Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Cult Series!
Superb series featuring 3 British comedy greats (John Inman, Josephine Tewson, & Peter Butterworth - also Viviene Johnson). The owner of a chip shop, Neville (John Inman) finds he has a half-sister he never knew about (Josephine Tewson - in real life Inman's cousin) and half ownership of a rock candy factory. He sells his chip shop to pay the banks 30,000 pounds so they...
Published on 15 Feb. 2013 by Philip Roberts

› See more 5 star, 4 star reviews
versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too much the odd man out for me
I bought this after buying all of the Are You Being Served series which I really enjoyed. This offering wasn't up to that standard - the humour was much more contrived and although I like John Inman II don't think I'd have bought any more if there had been any more series. It was ok to while a away a rainy evening and it raised a smile or two but I much preferred Are...
Published 11 months ago by Nannie dragon

› See more 3 star, 2 star, 1 star reviews

‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too much the odd man out for me, 1 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Odd Man Out - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this after buying all of the Are You Being Served series which I really enjoyed. This offering wasn't up to that standard - the humour was much more contrived and although I like John Inman II don't think I'd have bought any more if there had been any more series. It was ok to while a away a rainy evening and it raised a smile or two but I much preferred Are You Being Served.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Cult Series!, 15 Feb. 2013
By 
Philip Roberts (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Odd Man Out - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Superb series featuring 3 British comedy greats (John Inman, Josephine Tewson, & Peter Butterworth - also Viviene Johnson). The owner of a chip shop, Neville (John Inman) finds he has a half-sister he never knew about (Josephine Tewson - in real life Inman's cousin) and half ownership of a rock candy factory. He sells his chip shop to pay the banks 30,000 pounds so they won't forclose, only to find they have no sugar and owe the seller another thousand pounds, so they cannot make any rock candy to sell. Written by Vince Powell (writer/co-writer of many great ITV comedies), this show does not diappoint. If you love John Inman in anything, you will love this show. Add Peter Butterworth, Josephine Tewson, and Viviene Johnson and how could you resist this great sitcom. Sadly only 7 episodes were made -- but this is so often the case with UK sitcoms.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than I expected!, 4 May 2013
By 
Anubis (Melbourne, VIC Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Odd Man Out - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Despite what some other reviewers say, I think that this is a very enjoyable series.

It's not for everyone, but I suppose that everyone doesn't like the late John Inman.

But if you are an Inman fan, you will get a good chuckle out of it, as I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A chip off the old block!, 22 April 2013
By 
S. A. Bollongino "Bookaholic" (Berlin, Germany) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Odd Man Out - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Seven delightfully funny and cheesy episodes with a fair amount of slapstick comedy starring John Inman supported by Josephine Tewson and Peter Butterworth.

The stories are well crafted, the scripts cheesy and fun and there are a good few "Carry On" moments with just the right amount of slapstick comedy. I was genuinely surprised at how much enjoyment this series gave the family. John Inman's "Good Night" scene after the credits was a nice touch.

Seven top quality episodes for a good price, snap this up today as it is a true TV classic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars odd man out, 17 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Odd Man Out - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
what a laugh forgot how good this was. takes me back to the good old days. cant beat the good old comedy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great fun, 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Odd Man Out - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
fun series great for kicking back and laughing. i watched most of it in one setting. great for watching after a hard day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars John Inman at his best, enough said, 20 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Odd Man Out - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
John Inman at his best, enough said. Complimented perfectly by Josephine Tewson. The only downside is only the one series. A must have for any fan of Inman, Tewson or great English TV shows.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very funny dvd, 22 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Odd Man Out - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
I love John Inman.I remember watching him from Are You Being Served. A very talented, funny man. A great dvd!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars I love the old stuff from my childhood and thought I ..., 22 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Odd Man Out - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
I love the old stuff from my childhood and thought I may like this although can't remember it
It is dreadful ! Not John Inmans finest hour !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Smutty un funny jokes dated sit com, 16 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Odd Man Out - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Smutty un funny jokes dated sit com, l like john inman just not funny could, nt bother watching all of them,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)
     complete series opens new browser window
  www.videocollection.com/   -   DVD & BluRay at Video Collection. British, PBS, TV, Classics & More!

This product

Odd Man Out - The Complete Series [DVD]
Odd Man Out - The Complete Series [DVD] by Anthony Parker (DVD - 2013)
£6.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
     
 
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
The Wackers - The Complete Series [DVD]
The Wackers - The Complete Series [DVD] by Ken Jones (DVD - 2013)
4.9 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (14)   
Buy new£6.75
In stock

Are You Being Served Again: The Complete Series [DVD] [1992] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
3.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (33)   
Buy new£13.22
In stock

Lucky Feller [DVD]
Lucky Feller [DVD] by David Jason (DVD - 2014)
4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (30)   
Buy new£10.25
In stock