Customer Reviews


145 Reviews
5 star:
 (113)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Powerful multi threaded performance, at a wallet friendly price
I've built a few rigs based on this processor (I use an FX6300 myself)
This is the one to go for if you want an FX 8 core CPU. The FX8350 is clocked higher and costs more, but as the multiplier is unlocked on all the FX cpu's you can simply increase the multiplier on the motherboard and match the clock speed of the 8350.

The FX8320 offers potent and...
Published 13 months ago by Mr Baz

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Take Care when choosing this product
Disappointment over this product. in that performance generally good until I play Hi-usage games such as GW2 and TERA, then despite of installing extra fans, this CPU over heats to dangerous levels. I'm using it on an ASUS M5A97 Evo R2 MoBo, which according to the spec's should be able to cope. A4-core worked well and a six core which this 8-core replaced worked well...
Published 8 months ago by Mr. K. Mackenzie


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Powerful multi threaded performance, at a wallet friendly price, 22 April 2014
By 
Mr Baz - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: AMD FX8320 Black Edition 8 Core (3.5/4.0GHz, 8MB Level 3 Cache, 8MB Level 2 Cache, Socket AM3+, 125W, Retail Boxed) (Personal Computers)
I've built a few rigs based on this processor (I use an FX6300 myself)
This is the one to go for if you want an FX 8 core CPU. The FX8350 is clocked higher and costs more, but as the multiplier is unlocked on all the FX cpu's you can simply increase the multiplier on the motherboard and match the clock speed of the 8350.

The FX8320 offers potent and improved performance over the bulldozer chips, in some cases quite a bit better than expected. Single threaded performance is better, but where you really feel the extra power is in intensive applications such as rendering and video encoding work. This is the ideal processor for heavy lifting tasks that require more cores.

Quick good and bad points

Pros:
+ Outstanding bang per buck
+ Excellent multi threaded performance, quite stunning in some applications (esp video work)
+ Improved single threaded over bulldozer
+ Great potential for overclocking
+ Newer instructions: Support for AVX1.1, FMA3, F16C, Bit Manipulation and Trailing Bit Manipulation instructions
+ Turbo core 3.0 improved over previous version
+ Full 8MB lv 2 and lv3 cache

Cons:
- Power hungry with heavy overclocking
- Stock cooler too small, even if you're not overclocking get something better (like a coolermaster Hyper 212 Plus - one example lots of choices) and is too noisy
- Would prefer 95w v 125w
- Mixed performance in some applications, it's very strong for video (punches well above it's price v the Intel equivalents), in some applications it's not as good as an i5

The newer "piledriver" offers some enhancements over the first generation
Improved FPU and integer scheduling, and better branch prediction and pre-fetching. This accounts for improved performance in both single and multi threaded applications.

The 8320 consistently out performs the older AMD FX-8150 Zambezi 3.6GHz, despite a slightly slower clock speed across the board hands down by around 15-20% in some cases.

Gaming is good with the 8320 and can be improved even further with moderate overclocking (just about all newer games are heavily threaded so this will be just fine for gaming rigs, put the cash saved on the CPU towards a good graphics card)
The 8320 scored a solid 8240 on passmark (without overclocking) that's a strong performance
For AM3+ users with a quad core Phenom II x4 this is a big upgrade in every way, and I feel it's a solid upgrade for Phenom II x6 users too (depending on which model you have)

Whilst the Vishera processors (piledriver) processors have been out a while now, the prices are good across the board. In terms of value for money and getting good performance for a modest outlay, the FX- 8320 is a good buy. If you don't need the full 4 modules/8 cores the FX6300 is another good bet at a lower price.

For overclockers the 8320 is a great buy, and it's beastly performance in some applications makes it a good value choice for video encoding (it's very fast here) also does very well for photo work (lightroom is multi threaded and this runs great with that software)

Just make sure you order a CPU cooler to go with this. There are faster processors out there, but this is likely fast enough for most (it really does cut through even intensive applications very quickly) at the asking price it's really hard to beat
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing!, 5 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AMD FX8320 Black Edition 8 Core (3.5/4.0GHz, 8MB Level 3 Cache, 8MB Level 2 Cache, Socket AM3+, 125W, Retail Boxed) (Personal Computers)
AMD 8 core cpu for this price!! it runs so smooth, i wouldnt go back to intel again.highly recommend! awesome
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gaming and overclocking review, 17 Jan. 2015
By 
Mr. A. Wilson "Ashley Wilson" (Nottingham, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AMD FX8320 Black Edition 8 Core (3.5/4.0GHz, 8MB Level 3 Cache, 8MB Level 2 Cache, Socket AM3+, 125W, Retail Boxed) (Personal Computers)
If you're a gamer and an avid overclocker, this review is for you! I want to briefly share my experiences and thoughts on this processor to help you make the right choice for you. So lets get started.

Gaming:
Performance here will depend on what type of system you want to build. If you're someone who has a single 1080p monitor and mediocre graphics card (GTX 760, R9 270X or below) you will be happy to know this processor will hold its own in most games at stock speeds. As long as you aren't too bothered about maximising everything and pushing the most FPS possible that is. If that applies to you, then this is an absolute solid buy. It hits the sweet spot between price and performance. Even the most modern games will run buttery smooth and with 8 cores at your disposal, you'll be able to multi-task with ease. This includes tasks like streaming to YouTube or Twitch whilst gaming, to give an example. Just a tip; This processor runs at 1.32V out of the box. With this kind of voltage on the stock heatsink you may find it can get quite hot and noisy especially in the summer. As such, you may actually find undervolting the processor will reduce power consumption and heat whilst keeping the same performance.

Now, if you want to build a kick-ass 1440p multi-monitor, multi-GPU rig then I highly recommend investing in an aftermarket cooling system. Whether you want to go air or watercooled is completely up to you. This is because to get the most out of those types of systems, you're going to need to overclock the processor. I'll talk more about overclocking in the next section. My point being with high-end graphics cards, the processor at stock clocks will most probably be holding the GPU back from performing at its best.

Overclocking:
As all AMD FX chips are unlocked, overclocking is as simple as raising the multiplier. While there is a difference between the FX-8320 and FX-8350 (I'll get to that later), you won't notice this difference until you're overclocking to extremes. So you may want to save yourself a few pennies and buy this processor and simply increase the multiplier to match the same clock speed of the FX-8350. On decent motherboards, you can actually increase the clock speed without increasing the voltage which means you can overclock without increasing heat, thus allowing you to use the stock CPU cooler. On both the MSI 990FX-GD80 and ASRock 990FX Extreme9 boards I was able to increase the clock speed all the way to 4.2GHz on the stock voltage. Increasing the clock speed with allow high end graphics card/s to breath a bit better causing an increase in FPS.

So what is the difference between the FX-8320 and FX-8350 you ask? They're both made with the same architecture, what gives? Well I'm not 100% sure, although I think the difference lies within the capability of each chip. From what I can gather, FX-8320's are clocked lower because they reach their maximum capability faster than the 8350's. This means theoretically when overclocking both chips to their limits, the FX-8350 can either reach a higher clock speed or match the FX-8320's overclock with less effort. The best example of this is if you're shooting for the golden 5GHz clock speed. An FX-8320 may never overclock to that speed, or if it can, it may require a high-end motherboard and cooling solution such as liquid/watercooling. Whereas the FX-8350 may be able to overclock to 5GHz at a lower voltage therefore not needing a watercooling kit.

Verdict:
While I'm happy with the FX-8320 as it does exactly what I need it for, I can't help but notice the current small price gap difference between the FX-8320 and the FX-8350. I purchased this processor at £105 but at the current time of writing this review it is £115. With the FX-8350 being only a tenner more at £125, I would personally be more inclined to opt for that processor as it is a more capable processor. With the higher stock clock speed, even non-overclockers will benefit from the extra money spent.

However, if the price gap between the two is any larger, I would definitely consider the FX-8320 over the FX-8350, it's almost a no-brainer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does what it's supposed to, 21 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AMD FX8320 Black Edition 8 Core (3.5/4.0GHz, 8MB Level 3 Cache, 8MB Level 2 Cache, Socket AM3+, 125W, Retail Boxed) (Personal Computers)
It currently does what it's supposed to. I've overclocked it to just below 4GHz with ASUS M5A98 R2.0 & CM Hyper 212 Evo. With no issues so far, would recommend, for sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says on the box, 11 Feb. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AMD FX8320 Black Edition 8 Core (3.5/4.0GHz, 8MB Level 3 Cache, 8MB Level 2 Cache, Socket AM3+, 125W, Retail Boxed) (Personal Computers)
Bought as part of my sons new PC build. He's mainly using for minecraft and a Cinema 4D project, and he's been very happy with frame rates and rendering speed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 18 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AMD FX8320 Black Edition 8 Core (3.5/4.0GHz, 8MB Level 3 Cache, 8MB Level 2 Cache, Socket AM3+, 125W, Retail Boxed) (Personal Computers)
Really fast, powerful and it works well not overly expensive, can be overclocked to 4.8ghz great for any gamer. wd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Christmas Present, 16 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AMD FX8320 Black Edition 8 Core (3.5/4.0GHz, 8MB Level 3 Cache, 8MB Level 2 Cache, Socket AM3+, 125W, Retail Boxed) (Personal Computers)
This was a Christmas present which was recommended and it was ideal for purpose that allowed more games to be used.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great cpu given the price., 15 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AMD FX8320 Black Edition 8 Core (3.5/4.0GHz, 8MB Level 3 Cache, 8MB Level 2 Cache, Socket AM3+, 125W, Retail Boxed) (Personal Computers)
Given the price of this cpu I am really happy with the performance. Works really well for gaming. I have not yet tested it for running my VM's yet but hope that it won't let em down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fast, great price, unlocked, what's not to like., 1 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AMD FX8320 Black Edition 8 Core (3.5/4.0GHz, 8MB Level 3 Cache, 8MB Level 2 Cache, Socket AM3+, 125W, Retail Boxed) (Personal Computers)
The CPU is fast, is excellent for multi-tasking and is at an unbelievable price, those who think you need a core I7 to play games on max think again, this CPU is half the price and can run planetside 2 (the most CPU intensive free game I could find) on max setting perfectly. However I find that the stock fan is small and since the warranty is void if you don't use it I find that the CPU is getting hot (around 40 *C idle and close to 70 *C on high intensity), nevertheless I'll be getting an after market CPU cooler and thermal paste some time in the next year. Anyway this CPU is definitely the absolute best in its price range and intel has no competition here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Job !, 24 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AMD FX8320 Black Edition 8 Core (3.5/4.0GHz, 8MB Level 3 Cache, 8MB Level 2 Cache, Socket AM3+, 125W, Retail Boxed) (Personal Computers)
Excellent fast processor. I mainly use mine for music studio & video editing.
The item arrived in good time and was packaged in a sufficiently sized box [rather than a ridiculusly big one].
The supplied heat sink is the usual laminated fins + 4 copper heat flow pipes. Looks effective ! The supplied fan is noisy and will probably get swapped out at some point.
The processor chip was pre pasted with heatsink compound and the whole thing was easy to fit/plug in.
Altogether a big step up from my 7 year old intel quad core.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews