Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Reading
Leonard Lord's career in the motor industry stretched from 1919 to his
retirement in 1961. Martyn Nutland's biography tempers an evident sympathy
for his subject with a welcome rigour in his researches. The resulting
analysis of the major forces in Britain's motor industry in the decades of
Lord's working life produces nuggets which will be valued by...
Published on 3 Dec. 2012 by Vintage Motorist

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Review of Brick by Brick
Although I find this book interesting and intriguing, I also find it heavy going, hence my failure to finish it. Once I have read it all the way, I should have a better opinion.
Published 12 months ago by RUDY W SCHATS


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Reading, 3 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Leonard Lord's career in the motor industry stretched from 1919 to his
retirement in 1961. Martyn Nutland's biography tempers an evident sympathy
for his subject with a welcome rigour in his researches. The resulting
analysis of the major forces in Britain's motor industry in the decades of
Lord's working life produces nuggets which will be valued by both the
social historian and the motoring enthusiast. The description of Lord's
involvement with Austin in the prelude to war is particularly revealing.
A well considered and long overdue portrait of a fascinating life - worth
every penny!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best researched motor industry books I have read, 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am half way through this excellent tome and am astounded at the research that has gone into it. Mr Nutland appears to go off at a tangent at various points but just at the right moment explains how this is relevant to Leonard Lord's working life. He explains at the outset that there is not a vast amount of material from Lord himself and whilst he admits that he is trying to correct an imbalance in negative stories of him he is careful not to be biased and calls on material from his detractors as well as his advocates.
It is a thoroughly good read which gives a detailed picture of an important sector of the british motor industry and the main players with whom Leonard Lord came into contact, from the early part of the twentieth century and includes the second-war and shadow factories and beyond through post-war austerity Britain.
Lastly, there is as much on the political interplay within the industry as there is on the technical issues and developments, so this book should suit a wide audience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An extraordinary labour of love, 6 Nov. 2012
By 
Patrick Garland (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brick by Brick: The Biography of the Man Who Really Made the Mini - Leonard Lord (Kindle Edition)
The authors depth of knowledge and obvious affection for his subject matter make this not only a work of great scholarship, but really a eulogy for the lost empire that was the British motor industry. The sweep of the narrative takes in the greater part of the 20th Century, straddles continents, visits battlefields and eavesdrops on many of the greatest public figures of the era. Here, picked out in the sharpest relief, is high drama, political machination, social upheaval, sexual intrigue and the slow, painful, but inevitable - given the circumstances - demise of a once-great industrial base.
The author brings the authority of long familiarity and painstaking research to the subject, yet he engages the reader and the book remains a fascinating and easy read throughout.

This is an important book in so many ways. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brick by Brick. (Leonard Lord). Martyn Nutland., 8 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It does exactly what it says on the cover.
It's not a simple history of Austin's various products, explaining Leonard Lord's involvement in them per se, more a hugely comprehensive analysis of the man himself. In fact I was initially disappointed by the tiny number of photographs of vehicles. But then there are numerous other publications summarising the timeline of the Austin products and to include it all here would have been a distraction.
The amount of research, prior to publication, must have been enormous. Much of it dispells unfounded rumour and gossip printed previously about Lord and as such does the motoring history world a great service.
Andrew W.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A thoroughly good read, 11 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a very detailed and readable biography of Leonard Lord, a powerful motor manufacturing executive who I had always been led to believe was not a very nice person. Martyn's excellent research, sympathetic but not uncritical book, has made me review my received opinion of this man. Maybe not an easy person to work with but without his engineering prowess and firm management it is unlikely the British Motor Industry would have lasted as long as it did. A pleasure to add this volume to my motoring books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRICK BY BRICK, 23 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brick by Brick: The Biography of the Man Who Really Made the Mini - Leonard Lord (Kindle Edition)
Much has been written about Leonard Lord and most of it not complimentary.It was refreshing to read an excellent and balanced view of one of the giants of the British motor industry. There is no doubt that he put Morris back on the map pre-war and Austin and BMC in the fifties. The industry was very lucky to have someone with such drive and vision and whilst he had his faults he certainly made his mark. There was certainly very few other captains of industry at that time of his calibre. A first class read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another excellent book, 22 Nov. 2012
I agree with Patrick and can endorse what he says. Martyn Nutlands books are always thoroughly researched and are easily read despite the apparent academic subject matter. Not that in this case that Leonard Lord is academic, no, Martyn portrays him as a vibrant character and a more than able engineer. This book is a must for anyone at all interested in the British Motor Industry and gives excellent background to an enigmatic, and probably, much maligned figure.

Recommended.
Bernard Shaw
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brick by brick, 24 Feb. 2013
By 
Gary Price (Milton Keynes UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Some good insights into the workings of a man many saw in a negative light.
A book that reads easily and like Lord just keeps firing from the hip, until the room is filled with smoke. A good read about one of our industrialists who never worried about being loved for his actions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Brick by Brick: The Biography of the Man Who Really Made the Mini - Leonard Lord, 14 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A Very very good book. I lived just up the road from the Austin factory From my Birth in 1944 up & till closure in 2005. Firstly its a large size book but sadly unless you are of a certain age the model numbers of the vehicles will mean little to you(there are very very few picures of the vehicles that Austin produced). You will need to be sitting next to a computer to feed in the model numbers to see just what the author is talking about. But its still a very good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best read in a long while., 15 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This volume has a main theme,Lord and the Austin.Gripping in that way,but the tentacles spreading into the peripheral vehicle industry, the stories, are fascinating and informative. Clearly a huge amount of work has gone into this book,buy it, you will enjoy it! I am off to read it again, not many books I do that with these days.Most are inaccurate potboilers.
D.F. Cremer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews