Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars68
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 17 January 2014
I've made a few builds with this CPU (but advised on going for the next model up)
There is nothing wrong with the performance of it, quite respectable. But compared to the FX4100 there isn't any real progress made by AMD performance wise. Whislt it has the newer piledriver core, and IPC improvements. For some reason AMD dropped the level 3 cache down to 4mb from 8mb, and despite the slightly better clockspeed v the older FX4100, this does impact performance.

Pros:
+ Decent performance and still quite a good CPU for those wanting to overclock
+ Benefits from the newer instructions in piledriver...XOP, CVT16, BMI, TBM and FMA4. This might be of use down the road if software supports them.

Cons:
- Reduced level 3 cache impacts performance, not really faster than the FX4100
- No decrease in TDP v the FX4100, ie a 95w part I would have expected something here for energy efficient users
- Price is so close to the FX6300, it's hard to recommend it based purely on that.

Performance wise you'll get around 4500 in passmark (quite respectable enough) and it will have no problems at all for most tasks thrown at it. The problem is for only a few pounds more, you can bag the FX6300 and desipte the cores being clocked slightly slower on that CPU, the full 8mb of cache means it's just as fast per module/core as the FX4300.

It could still be worth a look if you want to build a budget gaming pc, or want to play around with overclocking. On the other hand you can pick up the 6300 and disable one module/2 cores and do the same thing!

For applications that use heavy multi threading the 6 core AMD processor clearly has a performance advantage (and by some margin for photo/video work), no penalty with TDP and frankly is the most obvious choice for users in this price range. I note the price has dropped in recent times to more appealing levels, but really for a bit extra the 6 core CPU is the one to go for really
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2013
This was delivered very fast from amazon, originally had a unsupported motherboard but after buying a Asus M5A78L/USB3 Motherboard It fitted perfectly. This is a AM3+ Chip so remember that when buying! Heat Paste already came applied and the supplied fan fitted perfectly. I would highly recommend buying as a upgrade as 3.8ghz is brilliant!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2014
The AMD FX4300 was easy and straight forward to fit to my pc it does what I want it to do and more besides as well
I would recommend this processor to anyone upgrading or on a bit of a budget build it really is easy and straight forward to install and set up it runs pretty quick as well between applications just don't forget that with this processor you do need to also purchase some ddr3 ram memory to get the full potential from it the best review I found to run it with was the ddr3 1866mhz memory and it is not badly priced either
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2015
Super little CPU. Works perfectly well and copes with pretty much anything chucked at it. Easily overclocked too but only if you know what you are doing.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2014
These are not brand new - they have been opened, re-packed with a lower quality heatsink/fan and re-packed, with fresh anonymous sticky labels placed over the original printed AMD coded labels. I have previously bought several of these from Ebuyer - they usually come with a copper heatsink/fan - not the cheaper aluminium type that were re-packed with these CPU's.
22 comments|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2015
Already have this CPU in my current PC and like it very much. Not taken by Windows 10 yet and as I had a new Win 7 64 bit disk decide to put together a spare computer with upgraded memory and motherboard. Happy with performance and value of FX4300 so bought another.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2015
where do i start? this 3.8 ghz monster is great at everything i do on my computer . does what it says on the box , it handles the frames on nearly every game i play well . 100% recomend to anyone building or upgrading a computer
11 comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2015
easy enough to install although stock cooler and fan arent really upto the overclocking side of things but it does say that your warranty is invalid if you use anything BUT the stock cooler , ah well , here goes
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2015
Decent CPU for the price I guess, but I highly recommend getting an Intel CPU instead.
If you want to play games, you shouldn't get this CPU, either an FX 6300 or an Intel CPU.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2015
Not retail Boxed so had no fan unit
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 26 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)