Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A deeply immersive album
Fans of Interpol will find much to like here. Banks' familiar vocals are really the signature of the band and he is in great voice here. There are mid-tempo shuffles like "Over my shoulder" which explores sixties influences with a poppy beat and more melancholy tracks such as "Arise Awake" The predominant sound though is that of the big production numbers such as "I'll...
Published on 22 Oct. 2012 by Big Jim

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No surprises here
Compared to the Julian Plenti album, this one is much more mainstream and conventional, obviously aiming at a wider audience. To my ears, it is what "Interpol" would have sounded like if they had opted for mass appeal (which fortunately they didn't). Where "Julian Plenti is... skyscraper" was innovative and filled with bold approaches and complex arrangements, "Banks" is...
Published on 8 Nov. 2012 by Christos Theofilogiannakos


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A deeply immersive album, 22 Oct. 2012
By 
Big Jim "Big Jim" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Banks (Audio CD)
Fans of Interpol will find much to like here. Banks' familiar vocals are really the signature of the band and he is in great voice here. There are mid-tempo shuffles like "Over my shoulder" which explores sixties influences with a poppy beat and more melancholy tracks such as "Arise Awake" The predominant sound though is that of the big production numbers such as "I'll sue you" and "Paid for that" which as you can imagine from the titles are quite angry tracks. All in all then a very worthy album which may be it's slight achilles heel in that the album doesn't have a killer track that leaps out at you straight away. It is a stereotypical "grower" and once you have listened to it more than a couple of times its delights become apparent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No surprises here, 8 Nov. 2012
By 
Christos Theofilogiannakos (Tripoli, Greece) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Banks (Audio CD)
Compared to the Julian Plenti album, this one is much more mainstream and conventional, obviously aiming at a wider audience. To my ears, it is what "Interpol" would have sounded like if they had opted for mass appeal (which fortunately they didn't). Where "Julian Plenti is... skyscraper" was innovative and filled with bold approaches and complex arrangements, "Banks" is filled with predictably structured pop songs with the usual easily remembered choruses and the dramatic culminations of previous Interpol songs. What is lacking though is the spirit of breaking new ground or the fertile experimentation one expects from the solo album from the leading figure of what is already a very successful and important band.

Having said that, "Banks" is a very pleasant album that grows on you with some almost great moments like "no mistakes" (great layered synths) and "paid for that" and I kind of like "lisbon" which almost everyone seems to consider a weak point. It's just that most songs could easily fit in a (weak) Interpol album, so what's the point of a solo release? Maybe these were ideas rejected by the rest of the band or the first indication of an impending break-up following departure of Carlos D?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars you can bank on this being a good listen, 12 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Banks (Audio CD)
Paul Banks shows his genius.

this album will just grow & grow on you. dont expect to listen to anthing interpol on this LP

Quirky, beautiful ,catchy, Stylish, and that makes for a very different cocktail indeed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tremendous, 5 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Paul Banks surpassed himself with this record. I am a big Interpol fan and this album sits highly along side their them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars yes i like it, 22 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Banks (Audio CD)
paul banks voice makes interpol for me and this has filled a space left over since "our love to admire"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Well worth a listen, 15 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Banks (MP3 Download)
If you like Interpol, this isn't too far away from that style, but with it's own personality. No real killer track, but overall a solid set & a quality addition to my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interpolite, 14 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Banks (Audio CD)
Pretty good and it does grow on you,but for me it is let down by the two instrumentals.
Two more quality tracks instead and I would have given it 5 stars.
Quite similar to Interpol although I cant help feeling that as with other artists solo efforts, it would have been better with the rest of the band on board sharing and suggesting ideas.That said, there is no doubt Paul Banks is a quality song writer.
The sound quality is not that bad, although as usual mastered way too loud, but some attempt at preserving dynamic range has been made which does reduce ear fatigue a bit...Some other recent and not so recent cd`s have far worse sound,like the Killers and Coldplay for example.
Banks will do for now until Interpol get back in the studio.(if they ever do of course!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I really enjoy this album, 23 Nov. 2014
By 
Frank Bozic Jr. (brazil) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Banks (Audio CD)
I really enjoy this album, eventhough I bought it a little late, but it is ok, I like the songs and Banks could explore other ways with style as ever! Nice album!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure genius from Paul Banks, 23 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Banks (Audio CD)
After Paul's alter-ego album, Julian Plenti Is...Skyscraper, we don't have a radical change of musical direction from Paul, which is a good thing. His style and voice are what makes him unique and a true creative individual. Comments by another reviewer suggesting Carlos D was the reluctant bassist, most talented member and implied musical genius behind Interpol are glib and totally unnecessary. Interpol didn't break when Dengler left.

We are here to review 'Banks'.

These ten tracks have surpassed my expectations and will fill the void very nicely while Interpol are on their hiatus. Paul seems to be in a good place at the moment and I'm sure these energetic and uplifting songs reflect that state of mind. 'The Base' is an excellent upbeat opener and paves the way for more superb tracks. Standouts are 'I'll Sue You', the spooky 'Paid For That', 'No Mistakes' and the closing 'Summertime Is Coming'. Every track on 'Banks' has something special to offer the listener (if you want it) and shows the scope of Paul's musical creativity and influences.

Well done Paul, you've made a brilliant album that I'm sure I'll still be listening to and enjoying for years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very fine record, 18 Jan. 2013
By 
Irie (Prague, CZ, Europe) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Banks (Audio CD)
This is an absolutely great record. Paul is a gifted musician big time! There's also one more cd released by him under his moniker, kind of an alter ego, Julian Plenti and I consider that to be less dynamic, still worth listening, though. Whereas this one has its own special power, plenty of 'layers' etc. I am fully satisfied so far. Listen and you'll see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Banks
Banks by Paul Banks
Buy MP3 Album£7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews