Shop now Shop now Shop now Wedding Guest Edit Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars73
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£6.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 January 2013
I love Massive Attack and bought this remix as my original was worn out, scratched, ruined from overuse.

Such high hopes for this disc, it is rubbish. The sound quality even on the DVD hi-res version is compressed, it sounds oppressive, the bass is too forward, the mix is heavier, less light and air. On the CD the same is true except on mine there were some noises that sounded like distortion that just should not have been there at all (my copies were promo's, so maybe the commercial version is different).

I listen through Quad amps and ESL57 speakers, so you can hear this stuff, but everyone on almost any stereo will too. Buy the original, don't nick it, don't iTunes it, get it, hold it, love it but avoid this money making dog rough remix, it's awful.
33 comments|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2013
i realy couldnt tell where the remix is on here, its a fantastic album , which i have loved since the day i first heard it , but theres nothing new you can hear on this version , i got it for the new cover as much as anything
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2011
After 20 years, Blue Lines remains a stunning beauty, and has certainly earned a spot in a 'greatest albums' list. The masterpiece of the album is of course, Unfinished Sympathy. But fear not, there are some other gems on this album as well. Unfinished Sympathy is maybe the best song produced in the awful nineties. No, I'm not a Radiohead fan. Unfortunately, Massive Attack never reached this level of quality again. They made some good stuff with Protection and Mezzanine, although the latter was too prog for me. Last year I saw Massive Attack live and it was a bit of let down.

Maybe they should have stuck to only this album, they would have been immortal by now.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2012
Give this 5 stars as I have always loved this album and the new remaster sounds fantastic.Unfortunately the new packaging leaves a lot to be desired.If that is the best Virgin/EMI could come up with shame on you.Cheap cardboard outer with the cd case inside with single card "booklet".About as good as the recent Beach Boys efforts.Thanks for nothing.
22 comments|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2015
This album that I ordered was initially marked up as unavailable when I first ordered it, so in my infinite wisdom I ordered it again thinking I had ordered it from another company but stupidly I had not and forgot to cancel the first one, so now I have two!! Saying all that now it means I can have one in the house and one in the car. This is a brilliant album and I am a Massive Attack fan so must say as it was purchased to replace the one that was stolen from me a long time ago, I was thrilled to have TWO back in my possession! Great chilling music!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2014
An eclectic mix of scintillating sound is how I would describe this album. The album explores the audio to the full using orchestra as a background for soulful, soothing tunes. Blue Lines was like my relaxation programme in pregnancy and my baby loved it!!! Would definitely recommend this album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2013
The packaging is well done with high quality materials. Inside the classic album by Massive Attack on CD, 180 gr. vinyl and a beautiful DVD Audio with the high definition remastering 96Kh/24bit.
It's a masterpiece. You must have it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2004
Firstly, for those of you who are new to Massive Attack, who may have heard "Unfinished Sympathy" and not a lot else and think that "Blue Lines" is an album that continues in this desperately majestic vein of ambient flamboyance - I suggest you think again.
Chilled out it is - commercial it certainly isn't, but for me that's the beauty of this album - it's one of the genuine trip-hop albums that isn't afraid to be what it is. You won't find it cowering in a halfway house somewhere between commercial big beats and full-scale ambient nonsense noises. This is Trip-hop at its best! The sort of stuff that you'd chill out to after a massive rave, when you're experiencing that coldness and realizing that you'll never be able to get back the night before and the love you felt.
If you're a fan of the genre you must buy it! However, if you're expecting something of a pre-cursor to Chicane's "Far From The Madding Crowd" you will be disappointed!
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 1 December 2008
Should i ever be asked to name the album i consider to be the most influential in the history of music( given that i have,nt heard every album in the history of music) i would plump for Massive Attacks 1991 debut album Blue Lines. Trip hop years before the term became synonymous with ....well anything , it triggered a shift in dance and electronic music to what the music critic Simon Reynolds called "a more meditational sound " running ( or maybe loping ) at lower tempo,s .
The band merged black music influences like hip -hop , reggae and soul but allied them to the more ambitious prog aspects of bands like Pink Floyd and King Crimson( without the middle class patina) and the savvy dub tones of Public Image. The music is infused with an empirical funkiness but is also emotionally charged .It combines the thrill and life of dance music with the visceral gut wrenching power of great pop or rock music .Jesus, no wonder Blue Lines is so revered.
Several tracks are illuminated by the sky-scraping vocals of Shara Nelson( who gives a lesson in how to sing big ballads that your Mariah,s Leona,s and Celines should be taking notice off .Incidentally her debut solo album is well worth investigating too) Most notable amongst these is the incredible "Unfinished Sympathy" -frequently gushed about as one of the best songs of all time , mainly because it is one of the best songs of all time. With it,s iconic video of Shara Nelson wandering through the streets of L.A. and the sampled "Hey , hey, hey" of the Mahavishnu Orchestra, this is one of those precious songs that straddles genre specifics effortlessly.It,s a smooth laidback dance track sure but it has the inexorable emotional pull of any great piece of pop, rock or classical music. It remains one of the most timeless and wondrous five minutes in music history.
Not that this song is the only moment of brilliance on Blue Lines. The grumbling bass line that underpins another Nelson vocal on "Safe From Harm" , the dub influenced paranoid beats of "Five Man Army " , the gliding soulful tones of "Be Thankful For What You Got" ,the cleverly arranged rapping on the title track ( featuring Tricky ) the glorious "Daydreaming" " ( Shara Nelson again ) or the hypnotic aptly circuitous Hymn Of The Big Wheel " ( featuring Horace Andy who also guests on "One Love") -all these songs contribute hugely to a influential cohesive work impeccably arranged by Neneh Cherry who is also acknowledged by the band as being a major driving force behind the recording .
Is it possible to overstate how important this album was in developing a new direction for dance music and melding together a new collage of sounds? Probably not. Even putting that aside though Blue Lines is an incredible album , even more so given that it is Massive Attacks debut. It oozes confidence , class and almost effortless talent . Astonishingly they were to match it withProtection . It,s no wonder Blue Lines appears regularly in those greatest albums of all time lists. Most pertinently , unlike a lot of albums in those lists, it fully merits it,s place.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2015
Perfect! Music is highly subjective, so there is no point in writing a review for the actual music. If you like the music of Massive Attach, this is an album that you'll surely appreciate.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.99
£5.99
£4.99
£6.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)