Customer Reviews


81 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (19)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspired
This album contains songs I've never heard as well as a few I do know. I love songs from the early 20th century especially the 1940's and this double album is rammed full of inspiration, I love it and I'm sure you will too.
Published on 16 Nov. 2012 by hotlegs

versus
31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Caveat Emptor, but some good stuff
I think it's a bit of a sneaky marketing trick to market this as "Caro Emerald presents" , and obviously a lot of people haven't read the small print. Perhaps "Grand Momo presents the Tracks that inspired Caro Emerald" would have been a more honest title.

Still, it's not a bad collection; ranging from 1931 Boswell Sisters to 1972 Eartha Kitt via all sorts of...
Published on 25 Oct. 2012 by Unca Wee


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Caveat Emptor, but some good stuff, 25 Oct. 2012
By 
Unca Wee (The Kingdom of Northumbria) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I think it's a bit of a sneaky marketing trick to market this as "Caro Emerald presents" , and obviously a lot of people haven't read the small print. Perhaps "Grand Momo presents the Tracks that inspired Caro Emerald" would have been a more honest title.

Still, it's not a bad collection; ranging from 1931 Boswell Sisters to 1972 Eartha Kitt via all sorts of mostly good stuff,some of which was new to me. There is a cover version of "Dream a Little Dream" by Caro Emerald herself, too.

Most buyers will have at least some of these tracks in their collection, but it would have been nice to have been told/shown how they fit in to Caro's output. As it is, the rather prosy sleeve notes don't really do a lot to explain the influences and developments that led to "Deleted Scenes from the Cutting Room Floor" and the music is sorted onto the discs neither by period or genre, so it hops around a bit, historically and stylistically.

Annoyingly, too, a few pennies have been save by not bothering to encrypt the discs so that they tell you what is playing or the artist; you only get a track number, which is irritating if driving, which is where I do most of my listening.
I will give the collection 3 stars, but I feel that Grand Momo have lost some friends by not taking the time or trouble to produce what could have been a good accompanying CD to "Deleted scenes"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspired, 16 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This album contains songs I've never heard as well as a few I do know. I love songs from the early 20th century especially the 1940's and this double album is rammed full of inspiration, I love it and I'm sure you will too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab easy listening, 8 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this thinking it was Carla singing, but it is songs that influenced her. I was not at all disappointed like some of the other reviews. This is a fab CD my husband and 16 year old love it and have played it non stop. It is a lovely cd to put on in the evening sitting by the fire with a glass of wine, relaxed and cool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but not Caro, 25 Oct. 2012
When I got an email from Amazon inviting me to pre-order Caro Emerald's new release, I immediately clicked and purchased. Like everyone else, I didn't realise it wasn't Caro's new cd but a compilation of lovely, very jazzy music. Great tunes but not Caro Emerald. Yes, in part, my fault, but naughty marketing on Amazon's behalf!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Long Awaited - Disappointed, 12 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I pre-ordered the album as Caro's last album/dvd was absolutely amazing. I became a "fan". This was to be one of those "Christmas comes early" presents. I should have read the write-up on it more carefully as the tracks are what influenced Caro's singing - all good tracks but not what I expected. Disappointing for me (probably not for others) as I had believed that she would be singing these 'oldies but goodies' in her own inimitable style. I've played it a couple of times but it's going to be one of those albums which will sit on a shelf. Hopefully Caro will record another album some time soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Caro Emerald Presents, 24 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Had imagined that Caro would be singing these songs with the original artists in their style - as other artists have done with vintage singers such as Sinatra, Elvis, etc. on other albums. After a few years since her last excellent album it felt time for something great from Caro. Eagerly awaited the delivery on pre order, now somewhat disappointed. Shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely wonderful!, 24 Dec. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A fantastic collection of tunes. Anyone who likes Caro Emerald will love this collection. Could listen to it all day!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Caro Emerald, 19 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Nice to know the influences that have shaped this singer. Hope she releases an original track recording soon as she has a good voice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I blame myself, 17 Nov. 2012
By 
Steve Evans (Solihull, West Midlands United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved "Deleted Scenes" and was probably a bit too keen to buy the follow up, so I didn't realise that this isn't a follow up - it's a compilation of songs from the era that inspired that album.

Of it's type, it's not bad, but had I been a bit more diligent and realised that, I wouldn't have bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not quite what I expected!, 17 Nov. 2012
By 
A. Bardwell "Landy" (Luton, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Caro Emerald has produced some brilliant music and I must admit to pre-ordering her latest CD as soon as I knew about it, without really finding out what the new CD would contain. I was surprised to find only one track performed by Caro the rest being a collection of fairly old original performances of a range of music types including big band names such as Jerry Dorsey. Caro says these were the tunes that inspired her music and that may be so but I thought I was buying something she had composed and performed or maybe her interpretations of old classics.
There is nothing wrong with the collection of tracks as such but it is not Caro performing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews