Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars17
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£5.49
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 August 2012
My generation was brought up on Jack Jackson (Decca and London, mainly) and Kent Walton (exclusively) bringing us good sounds through Radio Luxemburg. Here is a CD right up my own street, and if I have a regret it is that there are one or two 60s classics not there. But instead the CD includes several very hard to get tracks which I own in vinyl from the USA but which are impossible to find on the UK Top Rank label. My favourite pop single of all time is there, the beautifully crafted What In The World's Come Over You, by Jack Scott, and despite the odd Garry Mills single and one or two cover versions of other labels' hits this is a splendid investment.
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2012
I always thought that the short lived Top Rank label was worthy of greater reverence. Now we see the results of thoughtful track selection in this new 'Story' release. Traversing the three years of this ambitious label before it was squeezed out of business by the big boys, we can see that its stature was not far off the legendary London American gold standard. This series concentrates mainly on the US tracks licenced over here. I'd guess that the sales figures for the 45s on initial release would have been dismal, but thank goodness the compiler has not taken the easy root of putting the most obvious tracks on this series. Some of the smartest US labels tried to interest the UK public in their streets ahead productions - Harold Dorman's 'Mountain Of Love' and the Crests 'Step By Step' are just two such gems. UK artists aren't ignored - Gary Mills - 'Top Teen Baby' is a standout. Nice touch to see the original Top Rank release number against each track. A follow up CD for 1960 might be difficult - this one has the best of the releases.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2012
As I commented on the 1961 version, I'm pleased to have found this 2CD album that is a real trip down memory lane for fans of the label. It's great to own these classic A-sides again. The sound quality is good with all tracks having been re-mastered. Also excellent value! Don't hesitate to buy! 5stars.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 16 February 2016
HISTORY:

The Rank Organisation was established in 1937 by J. Arthur Rank. At its height, in the Forties, the Rank Organization owned five film studios. By the late fifties, Rank started record production. Rank Records Ltd. was founded and its label was known as Top Rank.

By 1961, the year of this compilation, the label, managed by Dick Rowe, assisted by Tony Hatch (who wrote Downtown for Petula Clark), had enjoyed two years’ worth of releases. The famous red-and-white record label incorporated the iconic ‘gong-man’ familiar to audiences from the Rank Organization’s many hundreds of films. The acts on the Top Rank label were an eclectic mixture of home-grown British talents, like Garry Mills, Johnny Leyton and Bert Weedon, American doo-wop groups, solo singers, novelty acts and out-and-out rock’n’rollers. This compilation of 1960 includes the A sides mix of all these styles.

Top Rank label went bankrupt in 1962, and was bought by EMI, which started Stateside Record label for its American artists. This Top Rank Story has a companion set for 1961. I am planning to do a Garry Mills Singles Collection. Garry Mills sang Look For A Star in 1960 on Top Rank label, included in this compilation, together with his follow-up Top Teen Baby. But unfortunately his single releases in 1961 on Top Rank were not included in the 1961 compilation.

CONTENT:

Song listing (with label & number, chart position in UK and US)

Disc 1:
01 I Only Have Eyes For You – The Flamingos (JAR 263)(UK, uncharted)(US 11/1959)
02 Go, Jimmy, Go – Jimmy Clanton (JAR 269)(UK, uncharted)(US 5/1959)
03 Circle Dance – The Applejacks (JAR 273)(UK and US, uncharted)
04 Billy Boy – Jimmy Isle (JAR 274)(UK and US, uncharted)
05 What In The World’s Come Over You – Jack Scott (JAR 280)(UK 11/1960)(US 5/1960)
06 Cheatin’ Woman – Frankie Ford (JAR 282)(UK and US, uncharted)
07 Big Beat Boogie – Bert Weedon (JAR 300)(UK 37/1960)(US, uncharted)
08 A Year Ago Tonight – The Crests (JAR 302)(UK, uncharted)(US 42/1959)
09 That’s My Girl – Jesse Lee Turner (JAR 303)(UK and US, uncharted)
10 Lullabye – The Chevrons (JAR 308)(UK and US, uncharted)
11 I Only Want You – The Passions (JAR 313)(UK, uncharted)(US 113/1960)* rare gem
12 With All My Heart – Curtis Lee (JAR 317)(UK and US, uncharted)
13 What’s Happening – Wade Flemons (JAR 327)(UK, uncharted)(US 94/1960)* rare gem
14 Just A Little Bit – Roscoe Gordon (JAR 332)(UK, uncharted)(US 64/1960)* rare gem
15 Look For A Star – Garry Mills (JAR 336)(UK 7/1960)(US 26/1960)* rare gem – there are at least 3 different versions by Garry Mills: one on Imperial from US, one from Top Rank, and the third from the movie Circus of Horrors
16 The Slop Beat – The Teen Beats (JAR 342)(UK and US, uncharted)
17 Someone Loves You, Joe – The Singing Belles (JAR 350)(UK, uncharted)(US 91/1960)* rare gem
18 (Do The) Mashed Potatoes Part 1 – Nat Kendrick & The Swans (JAR 351)(UK, uncharted)(US 84/1960)* rare gem – James Brown’s backup band also known as JB, with James Brown on piano
19 Foot-Patter – The Fireballs (JAR 354)(UK and US, uncharted) 1960
20 Mountain Of Love – Harold Dorman (JAR 357)(UK, uncharted)(US 21/1960)* rare gem
21 Cherry Pie – Skip & Flip (JAR 358)(UK, uncharted)(US 11/1960)* rare gem
22 Twelfth Street Rag – Bert Weedon (JAR 360)(UK and US, uncharted)
23 My Empty Room – Little Anthony & The Imperials (JAR 366)(UK, uncharted)(US 85/1960)* rare gem – same melody as the Platters’ Where and Steve Lawrence’s In Time
24 Nobody Loves Me Like You – Flamingos (JAR 366)(UK, uncharted)(US 30/1960)* rare gem
25 Step By Step – Crests (JAR 372)(UK, uncharted)(US 14/1960)* rare gem

Disc 2:
01 All My Front Door – Dee Clark (JAR 373)(UK, uncharted)(US 56/1960)
02 Burning Bridges – Jack Scott (JAR 375)(UK 32/1960)(US 3/1960)
03 Clap Your Hands – The Beau-Marks (JAR 377)(UK, uncharted)(US 45/1960)
04 Another Sleepless Night – Jimmy Clanton (JAR 382)(UK, uncharted)(US 22/1960)
05 Barbara – The Temptations (JAR 384)(UK and US, uncharted)
06 Mule Skinner Blues – The Fendermen (JAR 395)(UK 32/1960)(US 5/1960)* rare gem
07 Born To Be With You – The Echoes (JAR 399)(UK, uncharted)(US 101/1960)* rare gem – Bonnie Guitar (vocal) and Don Robertson (vocal and whistling)
08 Alley Oop – Dante & The Evergreens (JAR 402)(UK, uncharted)(US 15/1960)* rare gem
09 Please Help Me I’m Falling – The Brook Brothers (JAR 409)(UK and US, uncharted)
10 Bongo Bongo Bongo – Preston Epps (JAR 413)(UK, uncharted)(US 78/1960)* rare gem
11 Apache – Bert Weedon (JAR 415)(UK 24/1960)(US, uncharted)
12 Walk, Don’t Run – The Ventures (JAR 417)(UK 8/1960)(US 2/1960)
13 Tell Laura I Love Her – John Leyton (JAR 426)(UK and US, uncharted)
14 Green Jeans – The Fabulous Flee-Rekkers (JAR 431)(UK 23/1960)(US uncharted)* rare gem – UK male instrumental group
15 Top Teen Baby – Garry Mills (JAR 500)(UK 24/1960)(US, uncharted)* rare gem
16 In The Still Of The Night – Dion & The Belmonts (JAR 503)(UK, uncharted)(US 38/1960)
17 The Happiest Man Alive – David Gates (JAR 504)(UK and US, uncharted)* rare gem
18 Over The Rainbow – The Dimensions (JAR 505)(UK and US, uncharted)
19 Honest I Do – The Innocents (JAR 508)(UK, uncharted)(US 28/1960)* rare gem
20 Twistin’ U.S.A. – Danny and the Juniors (JAR 510)(UK, uncharted)(US 27/1960)
21 Don’t You Just Know It – The Fendermen (JAR 513)(UK, uncharted)(US 110/1960)* rare gem
22 Lonely Teenager – Dion (JAR 521)(UK 47/1961)(US 12/1960)
23 Stay – Maurice Williams & The Zodiacs (JAR 526)(UK 14/1961)(US 1/1960)
24 New Orleans – Gary (U.S.) Bonds (JAR 527)(UK 16/1961)(US 6/1960)
25 He Will Break Your Heart – Jerry Butler (JAR 531)(UK, uncharted)(US 7/1960)

FINAL THOUGHTS:

The sound is clean and generally well remastered. I personally have purchased British Hit Parade 1960 and 1961, which contained every charted a side singles that entered the UK chart during those 2 years. I am glad to find that in this current The Top Rank Story, many rare songs have not charted, thus a welcome new addition to my library. There are 2 other Top Rank Story volumes on 1961 and 1962 (my reviews elsewhere).

The label is One Day Music, a re-issue label from UK, also has over 100 similar releases on various labels, such as The Pye International Story (2 CDs)(reviewed elsewhere), Rave On: the Coral Story (2 CDs) and Oh Boy: the Brunswick Story (2 CDs)…these are the popular labels (Top Rank, Pye, Coral and Brunswick) from the 60s.

This set is an enjoyable listening experience. But for collectors like myself, this set is like a goldmine with lots of rare gems and is recommended.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2013
I have one or two tracks on this and the sister albums covering the years of 1959 & 1961 respectively but there are so many that I missed and, of course, its quite handy having them all packaged together on two Cds.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2013
This is a great series of classic tracks from this great record label. The series is well produced and includes so many well known and slighlty less well known titles. Shall look out for other labels in this series
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2012
The Top Rank record label was short lived,but brought some great artistes to the British record buyers attention. Also,it helped Joe Meek to cut his teeth,recording wise.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2013
I bought this product for my father, he seems very satisfied with itt and thats the most I can say about it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2013
still brings back my young days, you dont know the good music until its gone, these C Ds bring it all back.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2016
MANY FAIRLY OBSCURE TRACKS HERE-THE BRITISH COVER VERSIONS ARE INVARIABLY INFERIOR TO THE U.S. ORIGINALS
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)