to GND (0 volts) will cause the relay to operate and the red LED for that relay to illuminate.
There is also a header marked JD-VCC, VCC, GND. This is supplied with a jumper pre-fitted connecting JD-VCC to VCC.

DO NOT CONNECT IT BETWEEN VCC AND GND AND POWER THE BOARD UP YOU ARE LIKELY TO DESTROY SOMETHING.

I can only assume that this header intended to allow you to supply the relays from another power source instead of your Arduino, Raspberry Pi, etc etc.
This is a good idea to ensure that you do not sink too much current from the 5V rail of the device you are connected to.

I have added the schematic diagram found on the web for further information.
review image
0Comment|32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2014
This module contains 2 x 5 volt single pole changeover relays with screw terminals on the relay contacts and a 4 pin header strip for the controls.There are no instructions supplied and it is not immediately obvious how to operate the relays. The relay outputs are clearly marked with Normally open (NO1,NO2),Normally Closed (NC1,NC2) and common (COM1,COM2) terminals. The Header strip is marked Vcc,GND, IN1 and IN2. It is fairly obvious that 5 volts should be applied between Vcc (positive) and Ground (negative) and when applied the red LED lights up. However I had to check the circuitry to find that Vcc is connected to the Emitter of a pnp transistor and the relay coil to the collector and ground with a reverse diode and LED + 10k resistor in parallel with the coil. The header contact marked IN1 or IN2 is connected via a 10k resistor to the base of the pnp transistor. The upshot is that to operate either relay, IN1 or IN2 should be connected to the GND Header contact when the appropriate green LED will light. Each relay coil and corresponding green LED take approximately 75mA to operate at 5 volts.
11 comment|57 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2014
Relay board works perfectly well with my Raspberry Pi. Because of the extra circuitry the board can be powered directly from the pi's gpio interface. I'm using it for boiler control.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2015
For the money, these are pretty good value and work well at 5V. I did try them at 3.3V but they didn't want to stay "in" as it were. As others have mentioned, they need to have the jumpers set as follows:

jd-vcc->vcc DO NOT jumper VCC->gnd of you will fry the system. And probably your Pi/Arduino as well.

GND -> 0V
VCC-> 5V (or 3.3V if yo can get it to work reliably)
IN1 and/or IN2 when pulled to 0V (aka GND) by the Pi/Arduino will activate the relay and light the red LED.

PSM mentioned in this review http://www.amazon.co.uk/review/R3D0KG4S3E69JV/ref=cm_cr_dp_title?ie=UTF8&ASIN=B009P04ZKC&channel=detail-glance&nodeID=560798&store=electronics that the coild took around 75mA to work, including the LED. I thought he meant to actually make the relay click on, so I built a simple relay driver with a 2k2 resistor on the base of a 2n2222 transistor, with emitter to GND and collector to the IN1 or IN2 pin. When my Arduino pulls the digital pin high, connected to the 2k2 resistor the relay comes on. I figure this takes around 2mA to operate.

The Arduino (Duemilanova in my case) can handle 40mA - source or sink - on each digital pin, at 5V, so this is well within limits. The VCC can handle a maximum of 200 mA, so if the relay needs 75mA as per PSM, then I can probably run only 2 of these relays off the VCC pin. Be careful!

If you need more than 2, then best supply them off a separate power supply than from the Arduino.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2015
Had it hooked up to my Arduino Uno in no time. Bit confused at first as you have to take the input pins *low* to switch the relays from their default position. It turns out this is actually a good thing as the pins float high on the Arduino so there's no switching at startup. It's also a nice touch that there are two surface mount LEDs to tell you when the relays are switched.

Was also a bit confused as there is a jumper on the JDVcc and Vcc pins. Apparently this is because you can optionally drive the relays from an external power supply by removing the jumper and feeding the external supply to JDVcc. I've just left the jumper in place as the Arduino seems to provide enough current by itself.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2014
The details are readily available on the Arpanet. If you are running off 5 volts with a micro-controller, leave the JD-VCC / VCC jumper in place, hook the VCC and GND to your system and wire up the IN1 and IN2 to your TTL outputs.

If you want to isolate the relays from micro power then power up from a separate 5 volt supply. This is the fully optically isolated feature.

Works A-OK!
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2014
Excellent for prototyping - really work well, and are reliable.. No issues yet, and running in a live Raspberry Pi installation (garage doors).
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2015
Used it for Raspberry Pi project and works exactly as required
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2014
Well made with quick delivery. Works with Arduino and pi.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2015
Well made and simple to use. I am using this to switch a pump on and off for a battery powered watering system. There is a choice between normally open and normally closed contacts on each relay which has proved very useful in this application.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 5 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.