Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fresh, vibrant, personal..., 28 Oct 2012
By 
Chris Bourne (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rachmaninov: Piano Concerto No.2 (MP3 Download)
Ukrainian-born YouTube diva Valentina Lisitsa demonstrates in this, the first release of her digital "Rachmaninoff Project", that she has the character, authority and technique to take her place as a major talent among today's concert pianists.

This is a fresh, vibrant Rachmaninoff with an elegant, flexible line which sings in long rubato phrases where the piano seems to float miraculously over the beat without ever taking liberties with it. The pulsating, brisk tempo of the opening provides an energy that is echoed throughout, driving the music forward rather than pulling it back: grand without being paralysed by its own grandeur.

The second movement shows the LSO strings playing with exceptional sweetness in their exchange of the long singing theme with Lisitsa's tender, lyrical phrasing. The cadenza and the magical coda are played with great clarity and moving sentiment.

This great clarity, the product of a cast-iron technique and a functioning musical brain, is especially evident in the third movement with its virtuoso runs and almost continually busy, chattering piano accompaniment. This is glittering, at times icy playing, an exciting (and necessary) contrast to the almost excessive romanticism of the big tunes. The finale breaks through like a river in flood - all the glitter swept away in the passionate, headlong rush.

The LSO under the young conductor Michael Francis - not long ago, a double bass player with the same orchestra - are clearly in tune with Lisitsa's vision of the concerto, based, she says, on Rachmaninoff's own playing which she sees as more aristocratic and refined than the thunderously portentous perfomances this repertoire sometimes attracts. There is an excellent rapport with the orchestra, and you'd think they had been performing with Lisitsa for years rather than meeting for the first time in the studio.

This is an absolute steal at the price, for a digital recording. Can't wait to hear what she does with the other, even more musically demanding, concertos in the "project".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rachmaninov: Piano Concerto No.2 Valentina Lisitsa, 16 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rachmaninov: Piano Concerto No.2 (MP3 Download)
A beautiful piece of music played with real passion and understanding. Breathtaking! Listen with the volume up or headphones on ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a discovery, 18 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rachmaninov: Piano Concerto No.2 (MP3 Download)
Inspiring for running. I am now up to 9km but listen to it a couple of times on the way around the route!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Leaves you breathless and elated!, 30 Dec 2012
By 
CRHI (Birmingham, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rachmaninov: Piano Concerto No.2 (MP3 Download)
I first heard, and fell in love with, this piece of music when I was less than 5 years old and, as I am nearly 70 now, I have heard many versions. Since the advent of Cds I have been trying to find a version that had the sparkle and sheer exuberance of the version I grew up with (that no longer being available).I listened to a lot of versions on Amazon and found most of them sounded to me like funeral dirges compared to my memories of the piece.
Finally,today, I found this version whilst looking for MP3s on the Kindle Fire (on which it sounds wonderful incidentally). AT LAST! - someone who plays with a truly assured touch without being ponderous and heavy handed. This has to be Rachmaninov at its' very best - by the end it leaves you breathless and elated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beloved concerto - virtuoso performance, 19 Dec 2012
By 
Mr. Cornelius L. Donovan (Kent UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rachmaninov: Piano Concerto No.2 (MP3 Download)
Favourite music for many: people this performance is outstanding. Rachmaninov must be delighted to hear his concerto played so exquisitely
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Powerful Performance, 16 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rachmaninov: Piano Concerto No.2 (MP3 Download)
Valentina Lisitsa is without doubt a wonderful pianist. She appears to have an infinity with Rachmaninov's piano music. It is a pleasure just sitting back and listening to her play this Concerto No.2. I can thoroughly recommend this recording.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A stunning recording., 23 Oct 2012
This review is from: Rachmaninov: Piano Concerto No.2 (MP3 Download)
I am a very excited and elated customer indeed. I was blessed by watching Valentina record this as part of her Rachmaninov Project at the Abbey Road Studio with the LSO, conductor Michael Francis, producer Michael Fine. The LSO applauded Valentina and this recording demonstrates why. I once bought Richter's prize winning recording of this great concerto in the 1970s and have waited a long, long time to witness then to purchase such an authentic, new and fresh rendering of this great composition. Congratulations Valentina for doing it such justice and thanks also to Valentina's collaborators for doing her justice as well and giving her fans what they most want - Valentina recordings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Musical bargain of the year?, 8 Nov 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rachmaninov: Piano Concerto No.2 (MP3 Download)
It's so easy for this great warhorse of a concerto to fade into hackneyed musical wallpaper for jaded ears, but Valentina Lisitsa's delightful and convincing performance really refreshes one's passion for it. Rachmaninov loyalists will want to add this version to their collections. For those with any hesitation, the current price of the MP3 download makes it an outright steal.

Valentina recently gave a live performance of Rach 3, and has all sorts of YouTube clips of the others, so it's just possible (please!) that in the fullness of time she and Decca will be treating us to the 'full five' (Concertos #1- #4 plus Warenberg's piano adaptation of the Second Symphony). You go girl!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT, 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rachmaninov: Piano Concerto No.2 (MP3 Download)
I chose this rating mainly because I love Rachmaninov and it has to be excellent.

I would recommend to anyone whose taste is classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How can anyone play this?, 15 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rachmaninov: Piano Concerto No.2 (MP3 Download)
An inspirational piece of music, whoever plays it, but this is a particularly good recording. Definitely worth £1.99 of anyone's money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rachmaninov: Piano Concerto No.2
Rachmaninov: Piano Concerto No.2 by London Symphony Orchestra and Michael Francis and Valentina Lisitsa
Buy MP3 Album£1.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews