Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lili - enduingly sweet
Leslie Caron is the stranded young woman alone in France. A chance meeting with a slick magician from the visiting circus enthralls her and she follows him finding employment in a puppet show. As she becomes mesmerised with the caddish magician she is blind to the real love the puppet master has for her.

So delightfully lovely - full of pathos in the puppet...
Published on 23 Sep 2009 by R. B. Duenas Leon

versus
12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Overall disappointng video transfer
As far as the quality of this film's content, it is excellent. It is well-produced, well-acted by an excellent cast with a wonderfully touching story. However, the video quality of this DVD release is quite poor. I cannot say with assurance if it was transferred from video tape, however I would feel confident in saying that it was not digitally remastered from film, as...
Published on 19 Mar 2011 by PaulB_30


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Overall disappointng video transfer, 19 Mar 2011
This review is from: Lili [Spanish Import] (DVD)
As far as the quality of this film's content, it is excellent. It is well-produced, well-acted by an excellent cast with a wonderfully touching story. However, the video quality of this DVD release is quite poor. I cannot say with assurance if it was transferred from video tape, however I would feel confident in saying that it was not digitally remastered from film, as the image lacks the crispness one usually expects from DVD.

The colour is very inconsistent, vacillating from over-saturated (often to the point of bleeding) to somewhat washed out (aberrations quite common to old dubbed video tapes), sometimes doing so in the same scene. It is interesting that the authentic Turner-MGM/UA VHS release is of similar quality as far as the variations in colour (even changing hue in the same scenes as on the DVD), although there is very little, if any, over-saturation on the tape version.

Sadly, this is another great movie that has not been released on DVD in with the quality it deserves. As there is nothing on the packaging that indicates any connection to the studio that actually produced the film, it reminds me of the reproductions of public domain material one might find on DVD at the local bargain store (although the cover artwork is of a better quality) and, in my opinion, at £19.84 this item is severely over-priced. Overall, a big disappointment. Unless you are desperate to own this title on DVD, regardless of the video quality, I would recommend that you save your money. I wish I had.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lili - enduingly sweet, 23 Sep 2009
By 
R. B. Duenas Leon "Warrior Queen" (Buckinghamshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lili (VHS) (1953) (VHS Tape)
Leslie Caron is the stranded young woman alone in France. A chance meeting with a slick magician from the visiting circus enthralls her and she follows him finding employment in a puppet show. As she becomes mesmerised with the caddish magician she is blind to the real love the puppet master has for her.

So delightfully lovely - full of pathos in the puppet characters. Leslie Caron is well-suited to the childlike yet maturing Lily - wide-eyed and conscious at the same time.

A story about growing up, courage and the risk that is love. Watch it with your children!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wheres the restored DVD, 24 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lili (VHS) (1953) (VHS Tape)
Lili is a minor Classic that will bring a tear to the eye of anyone capable of emotion, So why no DVD restoration?

Update on Lili now have the WB Archive Collection version. Picture and sound are very good, but doubt that its had a restoration. The DVD also seems to be region free so added bonus. What a wonderful film. WOW.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hidden treasure, 21 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lili (DVD)
A beautiful musical so well acted. Mel Ferrer is adorable and Leslie Caron is endearing. a personal favourite. It is amazing this musical isn't more well known as it should be up there as one of the top MGM musicals
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enchanting!, 24 May 2011
By 
Articulate Mrs J. Cox (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lili [Spanish Import] (DVD)
I am over the moon about this. I noted other people's comments with regard to the colour, but didn't find it a problem on my copy. The only slight difficulty I did have was to try to get to the English translation. It took a few goes as my Spanish is rusty but, once there, it was all worth it. The proof is in the delight it gave to my 3-year old granddaughter who was as entranced as I was at her age. The entire time she was with me, she kept asking for 'Lili again' and even learned to sing the song. Magic and timeless!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The film was as good as I remember it when first released as a ..., 13 Aug 2014
By 
MACAVITY (Stirling, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lili (DVD)
The film was as good as I remember it when first released as a film long ago. Very well acted.
Paul Gallico's stories are marvellously told and suitable for all ages.
HOWEVER, this version was produced for a Spanish market, and the seller should tell all UK purchasers which Spanish buttons to press to get the original English soundtrack. Without that information, and not speaking Spanish myself, it was all Double Dutch until I subsequently obtained this information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, 10 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lili (DVD)
As it's a Spanish version of the movie, I am having trouble translating it into English. I keep trying without success. Unfortunately I don't speak/understand Spanish. There seem to be six options to translate and three just don't 'work' at all! The other three are all in Spanish. I will keep trying but for the very first time in my dealing with Amazon I am disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A happy experience, 20 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lili [DVD] [1953] [NTSC] (DVD)
Dated of course, but everything I remember from when I saw it in the cinema all those years ago. This version is a clean copy, both in vision and sound. Having burbled on about it for ages to my wife, a very discerning film lover, I am relieved to say she thorougly enjoyed it. "Hi Lili Hi Lo" is the only song and some of the acting etc is stilted and the costumes laughable, but just lose yourself in whimsy for an hour or so - I bet you go "ah" at the end!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 17 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lili (DVD)
been looking for this for my mother for ages she had it on video recorded from tv many years ago. she loves it thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lili, 18 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lili (DVD)
A fabulous musical. Really sweet, a great story.

Would recommend to all my girlfriends (not my husband, not enough action)!!

Very good delivery service especially as it came from Spain.

Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lili [DVD] [1953] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
£11.73
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews