Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable
Very enjoyable, at times funny books good to read on dark winter nights. - Montalbano is a humane, grouchy and funny man (with a touch of Columbo); as are his men. Plus, the books give a good 'flavour' of Sicilians and their land. I also appreciated the explanations of Italian sphrases at the end of the books. I'll certainly read some more of this series, if not all.
Published 18 months ago by Atir

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars faithful to the TV series
I did like these books and they were very faithful to the TV series, and because of this I think I found the books boring.
Salvo Montalbano is not as nice in the books, in fact I found him really arrogant, and in a way almost childish in some of his actions.
I think these are books to read if you have not seen the TV series.
Published 9 months ago by helen


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable, 3 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Montalbano Mysteries: Three crime novels of Sicily (Kindle Edition)
Very enjoyable, at times funny books good to read on dark winter nights. - Montalbano is a humane, grouchy and funny man (with a touch of Columbo); as are his men. Plus, the books give a good 'flavour' of Sicilians and their land. I also appreciated the explanations of Italian sphrases at the end of the books. I'll certainly read some more of this series, if not all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A different experience, 24 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Montalbano Mysteries: Three crime novels of Sicily (Kindle Edition)
I love these books because they are so different. If you read detective/crime stories regularly as I do then you are in for a treat but only if you keep an open mind. These stories are not hard core, deep delving pyschological killer thrillers. There is murder, mystery and crime solving but in a totally roundabout way. There is a lightness to the structure - perhaps due to translation - and the events sometimes jump about which for me added to their 'charm'. There are many mafia killings which just seem to be part and parcel of the everyday Scilian policeman's life, with evidence, forensics and everything else associated with the crime being dealt with in a very offhand way by Inspector Montalbano and his team. Do not despair at their methods and apparent disregard for procedure. Try not to compare with other crime stories, simply enjoy the journey to the final satisfying conclusion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bene Bene, 14 May 2012
By 
Graham Lewis - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A right royal romp through Montalbano land. The descriptions of people, emotions, food, scenery, buildings and even animals, are exquisite. The TV series follows the books almost to the letter and reading the book after having seen the TV version or vice-versa actually adds to the experience. Unlike some of the single book editions, this one has been proof read and it's excellent value. The only downside is that I keep on reading long after I should be asleep and do a fair impression of Salvo at his most miserable the following day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sicily, I am coming!, 7 Feb 2013
By 
Kobiangelus (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Montalbano Mysteries: Three crime novels of Sicily (Kindle Edition)
After enjoying the T.V series and feeling warmed and charmed by the places an characters, I am overwhelmed and fascinated by the people and culture of Sicily.
Not only do the books touch me with the heat and wind of the country but also make me hungry for the place (literally).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5stars, 31 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Montalbano Mysteries: Three crime novels of Sicily (Kindle Edition)
Excellent read after watching the tv series on BBC4 I was able to visualize the characters and Sicily recommend highly if you enjoy detective novels
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, fantastic writing, 24 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Montalbano Mysteries: Three crime novels of Sicily (Kindle Edition)
I'm not a fan of crime fiction, but got this on special offer as I had enjoyed the TV series. Three fantastic novels with great characters. I've since bought most of the series on Kindle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars inspector montalbano, 24 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Montalbano Mysteries: Three crime novels of Sicily (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed these stories. Set in a small island town in the mediterranean .I found the books more enjoyable than the CDs as the descriptions of the place and characters were more detailed. Fast moving detective stories told with humour and compassion
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sicily enriched !, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Montalbano Mysteries: Three crime novels of Sicily (Kindle Edition)
An excellent purchase, made especially enjoyable as read whilst on holiday in Sicily itself !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Quirky but highly entertaining - absolutely hooked, 7 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Montalbano Mysteries: Three crime novels of Sicily (Kindle Edition)
Three books in one - a good way to start your acquaintance with this flawed but highly entertaining Sicilian detective with his love of food and doing the right thing. As well as a good detective story you have all the colour and atmosphere of Sicily - its food, its culture and its scenery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great read!!, 11 April 2014
By 
S. Gaffney "BigJazz" (Cheshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Montalbano Mysteries: Three crime novels of Sicily (Kindle Edition)
Having seen the series before I read the books; I was really pleased to see that they had echoed the style of the books in producing the series. Snappy, humorous and often blunter than is comfortable; they make great reading for any crime buff. I usually prefer mine a little more "noir" , but Montalbano stands comfortably with them all. Books that can be devoured in a 2 or 3 sittings, so perfect for a chilled weekend or holiday reading. Mine we're read with Madeira as a backdrop along with Jo nesbo's "leopard" and "Jar city" by Arnauldar Indriddson
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews