Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Black Friday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Amazon Fire TV Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop Now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars50
4.7 out of 5 stars
Platform: Xbox 360Edition: Survival EditionChange
Price:£19.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on 6 March 2013
It's been a long time coming, the reinvention of the revolutionary franchise that changed the world of gaming, forever.. Having been hooked from the original Tomb Raider, through every episode and change, I was very excited when the game arrived, and it did not disappoint!

It is very different from the original Tomb Raider games, in that Lara and the gaming world she now calls 'home' has evolved into a phenominal place, started be herself back in 96'. If you're an old school Tomb Raider fan, then do not expect to be taken back to your youth! The controls are smooth, the graphics are simply amazing, and the story line makes the game all the more thrilling.

You are not submerged into a world where Lara is already the hardened survivor and Tomb Raider that we all fell for back then, yet a scared young woman who is about to embark on a journey that that turns her into the heroine that we all know and love.

From the off you are learning the initial skills in order to survive the environment around you, that can change without warning, putting you straight into a tough learning curb, that once mastered, will have you reaching places you thought not possible. In addition, as this is not Lara as we know her, the removal of constantly raiding tombs actually brings a welcome change, tombs being optional to raid, as and when you find them. Instead, we are taken on journey accross a mysterious island and the young heroine is pushed into a role she believes herself not cut out for, or really wants.

As already mentioned, controls are very smooth, the AI seems resonably inteligent, which makes things far more interesting, and makes you consider exactly how you, as the player, approach situations, as each action you make can have severe consequences, if you choose the wrong path. This is more of a 'be cautious' than 'throw caution to the wind' kind of game.

The puzzles are well thought out, not too easy, just difficult enough to make you use your brain, the use of survival instinct is a great mode, allowing you to see things that might assist you, but does not give you the solution, it's up to you to find out how to use the environment around you.

I have really enjoyed playing this so far, and cannot wait to continue the story. I have yet to wander into the multi-player area yet so am not in a position to comment on that part of the game, however, if the single player campaign is anything to go by, then I look forward into venturing in.

I rarely write reviews, only if I believe it warrants it, and this does. Congratulations to Square Enix and Crystal Dynamics for making a truly fantastic game, from art, to gameplay, to soundtrack. You have taken the time to create something the Tomb Raider fans will enjoy and not rushed out some shoddy piece of work to cash in. Not only have you done justice to the Tomb Raider franchise, but taken it to a place where Tomb Raider can once again be a dominant franchise in todays gaming world.

I really hope this is the begining of further Tomb Raider games that will excite the imagination of a new generation, keeping Lara where she should be, at the top of the gaming heroine list!

I recommend this game Highly!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 6 April 2013
The Lara Croft Tomb Raider video games have been my favourites for years, from Lara Croft Tomb Raider1 all the way through to Lara Croft Tomb Raider: Underworld, and I have to say with all the hype and waiting for this reboot it has definitely been worth it! This game has a fully fleshed out story, full of adventure, action, drama and suspense at every turn and we really come to understand how Lara becomes who she is.

The survival edition is definitely worth the money. I am a Film student so the Art Book, the multiplayer add-ons etc were all up to a high quality standard and were engaging and interesting to read, watch and listen to and were exactly what I wanted to receive. The delivery came and it was in perfect condition, and for a video game box, it has all been put together with a lot of time, care and consideration about what the fans and general public want.

Crystal Dynamics have worked incredibly hard on this game and they do not dissapoint at all. Whilst the voice actress is a little over-dramatic and slightly annoying, you still connect with the character of Lara, which is helped by all of the other components such as the location, the music and the graphics. Whilst the game does have a linear narrative, the island of Yamatai in all of its beauty is more open world related than previous entries in the series in which the gamer can explore a bit more of each location, unlock secret tombs, locate letters, relics and GPS' which expand the knowledge and history of the Island, its inhabitants, what happened as well as flesh out some of the supporting characters more.

With the motion capture for Lara, the gamer only have access to what is believable and possible, they can only jump a certain distance, can only do so much, leaving the gamer to have to use Lara's skills with her make-shift utiliary to get to their destined locations, an excellent understanding into how Lara adapts to her environment to move on.

When it comes to Lara's makeshift tools and weapons, to have to collect salvage to upgrade in order to progress to other areas of the game is a brilliant idea. It enhances Lara's understanding that to progress she needs to adapt to the environment, whilst some gamers may find this tedious and repetitive, I think it is required if we want to see how Lara becomes who she is, and means that the gamers get to go out and explore the area, something that I said earlier the other entries do not allow.

Overall this game is a fantastic new entry into the series, whilst the voice actress for Lara is annoying at times with her dramatic whspers, it does not take anything away from the game, the pacing is brilliant with an explosive middle and third acts! Sometimes the gamer has to act fast to save Lara from falling hundreds of feet, or being impaled, which is always exciting and sometimes unexpected. The amount of violence sometimes is a bit too much and a little over the top and with all the gun-fire and enemies feel like its moving towards a Call of Duty/Halo gameplay, but at the same time this all gives the game that gritty edge it requires to stand out and reboot the franchise to a new generation of players.

The multiplayer is the weakest aspect of the game, the Team Deathmatch games are a lot of fun, but the Quick Match Medi-kit games are very annoying and tend to be unfair for one team. But at the same time, the multiplayer is a good add-on to the game considering it is a first try for the series and is very interesting and quite well made. It was a good experiment which has and hasn't worked, but it definitely paves the way for a better multiplayer for future installments.

The way the game ends opens up so many possibilities to where the story of Lara goes, which is a good and a bad thing. Good thing: We can expect another exciting original action adventure of Lara using her new skills to solve ancient mysteries in various places in the world; Bad thing: We will have to wait at least two years for the game! I am getting impatient for the next installment already!

Whilst many people will be put off by the survival edition in terms of what you get for the price, just buying the standard edition will still be worth it! Buy the game, you will not regret it! I love the old originality of the Core Design Tomb Raider games, and this reboot allows Crystal Dynamics to appreciate and integrate the factors, feeling and mystery of the original series into a new generation and style of gameplay.

Buy the game, try it out, you will not be disappointed!

Graphics: 5/5
Story: 5/5
Multiplayer: 4/5
Music/Sound effects: 5/5
Environment: 5/5
Voice Acting: 4.5/5
Location, Character, Weapon Designs: 5/5
Pacing: 5/5

0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 21 April 2013
Let me start off by saying I'm not a mad gamer or XBOX 360 fan, but I do enjoy playing the occasional game on the XBOX 360. This game is something great and it is very hard to put down. The story is quite interesting and the gameplay keeps you engaged for ages, so much so that it was always sad when I had to turn the console off and go to bed.

I'd never really got into the original Tomb Raider games so I didn't know what to expect when playing this, but from the reviews I'd seen about it I was prepared to purchase on faith, which was duly rewarded.

The game comprises 3rd person action with adventure, which works well. While you're not required to perform all the side missions, or go exploring everything to finish the game, doing the little puzzles and exploring the game world does reward you with weapon upgrades, character upgrades and further background information about what's happening on the island and what you've got to look forward to as you progress. You also benefit from not having to completely explore an area before you progress to maximise points. The game makes use of a nice quick transport feature that allows you to quickly jump between regions you've already visited to allow you to jump back to previous regions and complete them when you'd rather slow down a bit and take it easy. This saves you from having to wade through the regions by walking, which saves a lot of time.

One of the great things about this game is the way Lara expands her capabilities and how the game world changes her character from an innocent young lady into a more hardened killer and survivor as you progress. This is evident in how she reacts to her early kills by feeling remorseful and a bit sad, to hardening up as more and more people attempt to wipe her out. This factor also plays into the gameplay by enabling you to explore further areas as she "learns" to adapt to the environment and acquires the skills to do these things. An example of that would be the ability to climb rocky walls as you progress further into the game. Areas which are inaccessible due to Lara's lack of ability early on become unlockable as Lara acquires the skills, requiring you to travel back to previously completed areas to fully explore and locate all treasures.

Gameplay is great and as someone not entirely proficient with a controller, it isn't particularly hard to kill your enemies. If I could make one criticism it would be that it seems a bit light on puzzles. I quite enjoy the puzzles the game includes, but I believe it would be better if it included some more of them, and less of the "find things hidden in obscure locations" which are littered throughout the game world (Some of which are very difficult to find). Fortunately, the game provides a number of tools for helping you out when you're somewhat stuck, some of them helpfully subtle. Lara will often think aloud if you're a bit lost as to what you should do, and treasure maps can help you with finding many of the hidden treasures in a region once you've found them. The "Survivor mode" also helps highlight items and characters which can also help you progress.

Players who choose to explore the world will be rewarded and the key is to jump around and go places you wouldn't normally go. The world is vast and these out of the way places are often locations for hidden treasures.

Requiring multiplayer to completely unlock the game's achievements also seems a tad unfair (If you don't play much multiplayer, or have XBOX Live Gold that is).

The game looks and sounds fantastic and makes great use of your surround sound system. If you have a big TV you'll be rewarded with the immersive environment that looks and sounds fantastic.

It's a thoroughly enjoyable game that's worth the price. Whether the extras included in this special edition of the game are worth the extra money is up to you. The art book is nice, as is the packaging, but the main motivator for me in purchasing this edition over the bare-bones release was mainly the fact that it was considerably cheaper than the bare-bones edition available for sale, even with discounting, in Australia.

tl;dr: Buy it. It's worth the bucks and you'll easily have lots of fun in what is an outstanding game.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 11 March 2013
This is probably one of the best if not the best games on the 360, no joke! The graphics and general feel of it are literally fantastic, the combat is great and the story is very good :D
Would recommend to anyone wanting a brilliant game
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2014
I notice a lot of people who have played this game were tomb raider fans, however I am going to put down a review for a non-tomb raider fan prospective. So as I said I am not a tomb raider fan as I felt the original games were severly lacking in quality and freedom and hence I only played the first 2 ever created, and lost interest in the rest. But this game is right up my street in terms of a storyline, one player adventure game. It is by far the best tomb raider game ever made and ranks up there with the best games made full stop.

Unlike previous tomb raider games Lara is quite fictional, has no emotions, and you can't really relate to her as a real person, however in this game she show a whole load of emotions, as well as susceptible ones. What I really like about this game is the variety of objectives, combat and gameplay, and lastly when lara is injured during a cut scene she stays injured unlike the previous games, and then you have to seek medical packs to heal her so that she can do something as simple as jumping or climbing over a wall.
The only part I would say is unrealistic is when she is badly injured, you get to a plane only to find a lighter and no medical packs but somehow she is better after that. But besides that a very realistic game which will keep you wanting to play more and is enjoyable throughout the whole game. Even the side objectives of each section are not too time consuming and boring like most games as they are not too numerous that you think (this is long).
So if you have doubts over whether you should buy this game or not, then my advice is buy it, and enjoy it. cuz you wont regret it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2014
After about ten minutes you are controlling a bruised, battered and very very bloodied Lara. And it's about ten minutes of very detailed cinematics in which you have limited control, but it scarcely has you ready for what is to come.

You don't get a real 'open' world AKA Far Cry 3 and the like, but you do get a game that has learned it's console lessons from FC3, Assassins Creed and maybe even Batman. In fact Far Cry 3 is the one game this Tomb Raider has really learned from, although the areas are more limited and you do get the occasional part which feels like it's on 'rails' - you have a set route to get through and HAVE to do it but I suppose FC3 had a few areas like that too.

You do get some pieces that are strictly pressing the right button at the right time, something I first remember from Resident Evil and actually isn't so much game playing as controlling the cinematics.

So that's the moaning, what are the good bits?

The movement, the graphics, the sound, the combat, the's back like I remember from the PS1, but it's much much better.

Once you have played a few areas you get 'camp fires' that are actually checkpoints and savepoints, and soon you can fast travel to these to collect up any relics, or diary entries or books or whatever you have missed in locations. So at times you can push on and through the adventure, and that is exactly what it feels like - a proper adventure game.

Combat is terrific, you get some slow mo elements that allow you to pick off the toughest bad guys, but often you get the ability to stealth kill which is horribly satisfying!

I've got the other two XBox Tomb Raider games and they are alright more than good, so I never really got round to finishing them. They tried too hard to be like the OLD TRs. This raises the bar, learns from what has gone before and takes it to a new level.

For those looking for achievements, this is a game that relies more on your progression through the game than quirky achievements. Kill enough animals, achievement. Kill enough bad guys using certain weapons, achievement.

Multiplayer suffers from what most games that are not COD or BF4 or FIFA suffer - not enough players online to judge it honestly. But if you can get this under £15, then the single player game alone is worth it.

A younger Lara, a tougher Lara, a top game.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2013
A long awaited and much needed revamp of a classic game franchise. Much like the revamping of the Batman movies by Chris Nolan Square Enix has taken Lara Croft back to her roots prior to the character we were introduced to in the mid nineties. Here we see Lara in a way we never thought possible, vulnerable, scared and unsure of her abilities. We, as a gamer see Lara as human. Through her single player campaign we see Lara become battered, bruised, injured and emotionally hurt to the point of giving up. But most spectacular of all, we see her transformation in to the grizzled Lara Croft we know. The musical score accompanies this story beautifully and is in itself worthy to be downloaded. The game in plays wonderfull. The controls are easily set up (for my XBox version) and are easy to grasp. The game introduces new controls throughout the game and you can review these at base camps (points in the game to customise weapons and build Lara's skills), the game autosave feature is frequent, there are plenty of optional items for those who enjoy going of the main path and collecting, many of the puzzles are difficult enough not to frustrate you to the point of cursing at the game, and the enemies AI is set at an ideal level in normal difficulty that you can't just run at them guns blazing as they do take advantage of cover and they do possess a good aim. For online gamers there is a multiplayer option, new to the Tomb Raider franchise, which is unlocked from the start with various multiplayer campaigns, unlockable characters and there is additional content that can be downloaded. All in all, a top notch, 5 star game that sits there with the best. This game shows the commitment, time and effort that has been spent crafting this fine piece of gaming entertainment. Lara has been reborn for a new generation and veterans alike, and I, for one have thoroughly enjoyed every moment of it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2013
If your a fan of the series or (for some unknown reason) a beginner of Lara's adventures this game is defiantly worth playing. Tomb raider is unlike the other games as the hard exterior of the british action hero will not be found here (for at least for 90% of the game anyway). The game offers a great story line which is incredibly well written, with amazing voice acting. However the amazing game mechanics, the unique environment, and modern customisation and upgradeable abilities does have some down sides. Without giving the plot away the time between Lara being besotted at her first kill to killing men by thrusting arrows through there knee caps are almost instant and this is understandable but does take you away from the submersible atmosphere for a short while. The major disappointment with this game is multiplayer the concept works but in practice it is highly unplayable and just boring it seems the developers seem to use multiplayer because of most current gen consoles games do include some multiplayer format. Finally there is replayability if your like me and want all the extras and collectables in the game then you should buy this game right now, seriously buy it there are tons of collectables and side missions with mini puzzles and hard brain teasers.
To conclude if your a fan of the series you'll love it, if your not then you will love it even more. Multiplayer is a down side but not a reason to not buy the game.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 5 March 2013
Lara at her best. I strongly advise you to buy this game. It surpasses anything Uncharted accomplished in the past. Beautiful vistas, exploration at its finest and a compelling story. What's not to like?
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2013
Lara Croft is back! But this time we play her groundbreaking orgin story from a frightend young women to a hardened survivior. And from start to finish the game was mind blowing,fantastic,eye glueing. When i went to pick it up from my local game store and i couldent belive i was holding it in my hands. I bought the survival edition which is a nice little bundle of tomb raider goodies. Including the game, Artbook, soundtrack, Dlc and a few more little bits. Replacing Keelay Hawes as Lara Croft was actress Camilla Luddington who did a brilliant job of bringing Lara to life not just through voice but motion capture. There are some stunning visuals,great/interesing story,relics,TOMBS and more!

Now my verdict on the new multiplayer feature.
I quite like the multiplayer. Some stunning maps, Cool traps but later do get old, awesome weapons, fun at times and more.
But in a few months everyone will most likely stop playing it cause its gotten boring.
But all in all fantastic single player campaign, alright multiplayer MUST HAVE FOR TOMB RAIDER FANS.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

Customers who viewed this item also viewed

Rise of the Tomb Raider (Xbox 360)
Rise of the Tomb Raider (Xbox 360) by Square Enix (Xbox 360)


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.