Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not just a biography
This book has been incredibly interesting and insightful. Understanding GSP's philosophy on dealing with the immense pressures of competition that he has to live with really has been helpful to me, especially his writing on dealing with fear and using it to your advantage. I think the philosophy of martial artists is especially practical and useful as it has to work for...
Published 7 months ago by Mr. A. Zamani-pickford

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A good read overall and insight into the life of my ...
A good read overall and insight into the life of my idol GSP, but will I pick it up again soon, probably not.
Published 1 month ago by WAYNE JOHNSON


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars BEST BOOK IN THE WORLD!, 6 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Way of the Fight (Hardcover)
I'm biased since I'm a huge GSP fan but I genuinely enjoyed the book and believe that people who aren't MMA fans will also take something away from it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 2 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Way of the Fight (Kindle Edition)
Georges is a deep guy and we get to go inside the mind of a super athlete and one of the greatest UFC fighters of all time,very honest and Frank a great read for any fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Training smarter and hard get results, 24 May 2013
By 
K. G. A. Alavi (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Way of the Fight (Hardcover)
This book is not quite what I expected as an autobiography. This is probably less about Georges' personal life then Brock Lesner put in his book Death Clutch: My Story of Determination, Domination, and Survival. However the knowledge Georges tries to impart, from philosophy, to his beliefs, sacrifices and rewards is amazing. I read more like a self-help book then an autobiography.

This is actually a creation manual of how the outsider Georges became one of the greatest marital arts fighters of his generation. He takes Bruce Lee and other philosophiser as his inspiration using philosophy (an idea) as a starting stone, the next step is GSP's interpretation (what he thing the person is trying to convey), then practical examples which he lives every day to achieve his goal. He gives a perfect example of Lee's fighting without fighting method is his job as a bouncer.

Here is an example of GSP's though process. He strives for perfection. He knows it is impossible but, that just make him try harder to achieve it. He states as he is writing this book he wants it to be the best book in its category. Who would say that when they have very little to no writing experience, and English is not their first language? As I was writing this review Amazon printed a label the "No 1 martial arts book in the world". That is what GSP lives for setting goals people think are impossible and achieving them. Then seeking a higher goal for himself.

The book really shines on the mental aspect of martial arts. I say martial arts instead of mixed martial arts (MMA), because of it being mixed MMA inherits the theories from the other Martial arts. What GSP has done is managed to group together the ideas that go together e.g. a boxing jab, with a Muay Thai stance, then karate "rush" to break distance for a wrestling takedown, then control pound or look for a submission. He call this "shootbox" (his amalgamated fighting style not the famous Brazilian gym) a style all his own. He sees "Shootbox" as the interface to all these different arts used in MMA.

The negatives I found about the book are there is very little about other fighters and fights. I would have liked to have more of GSP's though on his own fights he does this a couple of times to point out how he jab paid off in the second Kos fight. This can be explained because GSP truly believed his fights are won in the week and months before the execution is done as his body has been taught to over the gruelling training camp. It would have been nice to hear his views about other fighters, and a fight from his perspective. Then again GSP does not remember his fights straight after them he need to watch them again, then he can recall it move for move. Also I would have like to hear GSP's side of the second Penn fight. Penn and a number of people blatantly accused him if cheating (greasing). I think this would have been a perfect forum for GPS to give his side but he does not even mention it.

GSP is always training the training camps are really just him fine tuning his game plan for his specific opponent, more than a really physical change. A great book that will give, I think, and greater insight into GSP then any autobiography could ever do; extremely insightful look into Martial arts. This is GSP book and like martial arts GSP has taken over every aspect of Georges' life. Read it and you will understand what I mean.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 28 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Way of the Fight (Hardcover)
The book is apparently "awesome" :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 14 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Way of the Fight (Hardcover)
This does stand out as a book for a few reasons.

He shares his view on life and martial arts, how he sees things and how his perceptions have changed, in any biography I feel these moments are priceless.

1. He is an active martial artist - I don't mean actively competing but active that he fights and practices what he preaches so the info coming from a living world champion fighter is a very valuable source of info.
2. He shows his thought patterns/ philosophies on martial arts explaining his stance and views also the views of his instructors/mentors which is also another angle of great insight to have, which is rear to see a martial artist have current/ former coaches explain their views on students,this book brings a great deal of understanding to the martial arts influence in his life has and the sacrifices one has to be prepared to make to progress. Extremely insightful moments describing coping strategies he has held during difficult periods.
3. Explanations of training choices its great to see how this developed.

The best parts for me in this book are his ideas on how to view life and its challenges.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars was a gift, 10 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Way of the Fight (Hardcover)
it was a gift and my girlfriend likes the books as she's a huge gsp fan,arrived on time an was as described
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring, 20 Oct 2013
By 
William K (UK & Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Way of the Fight (Kindle Edition)
having read numerous auto and semi autobiographical accounts of fighters lives this stands out as being a much more intelligent, analytical and inspiring account. Gives great insights into the mind of an athlete. Is a great read whether or not you are a martial artist, but if you are you will get more from it. Some great tips on some of the more technical aspects of sports fighting. No ego which is refreshing and not what you usually get from a lot of fighters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not an autobiography, but good., 11 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Way of the Fight (Hardcover)
This book is different from what i expected, good but different. GSP in my opinion is the most complete martial artist around, maybe not the best, neither is Silva or Jones until a super fight. Anyway great book with interesting for a GSP fan to see how he dealt with the shock loss to Serra, his admiration for Hughes and his 3rd challenge to comeback from a knee injury. If you want to learn more about GSP and what made him who he is today in a philosophical sense then definitely buy, if you're interested in MMA buy and if you don't have a clue about MMA buy, you might be a bit lost but I can ensure you, there is something, big or small, for everyone to take from this book.

I look at one of my idols differently now, better, but different. He was always the complete gentleman and ambassador for a fantastic sport, I was disappointed about some things he didn't talk about, BJ Penn cheating scandal and his relationship with Dana White. Overall great book would advise everyone to buy. Can't fully describe the book, but its a thought out book which has funny and lonely points in the book. Must buy and read in my opinion
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An insight into one of the greatest athletes of a generation, 9 July 2013
By 
John Liot (Jersey, Channel Islands) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Way of the Fight (Hardcover)
So much more than a straight forward biography, this book offers insight into the mental preparation of Georges 'Rush' St. Pierre and also analyse of his fights and fighting technique. A must have for any fan of the UFC, and anyone with the slightest bit of respect for what GSP accomplishes every time he steps into the Octagon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 28 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Way of the Fight (Kindle Edition)
Nice inside view on GSPs life and how he has become the driven, respected and humble person he is today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Way of the Fight
The Way of the Fight by Georges St. Pierre
5.89
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews