Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A seriously funny book
There's an awful lot to like here - starting with the hero, Danny, who despite his many faults (to which the three Kathys in his life will attest, at length) is a thoroughly likeable chap. He's neatly counterpointed by the gauche and clumsy Larry, the scientist who's constantly getting into trouble with the police for reasons that take him quite by surprise; the...
Published on 11 Oct. 2012 by Stanley Knife

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
My husband downloaded this onto his Kindle and as an avid Tom Sharpe reader did not feel this was a Tom Sharpe style. Sorry!
Published on 22 Jun. 2013 by AnnieG


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A seriously funny book, 11 Oct. 2012
By 
Stanley Knife (London, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: It's All About Danny (Laugh-out-loud Tom Sharpe style comedy) (Kindle Edition)
There's an awful lot to like here - starting with the hero, Danny, who despite his many faults (to which the three Kathys in his life will attest, at length) is a thoroughly likeable chap. He's neatly counterpointed by the gauche and clumsy Larry, the scientist who's constantly getting into trouble with the police for reasons that take him quite by surprise; the sophisticated diplomat Shirley Temple, who finds herself unnaturally drawn to Danny; and the lascivious Chairman, who can't get laid even though he's rolling in it.

It's an odyssey through Danny's voyage of self-discovery - after all, as he says, it may be great taking a holiday from yourself but "you can't go on holiday forever". With many twists and turns, unexpected happenings and many very funny scenes, It's All About Danny romps through its story with clever plot devices and genuine humour.

This is Curtis's third and funniest book, and also the most controlled: a thoroughly well-written, tight, and very entertaining read. 99p well spent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 22 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: It's All About Danny (Laugh-out-loud Tom Sharpe style comedy) (Kindle Edition)
My husband downloaded this onto his Kindle and as an avid Tom Sharpe reader did not feel this was a Tom Sharpe style. Sorry!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars book review, 24 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: It's All About Danny (Laugh-out-loud Tom Sharpe style comedy) (Kindle Edition)
seemed to loose itself a tad towards the end but considering i only bought it on the off chance it was enjoyable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 15 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: It's All About Danny (Laugh-out-loud Tom Sharpe style comedy) (Kindle Edition)
This is the second comedy that I have read by this author. Once again, laugh out loud funny; I frequently found myself reading paragraphs out loud for the benefit of those around me.

Very likeable characters and very amusing plot. I read this while travelling on holiday and I couldn't put it down.

Looking forward to buying another from this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Its all about Danny, 31 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: It's All About Danny (Laugh-out-loud Tom Sharpe style comedy) (Kindle Edition)
This was the best laugh out loud book I have read for ages. My friends were sat near by and kept making me read bits out loud to them so that they could join in. Very good characters, all the stories wove together very well. Enjoyed it so much I'm going to read it again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really enjoyable read., 14 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: It's All About Danny (Laugh-out-loud Tom Sharpe style comedy) (Kindle Edition)
I had never read any books by this author , and probably downloaded without realising the content , but ended up downloading another 5 books by the author . Could easily be by Tom Sharpe . Certainly agree with the " laugh out loud " review of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Finally a book that is actually funny, 27 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: It's All About Danny (Laugh-out-loud Tom Sharpe style comedy) (Kindle Edition)
I have read several Tom Sharpe books and they made me smile. This book however made me laugh aloud quite a few times. I did not fancy to read it, as I prefer a thriller. No regrets - this was a good, funny and entertaining book. Just give it a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Okay read!, 16 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: It's All About Danny (Laugh-out-loud Tom Sharpe style comedy) (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed this book, it was a good read. I really like Tom Sharpe and would not put this in the same league but never the less it was amusing but not Laugh out Loud! I will get some other books by this author as I am sure they will be the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Avoid any females called Kathy!, 23 Nov. 2013
This review is from: It's All About Danny (Laugh-out-loud Tom Sharpe style comedy) (Kindle Edition)
The more you read the better it gets. Not as rib tickling as a Tom Sharp but would now consider Giles Curtis publication in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Move over Tom, 27 Dec. 2014
This review is from: It's All About Danny (Laugh-out-loud Tom Sharpe style comedy) (Kindle Edition)
Move over Tom there is a Sharper wit in town. Easy on the eye and good for the soul. I laughed loud enough to wake up the misses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews