Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars496
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 January 2010
An all-time classic and a must-have for all ape descendants who question the consensus reality & approach on life, and enjoy having a good laugh about it.

Alongside with "Monty Python", this is an essential gospel for atheists, non-Vogons and space monkeys in general. A most improbable publication that deserves a special place on your shelf of Sacred Texts.

"In many of the more relaxed civilizations on the Outer Eastern Rim of the Galaxy, the Hitch Hiker's Guide has already supplanted the great Encyclopedia Galactica as the standard repository of all knowledge and wisdom, for though it has many omissions and contains much that is apocryphal, or at least wildly inaccurate, it scores over the older, more pedestrian work in two important respects:First, it is slightly cheaper; and secondly it has the words Don't Panic inscribed in large friendly letters on its cover."

If you're adventurous and curious about exploring both inner and outer space, this book is for you.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 1999
The Hitch-Hiker's Guide to the Galaxy is the best series of books I have ever read. I discovered them courtesy of my brother around 5 years ago, I read the 'trilogy' and have since become a ver avid fan. The chronicles of Arthur Dent, Ford Prefect and the rest of the gang are always guaranteed to make me laugh, and the books are always very well-written by Douglas Adams, as the pace never slows and there is never a dull (or unfunny moment). I live my life according to these books, as I'm sure any of my friends will testify. If you're thinking of buying this book, I would definitely recommend it to anyone after a comedy novel, a sci-fi novel or just a new outlook on life as a whole.
0Comment|32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2012
To all Hitchhikers fans great value to carry round on your kindle and for those who have not ventured into the world of Arthur Dent and Ford Prefect , great value to start you on there adventure , once read your read it again
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2000
Unquestionably one of the best series of stroies ever to be bound together under one cover. The famous "trilogy" of 5 books never loses it's freshness or humour, in fact it grows on you the more you read it. I would recommend this book more than 5 stars if I could, it derves pride of place on any bookshelf. A copy of The Guide ought to be owned by everyone, everywhere. If you want to know the answer to the Ultimate question of life, the universe and Everything or why Flainian Pobble Beads are only convertable for other Flainian Pobble Beads and eight Ningis equal one Triganic Pu or the text of Gods Last Message To His Creation: The read The Hitch-Hikers Guide To The Galaxy. It does not dissapoint.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I was lucky enough to get this while it was the Kindle deal of the day, but even at its normal price it is a bargain: all five of the HHG books in one e-book. Despite having all the books on paper I couldn't resist it.

Somehow it seems only right to be reading the books on a device that that is more like the now-legendary guide itself than a paperback is. It makes me wonder why somebody isn't selling a Kindle case with DON'T PANIC on the cover.

The only drawback is that the books have somelittle extras at the end, like some original press releases or first drafts of stories. These are rendered quite small on the Kindle screen and really might as well not be there. Apart from that, this edition works very well in electronic format.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2008
This is pure genius. The best thing to come out of the great publishing houses of Maximegalon Five since 'How to bury yourself alive in cream cheese', more popular than '65 ways to get the best out of your pet donkey' and altogether more bizarre than 'Beards: A history through time and space'.

In truth the series of five starts magnificently with the first 2 books, then fades a bit at book 3, which is a dog, but rallies magificently with book 5, which once again marks Douglas Adams as one of the cleverest and funniest people most of us never met at a party in an Islington flat once long ago.

I love the sound time makes as it goes whooshing by while I read this magnum opulence. I hope you will too.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2014
i love hitchhikers, and these are replacements. my only comment is the cheap covers. they're that horrible gritty printing, with the lamest designs on the covers i've ever seen.
apart from that niggle if you haven't got a copy of these in your house somewhere you are living a life all the poorer for it!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2003
This is truly the ultimate item for the ultimate Hitchhiker's fan who thinks they have everything Douglas Adams ever wrote. There are those who collected the books through the years, but some of us weren't around back then. Celebrating the success of the books, PAN has reissued all the books in facsimile editions the way they were originally published, but in this package you get a nice slipcase for the five books. This is the way to time-travel back to the early days of Hitchhiker and ending with the tragic but enjoyable last book. If you think you have read every word of the Hitchhiker's Trilogy of Five Books, you probably have. But read them again the way they were first published.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2010
This is the ideal way to buy the Douglas Adams Hitchhikers Guide series of books. The order was despatched and received quicky by Westmorland Books. Good product, good service. What else needs to be said, hence the five star rating.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2014
Look, I really enjoyed the first 3 books in this but I think the last two focussed less on interesting ideas and concepts and more on characters that I didn't really care that much about. I was just reading it for the witty ideas that are so excellently put in the first 3. Sunglasses that keep you feeling cool by covering your vision at the first sign of danger, genius! Arthur in a search to find some version of Earth, too drawn out and boring. The beginning half is still worth the read though.
11 comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)