Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
21
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
15
4 star
6
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 October 2012
Ukrainian-born YouTube diva Valentina Lisitsa demonstrates in this, the first release of her digital "Rachmaninoff Project", that she has the character, authority and technique to take her place as a major talent among today's concert pianists.

This is a fresh, vibrant Rachmaninoff with an elegant, flexible line which sings in long rubato phrases where the piano seems to float miraculously over the beat without ever taking liberties with it. The pulsating, brisk tempo of the opening provides an energy that is echoed throughout, driving the music forward rather than pulling it back: grand without being paralysed by its own grandeur.

The second movement shows the LSO strings playing with exceptional sweetness in their exchange of the long singing theme with Lisitsa's tender, lyrical phrasing. The cadenza and the magical coda are played with great clarity and moving sentiment.

This great clarity, the product of a cast-iron technique and a functioning musical brain, is especially evident in the third movement with its virtuoso runs and almost continually busy, chattering piano accompaniment. This is glittering, at times icy playing, an exciting (and necessary) contrast to the almost excessive romanticism of the big tunes. The finale breaks through like a river in flood - all the glitter swept away in the passionate, headlong rush.

The LSO under the young conductor Michael Francis - not long ago, a double bass player with the same orchestra - are clearly in tune with Lisitsa's vision of the concerto, based, she says, on Rachmaninoff's own playing which she sees as more aristocratic and refined than the thunderously portentous perfomances this repertoire sometimes attracts. There is an excellent rapport with the orchestra, and you'd think they had been performing with Lisitsa for years rather than meeting for the first time in the studio.

This is an absolute steal at the price, for a digital recording. Can't wait to hear what she does with the other, even more musically demanding, concertos in the "project".
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2014
First time i've heard Piano concerto No.2 by Valentina Lisitsa.
Very good indeed but i still prefer Maria Joao Pires's version, because it's more intense, robust and passionate.
Great version tho and I would very much like to see Valentina play live...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2012
I first heard, and fell in love with, this piece of music when I was less than 5 years old and, as I am nearly 70 now, I have heard many versions. Since the advent of Cds I have been trying to find a version that had the sparkle and sheer exuberance of the version I grew up with (that no longer being available).I listened to a lot of versions on Amazon and found most of them sounded to me like funeral dirges compared to my memories of the piece.
Finally,today, I found this version whilst looking for MP3s on the Kindle Fire (on which it sounds wonderful incidentally). AT LAST! - someone who plays with a truly assured touch without being ponderous and heavy handed. This has to be Rachmaninov at its' very best - by the end it leaves you breathless and elated.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2012
Valentina Lisitsa is without doubt a wonderful pianist. She appears to have an infinity with Rachmaninov's piano music. It is a pleasure just sitting back and listening to her play this Concerto No.2. I can thoroughly recommend this recording.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2012
It's so easy for this great warhorse of a concerto to fade into hackneyed musical wallpaper for jaded ears, but Valentina Lisitsa's delightful and convincing performance really refreshes one's passion for it. Rachmaninov loyalists will want to add this version to their collections. For those with any hesitation, the current price of the MP3 download makes it an outright steal.

Valentina recently gave a live performance of Rach 3, and has all sorts of YouTube clips of the others, so it's just possible (please!) that in the fullness of time she and Decca will be treating us to the 'full five' (Concertos #1- #4 plus Warenberg's piano adaptation of the Second Symphony). You go girl!
44 comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2012
I am a very excited and elated customer indeed. I was blessed by watching Valentina record this as part of her Rachmaninov Project at the Abbey Road Studio with the LSO, conductor Michael Francis, producer Michael Fine. The LSO applauded Valentina and this recording demonstrates why. I once bought Richter's prize winning recording of this great concerto in the 1970s and have waited a long, long time to witness then to purchase such an authentic, new and fresh rendering of this great composition. Congratulations Valentina for doing it such justice and thanks also to Valentina's collaborators for doing her justice as well and giving her fans what they most want - Valentina recordings.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2013
Don't be put off by the blonde bomshell picture on the cover, this is a very good performance, very well recorded. However if, even after buying it, you can discover which orchestra is playing and who is conducting, your'e a better man (or person) than I am. Come on Amazon, not that complaint again! Also, despite the cheapness, there is very small measure on this CD.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 5 March 2015
Very accomplished recording.I love this.There are a few differences between the recordings I have already but it is nice to have a fresh take on this.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2013
Most impressed by this recording, both the quality of the sound and the playing of the pianist on this rendition of Rachmaninov. Very relaxing to listen to and unwind to at the end of a busy day. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2013
Beautiful. I don't have any great knowledge of classical music, so can't say if this is a great interpretation, and bought this mainly because it was the theme to Brief Encounter. But it swept me away!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£0.99
£1.79
£6.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)