Customer Reviews


232 Reviews
5 star:
 (200)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Without Qualification, Flawless the Sequel
A sequel to a wonderful book is inherently at risk. For when it is to be read by a person familiar with the initial experience, part two is almost predestined to be disappointment. Book one has the advantage of introducing all that is new. The final of the three can tie all the experiences together, can bring closure. But the middle event must maintain the reader's...
Published on 27 Jan. 2003 by taking a rest

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars chisillers
out of the 3 books in the sequel this is the one I liked the least. It is the middle one of the three books and I was really disappointed with this one.
Published on 17 April 2012 by daisy-mae


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Without Qualification, Flawless the Sequel, 27 Jan. 2003
By 
taking a rest - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Chisellers (Paperback)
A sequel to a wonderful book is inherently at risk. For when it is to be read by a person familiar with the initial experience, part two is almost predestined to be disappointment. Book one has the advantage of introducing all that is new. The final of the three can tie all the experiences together, can bring closure. But the middle event must maintain the reader's enthusiasm. When the story and its execution are excellent, the reader is enthusiastic for the final event. The last book is not read just to complete the cycle. Happily there are no absolutes, exceptions ensure that there will be pleasant surprises, not all repeated experience need be as expected.

With, "The Chisellers", Mr. Brendan O'Carroll has repeated the brilliance of, "The Mammy", without resorting to repeating himself as a writer, or forcing his characters to remain unchanged. This writer brings all of the people you love in part one and he allows them to evolve as a person would in their own life. The mood of this book is different, but is also a natural progression. The Browne Clan is getting older; adulthood envelops some, while it still awaits the younger children. Agnes too is aging, adapting to the dramatic changes she was forced to cope with in the first book. However as I mentioned when commenting upon, "The Mammy", Mr. O'Carroll tells a wonderful story, which happens to take place with an Irish Family. While it is true this brings with it some detail that may be familiar, the fact that this is an Irish Family is never what drives this book. He never allows his work to cheat and use the easy cliché.

The Author also brings to this wonderful trilogy people that are not Catholic, that are not Irish, and they are not by default the evil players. His story is inclusive; the world he writes about is not a fantasyland where the pains and trials of life are absent. But neither is it a world that when suffering appears, it appears as a certain brand, a certain nationality, a certain group of worn clichés.

And in this second book there is great pain, there is senseless destruction and loss. And while it would be very easy of accusing the Author of being a bit too neat with finding the lining of silver in one cloud too many, it is no more than most tales of Ireland when every cloud contains a granite mountain.

This amazing writer is two for two, and now it remains to be seen if he has the final third of the hat trick within him. For this middle installment is as good as number one, so he has nothing to improve upon, as the first two were uniformly tremendous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, entertaining and kept me entertained throughout., 17 Sept. 2000
This review is from: The Chisellers (Paperback)
This book was great, just like the Mammy Brendan O'Carroll has managed to keep the Browne family saga together and with it kept me entertained so much that I wanted to read the Granny to find out what happens next. When reading about Agnes Browne and her brood I felt a part of it and wanted it never to end - IT WAS GREAT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Chisellers, Brendan O'Carroll, 9 May 2011
This review is from: The Chisellers (Paperback)
Second in the Agnes Browne series, The Chisellers tells us about how Agnes and her family cope with moving to Finglas from the Jarro; how Mark Browne becomes the real 'man of the house' and saves a business from sinking; and how Francis (Frankie) Browne alienates his family and ends up living a life of crime and paying the ultimate price for his addictions.

Another great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars chisillers, 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Chisellers (Paperback)
out of the 3 books in the sequel this is the one I liked the least. It is the middle one of the three books and I was really disappointed with this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Me Mammy, 14 Jun. 2013
By 
Betty Boo "Cal" (Derbyshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Chisellers (Paperback)
Oh my goodness, what a laugh, I couldn't put this down read it over to nights. What can I say, Brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the chusellers, 16 April 2010
By 
Nicky Gleeson (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Chisellers (Paperback)
the book is siply wirtten, so accessable to any age. its semi historical moral tail about importance of family to each member, with some very funny moments for good messure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant book, 9 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Chisellers (Paperback)
brilliant book as good as the Mammy which is brilliant too, funny but sad a great read couldn't put it down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, sorry!, 30 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Chisellers (Paperback)
No where near as good or as funny as The Mammy but still worth purchasing in order to complete the series of books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Chisellers, 10 Jun. 2009
This review is from: The Chisellers (Paperback)
Fantastic book following the story of the Browns. Not just as good as first book - The Mammy but laughs and tears throughout. Could be set in Glasgow as the same sense of humour. My sister saw and heard me laughing that she couldn't wait to read book. She managed to read it on the flight home from tenerife!The Chisellers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another funny read, 26 Jan. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Chisellers (Kindle Edition)
The second in the trilogy of Agnes Browne books and equally as good as the first for me.

Life continues for Mrs Brown and her many children. However this book, although still funny, is a lot more serious as well. A fan of the series this one brings to the fore the differences between the series and the books.

Once again the author manages to create a story which is full of life. Then characters are all vibrant and full of life. The way their lives intertwine is written very well too.

A great addition to the trilogy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Chisellers
The Chisellers by Brendan O'Carroll
£4.79
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews