Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Report for duty trooper!
One of my secret desires for the last 20 years was to own my own Stormtrooper costume and I recently decided that the time was right. Having done a lot of research on the various costumes available out there, I finally opted for the SDS battle spec armour. OK, so we've all read the stories in the press regarding the legal wranglings with Lucasfilm (which SDS won) and...
Published 12 months ago by Kenneth C.

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Armor is awesome, helmet is piece of crap though
Armor is awesome, helmet is piece of crap though. Not symmetrical at all and very poor. Looks like it was put together with old parts. But, the armor is fantastic.
Published 1 month ago by andrew perricone


Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Report for duty trooper!, 25 Nov 2013
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shepperton Design Studios Original Stormtrooper Battle Spec Full Armour (Toy)
One of my secret desires for the last 20 years was to own my own Stormtrooper costume and I recently decided that the time was right. Having done a lot of research on the various costumes available out there, I finally opted for the SDS battle spec armour. OK, so we've all read the stories in the press regarding the legal wranglings with Lucasfilm (which SDS won) and whether or not you approve of unlicensed replicas, there's no denying that if you are looking for the most screen accurate stormtrooper armour, ready to wear out of the box, this is the one for you.

Some of the costume purists might be a bit sniffy with you because you didn't spend months scouring the internet for just the right make and model of microphone tips or the exact brand of rubber for the detailing. They may even voice concerns that by making a purchase from SDS that you are not directly funding the next Star Wars movie (or George Lucas' new conservatory.)

All that aside if, like me, you love these movies to the extent that you want to own an highly accurate version of possibly the coolest costume in movie history, but simply don't have the time, skills or resources to build one from scratch, or modify a cheaper version, then pay no attention to the cosplay snobs, this product ticks all the boxes!

May the force be with you!

K
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Money well Spent, 22 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shepperton Design Studios Original Stormtrooper Battle Spec Full Armour (Toy)
I've always wanted to have my own stormtrooper armor, ever since I was a kid! I finally took the plunge and eagerly awaited my package. If you are like me and are waffling over the purchase, do it! You will be incredibly happy that you bought it.
It comes with everything you need, excluding boots and blaster. My favorite part is the built-in "popper" and strap system, which makes putting the armor on that much easier. I still would recommend having a friend help you out to speed up the "suit-up" process!

The Good:
- Velcros are already attached and ready to wear right after you open the box!
- "Popper" button and strap system is fantastic, many of the pieces are even color-coded to show you where each piece goes to get the correct fit
- Detail and quality are amazing

The Bad:
- The included helmet isn't that great, the "lenses" is just a thin piece of green-tinted plastic. I recommend the eFX Stormtrooper helmet (much better fit).
- May need to perform minor modifications to make it fit perfectly on your body. Examples include: adjusting velcro pieces for a tight fit, cutting pieces to fit your body and allow more maneuverability.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great value for a suit By SDS, 13 Nov 2013
By 
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shepperton Design Studios Original Stormtrooper Battle Spec Full Armour (Toy)
I really did not know what to expect from an SDS battle spec suit, but was extremely happy with this purchase. I previously owned an FX suit that is nice and has great hard plastic. This one is a bit more flexible and allows you to move around a bit more. I highly recommend it to anyone wanting to get into this hobby.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not 501st ready., 30 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shepperton Design Studios Original Stormtrooper Battle Spec Full Armour (Toy)
Overall, this is not a bad set of armour for the price. As mentioned, the helmet is not symmetrical but this is as it should be: the original ANH stormtrooper helmets were also not symmetrical. There is speculation online that only the front is cast from the original moulds, leading to a slightly oversized helmet compared with other quality armour builders, such as RS Props.

The body armour is generally quite good, although some parts, such as the sniper knee plate are not sharp casts, in this case the sniper plate does not sit very snug against the lower leg greave. One key advantage of the ABS plastic is that it is reasonably tough and flexible and will stand up to days spent out trooping in the amour.

One downside to the ABS armour is that it is dull, almost matt white - not glossy white like the PVC armour on offer.

Other downsides:
the armour is not 501st ready and will need to be overhauled if you want to get it up to 501st specifications.
Examples:
the plastic belt must be replaced;
the plastic thermal detonator clips must be replaced;
the shoulder straps must be cut off from the back armour and glued onto the front armour,
various joining methods (sniper knee plate, thigh ammo pack) need to be re-done.

The body suit is also not a great fit. I'm 180cm (6 ft) and the body suit not tall enough and at the same time too loose and flappy around arms and legs. I ended up replacing this with a figure-hugging racing undersuit.

You'll also need to buy:
the right shoes;
a neck seal;
a holster;
an E-11 blaster (would highly recommend doopydoos).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good set of Stormtrooper armour., 28 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shepperton Design Studios Original Stormtrooper Battle Spec Full Armour (Toy)
I like the armour a lot... However it will require some minor modifications to make it screen accurate to ANH standards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Armor is awesome, helmet is piece of crap though, 4 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shepperton Design Studios Original Stormtrooper Battle Spec Full Armour (Toy)
Armor is awesome, helmet is piece of crap though. Not symmetrical at all and very poor. Looks like it was put together with old parts. But, the armor is fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shepperton Design Studios Original Stormtrooper Battle Spec Full Armour (Toy)
Great price as some idiot returned it thinking it was a kit! Great set of armour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for the price, 16 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shepperton Design Studios Original Stormtrooper Battle Spec Full Armour (Toy)
Plus
- ready to wear out of the box; all straps system included and mounted
- nice look ; does make a Wow factor
- price to quality
- it is a proper colours [worry not about stock proto on Amazon; it is white!]

Minus
- a quality could have been a little better
- I am 1,75 m high and can not imagine 1,90 wearing it [especially a body suit]
- some parts had to be little cleaned [had minor scraches]

Overall would recommmend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Shepperton Design Studios Original Stormtrooper Battle Spec Full Armour
£599.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews