Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Collectors edition
So far, so good. The game is visually brilliant and gameplay has been keeping me on the edge of my seat. It's nice to see Lara looking like a real person.

The collectors edition items are ok. The figure isn't greatly made (one of the interchangeable hands doesn't fit) she doesn't stand unassisted and it just seems like a bit of a rushed job.
Art book is...
Published 18 months ago by ag100

versus
1 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars dont buy
the game is good but short Lara falls alot in the game gets very annoying the figure of Lara is poor i moved her arm and it broke off i spoke to the makers and they just ignored me so i got this and a broke figure
Published 16 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Collectors edition, 7 Mar 2013
This review is from: Tomb Raider: Collector's Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
So far, so good. The game is visually brilliant and gameplay has been keeping me on the edge of my seat. It's nice to see Lara looking like a real person.

The collectors edition items are ok. The figure isn't greatly made (one of the interchangeable hands doesn't fit) she doesn't stand unassisted and it just seems like a bit of a rushed job.
Art book is always a nice edition so this doesn't disappoint.

Overall a great game so far but wouldn't have been the end of the world if I hadn't bought the Collectors Edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars IF YOUR A TR FAN YES, 17 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tomb Raider: Collector's Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
The Game: Great revival having been a TR fan since the first release in the 90’s, always preferred the PC versions over console, as always felt better control over movement & actions, but this version does it all and more. Happy with the xbox version controls slick and aligned with other 1st persons games.
Graphics excellent terrain and people well engineered, defiantly see why its rated 18 & lot more visual detail when you’ve messed up. Having played certain war games over the last years it’s nice to be given a challenge to work and use the environment I’m in, only complaint multiple chest shots at close range normally puts the bad guy down and single head shot stops them permanent.
The Package: Big tin, nice detail does not say game box on it, Map poster ok, Pouch ok, Art book excellent still captures from the intro videos and character profiles.
Lara figurine detail 100 %, movement pose able 100%, equipment 100% & spare hands to swap for different weapons, a great detailed figurine well worth the extra, having bought other games with collector figures that where static pose this one now takes pride of place safe from medaling hands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice little package, but...., 10 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tomb Raider: Collector's Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
they could have given us a bit more for the money (wouldn't it always?). It would have been nice to have had the 'Iron On Patches' (!?) and the Lithograph from the US collectors edition, and maybe the additional 'Tomb' map and perk DLC's that were available to 'other' in-store pre-orders. That said, I AM a greedy little games monkey, and the figure of Lara IS fantastic. Very accurate and larger than expected and the same can be said about the 'Survival Tin'...In the photo I thought it looked like the size and shape of one of those dust topped Whisky Bottle tins that you see behind the ciggie counter at the supermarket, but nooo, I hadn't factored in the fact that everything else was IN THE TIN!, the plastic entombed Lara figure, the double sided island map/Lara poster and the 'art book' (which is nice but hardly 'Coffee Table' leave outable.

The what..Oh, yeah, the game itself! This arrives in the above 'survival tin' in an oversized game box, which contains the game and manual, Live code for the Hitman Gun Pack 1 (multiplayer), and a code to download ten tracks from the games Official Sound Track. Probably the weirdest thing is the 4" x 6" waterproof 'Survival Pouch' I won't go into detail...it's a waterproof pouch on a lanyard. Strange.

Gameplay: Thus far the Single Player is bostin (Eloquent West Midlands/Black Country term meaning 'Absolutely Fantastic'!). Rather detached from the games of the original TR series, I found that instead of staring at Laras rather unfeasable Bosom and Bum, I developed an empathy with new somewhat naive Lara. A great game that I am so far enjoying and looking forward to giving some more gametime, both SP Story and getting to use Agent 47's Silverballers in the Multi Player.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fresh, but rough, start., 5 Mar 2013
By 
J. C. Neale (Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tomb Raider: Collector's Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This new reboot of Tomb Radier may be disappointing any absolute Tomb Radier purists, but to me it is a welcome change from the stagnant rigidity that the series had become in recent years - The formula, and Lara herself, was showing its age.
This game should not, however, disappoint many other gamers at all.

The gameplay maybe somewhat similar to Uncharted, but I don't count this as an issue at all. There can be no doubting the influence Tomb Raider had on Uncharted in the first place, and in fact I remember asking myself while playing though Uncharted 2 "Why isn't Nathan Drake Lara Croft?" - Uncharted seemed to build on what Tomb Raider did and make it a much more prominent experience, while the Tomb Radier franchise itself was about ready to keel over.

So now, things have come full circle. Uncharted might have shown how a modern Tomb Radier could be done (albeit with a Nathan and not a Lara), but Crystal Dynamics have, I believe, vastly improved upon the Uncharted style and incorporated a fresh, new and much needed injection of life and ideas.
Lara herself is much more believable. She is a younger and more innocent character, that evolves into the survivalist who we know. Crystal Dynamics have shown this in some intelligent and subtle ways: She really feels her injuries, the look on the characters face is usually of wide open nervousness and fear, she doesn't stand proud - She feels the cold and wet and she even looks nieve holding a gun. Animation is fluid, reactive and believable. No more cartwheeling away from machine guns or handstands over cliffs. Instead, gritty scrambles and shaky feet showcase a character outside of her comfort zone, learning as she goes, as unsure about what's around the corner as the player.
These are small examples of the characterisation, but I wanted to explain some of the great subtle touches that form to create a much more involving, emotionally drawing and engaging character. Don't get me wrong, I am a fan of the Tomb Raider franchise as a whole, but I much prefer the approach. The Lara of yesteryear was a deliberately over-sexualised gaming icon. In this reboot, she is more refined. More intelligence has gone into her design and Crystal Dynamics have shown (Finally and thankfully) that for a player to engage with a character in games, you don't need big breasts and skimpy shorts. Basically put, this Lara is of much, much better ilk.

The game looks fabulous. Even breathtaking, at times. From gritty underground caverns, to wide open areas with waterfalls and trees - The island is a beautiful but dangerous place to be. The gameplay is strong and enjoyable, combat is far, far superior to 'light' feel of Uncharted, and the use of the word 'visceral' is justified for this game. The wealth of animation helps the silent takedowns or long range arrow shots to feel smooth and fluid - which mixed with the impact of the combat makes for a incredibly satisfying gaming experience.

The locations almost verge on an open world experience. Locations are of varying sizes, some incredibly vast. Mainly locations are signified by a campfire, but all the areas you have just come through are available to run back to seamlessly, with no loading involved. This is essential, as there are several challenges, treasures, equipment or salvage (used to upgrade your weapons) in every area. And one big point note here is that it won't be long before after all the running around, looking for items you'll sit back and think "it really is feeling like Tomb Raider game, just a better one"

So, for newcomers or old fans, I really see no logical reason why this should disappoint. In fact, it should revitalise. I have yet to complete it, but I've seen more than enough to know that this an incredibly enjoyable and immersive game, in fact I haven't enjoyed a game quite this much since Dishonored.

A stellar effort from Cystal Dynamics, and in my opinion it trumps Uncharted on its gameplay values - An impressive task.

The awe of the setting, the emotion of the character, the flow of the combat = This is Tomb Raider, done better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING!, 4 May 2014
By 
Ian O'Rourke "SMC92 Ian" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tomb Raider: Collector's Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
We all know the game is amazing but as for the extra's? I love the book, although a bit small, its still nice to have, the figure I LOVE, great poses and sooo many different ways to pose her with all the accessories you get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great value, 23 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tomb Raider: Collector's Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
this is one of if not the best collectors edition i have seen. its great value. you get the game, artbook , a cool tin Box that looks like a Medical kit, and a play arts kai figure of lara. those figures are Worth almost half of the Whole collectors edition itself in price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A joint Christmas Present for both myself and my Fiancé, 27 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tomb Raider: Collector's Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Love this game, great graphics and very entertaining storyline. Have played most of it, but I am not as experienced as a gamer compared my partner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Slightly disappointing figure, 6 Feb 2014
By 
Bjorn Kohnen (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tomb Raider: Collector's Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
The game itself is awesome without question!

The collectors edition overall pleased my. Box and art are what you would expect.
Lara as figure though is very disappointing! It's choppy and doesn't stand properly. If you give this to kids to play with it'll be alright but nothing for collectors to place on a cupboard or such. Keeps falling apart. :(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, 13 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tomb Raider: Collector's Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Amazing Combo pack worth every penny and the game is a great play, very glad we were able to get it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great but the case is not really robust enough, 6 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tomb Raider: Collector's Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
the case is cheaper than expected : the metal can be bended by little pressure on it, very easy to damage it...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tomb Raider: Collector's Edition (Xbox 360)
£68.92
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews