Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Three books in one!, 1 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jon Ronson's Adventures With Extraordinary People (Kindle Edition)
This review is about the format of this kindle ebook, rather than the content. I've written it as I hope it helps others making the decision to buy.

I'd been planning to read the Psychopath Test for a while - we have a couple of paperback copies floating around the wider family circle, but I wanted a copy for my new kindle. I was hesitant to get this kindle version as it isn't totally clear in the description that it is three books, including the Psychopath Test (despite the cover suggesting it is!)
I downloaded a sample, but that wasn't any clearer as it is a sample of the first book of the three and only has a table of contents for that.
Anyway... it's a good price, so I bit the bullet and bought it. I can confirm it is the three books stated on the cover. The kindle version doesn't easily separate out the three books, so I've had to manually go through and bookmark the start of the second and third books. So if like me you have heard what great reads these three books are, then get this copy safe in the knowledge that they are all included.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Worth the effort, 3 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jon Ronson's Adventures With Extraordinary People (Kindle Edition)
Its a long book because it is made up of three books. This put me off. I think because I would normally like to swap and change authors from one book to e next and this seemed like an awfully big commitment. If you have to ask why I wouldn't leave it one third read and come back to it after a mother book then you won't understand the answer.

Jon tells a story about him figuring out if there is a story to tell. It works.

Makes you think and makes you scared.

Give it a go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting stories with Mr Ronson, 12 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jon Ronson's Adventures With Extraordinary People (Kindle Edition)
Nice to have Jon Ronsons most well known books in one package. All three books introduce us to characters, some of who which you may have heard off, taking part as major players in stories involving the army, the far right and the psychiatric industry amongst others. I would definitely recommend this. It's well written and illustrates the obsession that Mr Robson has with the weird, the wacky and downright strange.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Engrossing, 3 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jon Ronson's Adventures With Extraordinary People (Kindle Edition)
I found this to be a fantastic book which is very well written. All three books are equally interesting and well researched.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Three books for one, 1 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jon Ronson's Adventures With Extraordinary People (Kindle Edition)
Love Ronson's writing style. this is non-fiction and deals with some fairly serious subjects. Ronson manages to do this with a humour that makes you see the ridiculousness of the subjects he deals with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Three great reads in one, 8 July 2013
By 
Peter Lee (Manchester ,United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jon Ronson's Adventures With Extraordinary People (Kindle Edition)
After I recently read Jon Ronson's hugely enjoyable "Lost At Sea" I was delighted to see that this omnibus edition appeared as a Kindle Daily Deal at a bargain price, so I snapped it up. Unlike "Lost at Sea" however the three books here have a slightly different approach, single pieces of investigative journalism as opposed to collections of magazine and newspaper articles.

"Them" deals with extremism and those who have radical beliefs (including in one chapter David Icke) and is often hilarious. Alongside the conspiracy theorists and religious extremists we also discover the shady activities of the Bilderberg Group and those who pursue them, believing they are the secret rulers of the world. It's a fascinating book, veering between hilarity and much darker, more sinister material.

"The Men Who Stare At Goats" deals with psychological warfare and is far darker, much more disturbing. It opens with a secret experiment by the US military to kill without contact, attempting to stop the heart through the power of the mind, and introduces soldiers who attempted to walk through walls and so on, and although ridiculous we begin to see how some of their experiments have been used during more recent engagements. It's very dark stuff, but Ronson deftly keeps things skipping along, injecting touches of humour every now and again.

"The Psychopath Test" deals with psychology, behaviour, and mental classification. What is a psychopath and how can someone be classified as such? It's an interesting read with dabbles into the likes of Scientology, conspiracy theories, and so on. Don't expect a textbook on psychology - just expect a riveting, entertaining, occasionally disturbing read.

Fantastic reading for holidays and railway journeys in my experience. I can't wait for Ronson's next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A bargain collection, 27 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jon Ronson's Adventures With Extraordinary People (Kindle Edition)
I've heard a lot about Jon Ronson's books through friends and acquaintances so took the opportuinity when this collection was reduced.

All the books are very good investigative journalism. 'Them' looks different with the hindsight we now have on Islamic fundamentalism but does a good job of humanising the extremists.

The only reason I didn't award five stars is that they left me feeling unsure of what the point of them was. I suppose this is a positive aspect of giving both sides of the story but left me unsure of what the point was!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Highly enjoyable, 13 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jon Ronson's Adventures With Extraordinary People (Kindle Edition)
A very good read well written with an honest and witty style manages to tread the fine line between humour and detailed reportage, introduces you to some incredible people humouresly but without ever taking the piss a very good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Eye-opening and unputdownable, 15 May 2013
By 
mauvedeity (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jon Ronson's Adventures With Extraordinary People (Kindle Edition)
Let Jon Ronson be your tour guide on a trip through the outer fringes of obsession, conspiracy theorising, and barking insanity. If you saw the film of The Men Who Stare at Goats and want more, this is definitely for you. And if you're curious about exactly how mad your fellow humans get - then look no further, this is the guide book you need.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 3 in 1, 16 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jon Ronson's Adventures With Extraordinary People (Kindle Edition)
A real journey with some weird and wonderful people. 3 books in 1, all 3 different but with a thread of "otherness" running throughout. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews