Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic! Tremendous! Worth the Wait!
It's been a long time coming, the reinvention of the revolutionary franchise that changed the world of gaming, forever.. Having been hooked from the original Tomb Raider, through every episode and change, I was very excited when the game arrived, and it did not disappoint!

It is very different from the original Tomb Raider games, in that Lara and the gaming...
Published 23 months ago by morakai2000

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the tombraider I rember
I was hoping this would have similar elements to the other tombraider titals on the xbox 360, however it has changed quite a bit its less puzzle solver and more of an adventure game.
Published 11 months ago by Muten Goku


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic! Tremendous! Worth the Wait!, 6 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tomb Raider: Survival Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
It's been a long time coming, the reinvention of the revolutionary franchise that changed the world of gaming, forever.. Having been hooked from the original Tomb Raider, through every episode and change, I was very excited when the game arrived, and it did not disappoint!

It is very different from the original Tomb Raider games, in that Lara and the gaming world she now calls 'home' has evolved into a phenominal place, started be herself back in 96'. If you're an old school Tomb Raider fan, then do not expect to be taken back to your youth! The controls are smooth, the graphics are simply amazing, and the story line makes the game all the more thrilling.

You are not submerged into a world where Lara is already the hardened survivor and Tomb Raider that we all fell for back then, yet a scared young woman who is about to embark on a journey that that turns her into the heroine that we all know and love.

From the off you are learning the initial skills in order to survive the environment around you, that can change without warning, putting you straight into a tough learning curb, that once mastered, will have you reaching places you thought not possible. In addition, as this is not Lara as we know her, the removal of constantly raiding tombs actually brings a welcome change, tombs being optional to raid, as and when you find them. Instead, we are taken on journey accross a mysterious island and the young heroine is pushed into a role she believes herself not cut out for, or really wants.

As already mentioned, controls are very smooth, the AI seems resonably inteligent, which makes things far more interesting, and makes you consider exactly how you, as the player, approach situations, as each action you make can have severe consequences, if you choose the wrong path. This is more of a 'be cautious' than 'throw caution to the wind' kind of game.

The puzzles are well thought out, not too easy, just difficult enough to make you use your brain, the use of survival instinct is a great mode, allowing you to see things that might assist you, but does not give you the solution, it's up to you to find out how to use the environment around you.

I have really enjoyed playing this so far, and cannot wait to continue the story. I have yet to wander into the multi-player area yet so am not in a position to comment on that part of the game, however, if the single player campaign is anything to go by, then I look forward into venturing in.

I rarely write reviews, only if I believe it warrants it, and this does. Congratulations to Square Enix and Crystal Dynamics for making a truly fantastic game, from art, to gameplay, to soundtrack. You have taken the time to create something the Tomb Raider fans will enjoy and not rushed out some shoddy piece of work to cash in. Not only have you done justice to the Tomb Raider franchise, but taken it to a place where Tomb Raider can once again be a dominant franchise in todays gaming world.

I really hope this is the begining of further Tomb Raider games that will excite the imagination of a new generation, keeping Lara where she should be, at the top of the gaming heroine list!

I recommend this game Highly!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant! An Excellent Reboot! - Sorry For Any Spoilers (if there are any), 6 April 2013
By 
B. Tyler (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tomb Raider: Survival Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
The Lara Croft Tomb Raider video games have been my favourites for years, from Lara Croft Tomb Raider1 all the way through to Lara Croft Tomb Raider: Underworld, and I have to say with all the hype and waiting for this reboot it has definitely been worth it! This game has a fully fleshed out story, full of adventure, action, drama and suspense at every turn and we really come to understand how Lara becomes who she is.

The survival edition is definitely worth the money. I am a Film student so the Art Book, the multiplayer add-ons etc were all up to a high quality standard and were engaging and interesting to read, watch and listen to and were exactly what I wanted to receive. The delivery came and it was in perfect condition, and for a video game box, it has all been put together with a lot of time, care and consideration about what the fans and general public want.

Crystal Dynamics have worked incredibly hard on this game and they do not dissapoint at all. Whilst the voice actress is a little over-dramatic and slightly annoying, you still connect with the character of Lara, which is helped by all of the other components such as the location, the music and the graphics. Whilst the game does have a linear narrative, the island of Yamatai in all of its beauty is more open world related than previous entries in the series in which the gamer can explore a bit more of each location, unlock secret tombs, locate letters, relics and GPS' which expand the knowledge and history of the Island, its inhabitants, what happened as well as flesh out some of the supporting characters more.

With the motion capture for Lara, the gamer only have access to what is believable and possible, they can only jump a certain distance, can only do so much, leaving the gamer to have to use Lara's skills with her make-shift utiliary to get to their destined locations, an excellent understanding into how Lara adapts to her environment to move on.

When it comes to Lara's makeshift tools and weapons, to have to collect salvage to upgrade in order to progress to other areas of the game is a brilliant idea. It enhances Lara's understanding that to progress she needs to adapt to the environment, whilst some gamers may find this tedious and repetitive, I think it is required if we want to see how Lara becomes who she is, and means that the gamers get to go out and explore the area, something that I said earlier the other entries do not allow.

Overall this game is a fantastic new entry into the series, whilst the voice actress for Lara is annoying at times with her dramatic whspers, it does not take anything away from the game, the pacing is brilliant with an explosive middle and third acts! Sometimes the gamer has to act fast to save Lara from falling hundreds of feet, or being impaled, which is always exciting and sometimes unexpected. The amount of violence sometimes is a bit too much and a little over the top and with all the gun-fire and enemies feel like its moving towards a Call of Duty/Halo gameplay, but at the same time this all gives the game that gritty edge it requires to stand out and reboot the franchise to a new generation of players.

The multiplayer is the weakest aspect of the game, the Team Deathmatch games are a lot of fun, but the Quick Match Medi-kit games are very annoying and tend to be unfair for one team. But at the same time, the multiplayer is a good add-on to the game considering it is a first try for the series and is very interesting and quite well made. It was a good experiment which has and hasn't worked, but it definitely paves the way for a better multiplayer for future installments.

The way the game ends opens up so many possibilities to where the story of Lara goes, which is a good and a bad thing. Good thing: We can expect another exciting original action adventure of Lara using her new skills to solve ancient mysteries in various places in the world; Bad thing: We will have to wait at least two years for the game! I am getting impatient for the next installment already!

Whilst many people will be put off by the survival edition in terms of what you get for the price, just buying the standard edition will still be worth it! Buy the game, you will not regret it! I love the old originality of the Core Design Tomb Raider games, and this reboot allows Crystal Dynamics to appreciate and integrate the factors, feeling and mystery of the original series into a new generation and style of gameplay.

Buy the game, try it out, you will not be disappointed!

Graphics: 5/5
Story: 5/5
Multiplayer: 4/5
Music/Sound effects: 5/5
Environment: 5/5
Voice Acting: 4.5/5
Location, Character, Weapon Designs: 5/5
Pacing: 5/5

OVERALL: 5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great game and a fantastic product, 21 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tomb Raider: Survival Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Let me start off by saying I'm not a mad gamer or XBOX 360 fan, but I do enjoy playing the occasional game on the XBOX 360. This game is something great and it is very hard to put down. The story is quite interesting and the gameplay keeps you engaged for ages, so much so that it was always sad when I had to turn the console off and go to bed.

I'd never really got into the original Tomb Raider games so I didn't know what to expect when playing this, but from the reviews I'd seen about it I was prepared to purchase on faith, which was duly rewarded.

The game comprises 3rd person action with adventure, which works well. While you're not required to perform all the side missions, or go exploring everything to finish the game, doing the little puzzles and exploring the game world does reward you with weapon upgrades, character upgrades and further background information about what's happening on the island and what you've got to look forward to as you progress. You also benefit from not having to completely explore an area before you progress to maximise points. The game makes use of a nice quick transport feature that allows you to quickly jump between regions you've already visited to allow you to jump back to previous regions and complete them when you'd rather slow down a bit and take it easy. This saves you from having to wade through the regions by walking, which saves a lot of time.

One of the great things about this game is the way Lara expands her capabilities and how the game world changes her character from an innocent young lady into a more hardened killer and survivor as you progress. This is evident in how she reacts to her early kills by feeling remorseful and a bit sad, to hardening up as more and more people attempt to wipe her out. This factor also plays into the gameplay by enabling you to explore further areas as she "learns" to adapt to the environment and acquires the skills to do these things. An example of that would be the ability to climb rocky walls as you progress further into the game. Areas which are inaccessible due to Lara's lack of ability early on become unlockable as Lara acquires the skills, requiring you to travel back to previously completed areas to fully explore and locate all treasures.

Gameplay is great and as someone not entirely proficient with a controller, it isn't particularly hard to kill your enemies. If I could make one criticism it would be that it seems a bit light on puzzles. I quite enjoy the puzzles the game includes, but I believe it would be better if it included some more of them, and less of the "find things hidden in obscure locations" which are littered throughout the game world (Some of which are very difficult to find). Fortunately, the game provides a number of tools for helping you out when you're somewhat stuck, some of them helpfully subtle. Lara will often think aloud if you're a bit lost as to what you should do, and treasure maps can help you with finding many of the hidden treasures in a region once you've found them. The "Survivor mode" also helps highlight items and characters which can also help you progress.

Players who choose to explore the world will be rewarded and the key is to jump around and go places you wouldn't normally go. The world is vast and these out of the way places are often locations for hidden treasures.

Requiring multiplayer to completely unlock the game's achievements also seems a tad unfair (If you don't play much multiplayer, or have XBOX Live Gold that is).

The game looks and sounds fantastic and makes great use of your surround sound system. If you have a big TV you'll be rewarded with the immersive environment that looks and sounds fantastic.

It's a thoroughly enjoyable game that's worth the price. Whether the extras included in this special edition of the game are worth the extra money is up to you. The art book is nice, as is the packaging, but the main motivator for me in purchasing this edition over the bare-bones release was mainly the fact that it was considerably cheaper than the bare-bones edition available for sale, even with discounting, in Australia.

tl;dr: Buy it. It's worth the bucks and you'll easily have lots of fun in what is an outstanding game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!!, 11 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tomb Raider: Survival Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This is probably one of the best if not the best games on the 360, no joke! The graphics and general feel of it are literally fantastic, the combat is great and the story is very good :D
Would recommend to anyone wanting a brilliant game
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Remarkable, 5 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tomb Raider: Survival Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Lara at her best. I strongly advise you to buy this game. It surpasses anything Uncharted accomplished in the past. Beautiful vistas, exploration at its finest and a compelling story. What's not to like?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Game, 2 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tomb Raider: Survival Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
A very good remake that makes the whole premise of Lara Croft interesting again. There is a mountain of stuff to do and very few quite moments. Love the puzzle parts as well, good to get people thinking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, 9 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tomb Raider: Survival Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This is definitely my type of game. Love the game play, graphics, story line, everything! Would definitely recommend this game! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars really good buy, 17 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tomb Raider: Survival Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
The survival edition of this game is really worth it, just for the lore you get.
The art book is fantastic and full of amazing images.
Haven't found a use for the waterproof pouch yet but I'm sure i will at some point.
The game itself is really worth playing, really fun and very cinematic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved the game and the survival edition pack, 24 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tomb Raider: Survival Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
The game was adventurous, fun, and enticing all at the same time. It was an amazing gift and one of the best games of the year. This comes from a long time Tomb Raider fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the greatest games I have ever played from start to finish, 9 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tomb Raider: Survival Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
One of the greatest games I have ever played from start to finish.

Plenty of collectives to collect and secret tombs to both discover and complete.

I picked this up on sale @ £20~ but gladly would have paid more upfront. Well worth the money although pvp/multiplayer is somewhat lacking and bland if I'm honest (I don't blame the devs as they were basically forced to add this in last minute so won't let it take affect the rating)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tomb Raider: Survival Edition (Xbox 360)
£19.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews