Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfection in a tiny little chip.
This was delivered very fast from amazon, originally had a unsupported motherboard but after buying a Asus M5A78L/USB3 Motherboard It fitted perfectly. This is a AM3+ Chip so remember that when buying! Heat Paste already came applied and the supplied fan fitted perfectly. I would highly recommend buying as a upgrade as 3.8ghz is brilliant!
Published 16 months ago by SlappyTheSeal

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent CPU, but priced too close to the FX6300
I've made a few builds with this CPU (but advised on going for the next model up)
There is nothing wrong with the performance of it, quite respectable. But compared to the FX4100 there isn't any real progress made by AMD performance wise. Whislt it has the newer piledriver core, and IPC improvements. For some reason AMD dropped the level 3 cache down to 4mb from 8mb,...
Published 7 months ago by Mr Baz


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfection in a tiny little chip., 30 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AMD FX4300 Black Edition 4 Core (3.8/4.0GHz, 8MB Level 3 Cache, 4MB Level 2 Cache, Socket AM3+, 95W, Retail Boxed) (Personal Computers)
This was delivered very fast from amazon, originally had a unsupported motherboard but after buying a Asus M5A78L/USB3 Motherboard It fitted perfectly. This is a AM3+ Chip so remember that when buying! Heat Paste already came applied and the supplied fan fitted perfectly. I would highly recommend buying as a upgrade as 3.8ghz is brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent CPU, but priced too close to the FX6300, 17 Jan 2014
By 
Mr Baz - See all my reviews
(#1 REVIEWER)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: AMD FX4300 Black Edition 4 Core (3.8/4.0GHz, 8MB Level 3 Cache, 4MB Level 2 Cache, Socket AM3+, 95W, Retail Boxed) (Personal Computers)
I've made a few builds with this CPU (but advised on going for the next model up)
There is nothing wrong with the performance of it, quite respectable. But compared to the FX4100 there isn't any real progress made by AMD performance wise. Whislt it has the newer piledriver core, and IPC improvements. For some reason AMD dropped the level 3 cache down to 4mb from 8mb, and despite the slightly better clockspeed v the older FX4100, this does impact performance.

Pros:
+ Decent performance and still quite a good CPU for those wanting to overclock
+ Benefits from the newer instructions in piledriver...XOP, CVT16, BMI, TBM and FMA4. This might be of use down the road if software supports them.

Cons:
- Reduced level 3 cache impacts performance, not really faster than the FX4100
- No decrease in TDP v the FX4100, ie a 95w part I would have expected something here for energy efficient users
- Price is so close to the FX6300, it's hard to recommend it based purely on that.

Performance wise you'll get around 4500 in passmark (quite respectable enough) and it will have no problems at all for most tasks thrown at it. The problem is for only a few pounds more, you can bag the FX6300 and desipte the cores being clocked slightly slower on that CPU, the full 8mb of cache means it's just as fast per module/core as the FX4300.

It could still be worth a look if you want to build a budget gaming pc, or want to play around with overclocking. On the other hand you can pick up the 6300 and disable one module/2 cores and do the same thing!

For applications that use heavy multi threading the 6 core AMD processor clearly has a performance advantage (and by some margin for photo/video work), no penalty with TDP and frankly is the most obvious choice for users in this price range. If AMD had made this draw less power, AND put the price down to around the 65 mark it could be a stonking bargain. As it is right now having used both processors in builds, the FX6300 is the one to go for IMO.

Good CPU, wrong price if it drops down a bit might be worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent CPU, 12 Feb 2014
This review is from: AMD FX4300 Black Edition 4 Core (3.8/4.0GHz, 8MB Level 3 Cache, 4MB Level 2 Cache, Socket AM3+, 95W, Retail Boxed) (Personal Computers)
Have recently just assembled my new pc, which used this AMD Fx4300, an Asus M5a97 mobo, and 4Gb of Ram. I have been thoroughly impressed with this CPU, as it runs all my games flawlessly. I also purchased a CM hyper212 evo, which I would highly reccomend to anyone who wants to do any over clocking, as I'm currently running at 4.4Ghz and could easily go faster. Lots of people reccomend the i3 over this, but it has half the cores, has a lower clock speed, and is more expensive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars AMD FX4300 PERSONAL REVIEW, 9 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AMD FX4300 Black Edition 4 Core (3.8/4.0GHz, 8MB Level 3 Cache, 4MB Level 2 Cache, Socket AM3+, 95W, Retail Boxed) (Personal Computers)
The AMD FX4300 was easy and straight forward to fit to my pc it does what I want it to do and more besides as well
I would recommend this processor to anyone upgrading or on a bit of a budget build it really is easy and straight forward to install and set up it runs pretty quick as well between applications just don't forget that with this processor you do need to also purchase some ddr3 ram memory to get the full potential from it the best review I found to run it with was the ddr3 1866mhz memory and it is not badly priced either
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good buy, 17 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AMD FX4300 Black Edition 4 Core (3.8/4.0GHz, 8MB Level 3 Cache, 4MB Level 2 Cache, Socket AM3+, 95W, Retail Boxed) (Personal Computers)
runs a dream faster than I thought I would recommend this to anyone who is looking to build a pc at a good price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Price, 10 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AMD FX4300 Black Edition 4 Core (3.8/4.0GHz, 8MB Level 3 Cache, 4MB Level 2 Cache, Socket AM3+, 95W, Retail Boxed) (Personal Computers)
Good price but for a budget pc nice and cheap could be a bit better but overall a very nice processor for my new computer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 12 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AMD FX4300 Black Edition 4 Core (3.8/4.0GHz, 8MB Level 3 Cache, 4MB Level 2 Cache, Socket AM3+, 95W, Retail Boxed) (Personal Computers)
Fantastic processor for the price, will run any modern game with relative ease. Couldn't be more impressed with this processor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AMD FX4300 Black Edition 4 Core (3.8/4.0GHz, 8MB Level 3 Cache, 4MB Level 2 Cache, Socket AM3+, 95W, Retail Boxed) (Personal Computers)
It is as good as it say`s and it`s a must buy for the price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New pc build, 3 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AMD FX4300 Black Edition 4 Core (3.8/4.0GHz, 8MB Level 3 Cache, 4MB Level 2 Cache, Socket AM3+, 95W, Retail Boxed) (Personal Computers)
This was my first pc build so I did a lot of research on which CPU I should buy and in the end I went for this one. I had to choose between this and the Intel i3-3220 but as benchmarks showed, this AMD was better at multithreaded apps. This thing is very fast! Got a windows 7 performance rating of 7.3 and anything I clicked to open appeared in an instant. Would definitely recommend! ***(Please note that this CPU only has 4MB L3 cache)***
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AMD FX4300 Black Edition 4 Core (3.8/4.0GHz, 8MB Level 3 Cache, 4MB Level 2 Cache, Socket AM3+, 95W, Retail Boxed) (Personal Computers)
for the price it has no equal
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews