Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not just a biography
This book has been incredibly interesting and insightful. Understanding GSP's philosophy on dealing with the immense pressures of competition that he has to live with really has been helpful to me, especially his writing on dealing with fear and using it to your advantage. I think the philosophy of martial artists is especially practical and useful as it has to work for...
Published 11 months ago by Mr. A. Zamani-pickford

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A good read overall and insight into the life of my ...
A good read overall and insight into the life of my idol GSP, but will I pick it up again soon, probably not.
Published 5 months ago by WAYNE JOHNSON


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not just a biography, 3 Jan 2014
By 
Mr. A. Zamani-pickford "A. Zamani" (Brighton, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Way of the Fight (Hardcover)
This book has been incredibly interesting and insightful. Understanding GSP's philosophy on dealing with the immense pressures of competition that he has to live with really has been helpful to me, especially his writing on dealing with fear and using it to your advantage. I think the philosophy of martial artists is especially practical and useful as it has to work for them, and they are facing real dangers when stepping into a fight.

I really believe that GSP's philosophy can be applied to much more than fighting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable read, recommended to all GSP fans, 18 Aug 2014
This review is from: The Way of the Fight (Paperback)
- An enjoyable read, recommended to all GSP fans. Those who would have preferred an autobiography won't be too disappointed.

- I didn't plan on purchasing this book. Like many others, i was hoping to one day own and read the full-fledge autobiography of GSP. The idea of reading a book pertaining to GSP's philosophy on subjects like training and combat were not that appealing to me, especially after having read establish classics in these areas like Miyamoto Musashi's "The Book of Five Rings", Sun Tzu's "The Art of War", Lao Tzu's "Tao Te Ching" and having delved into the plethora of strength and conditioning, physical rehabilitation content, etc available from world renowned experts on these topics.

- Still, it was a pleasant surprise when i received this as a gift. I still learnt a lot about GSP. The book offers unique insight into GSP's upbringing, life and past. It includes accounts from those closest to him, including his mother, John Danaher, Kristof Midoux, Firas Zahabi and Rodolphe Beaulieu whilst pleasantly blending in aspects of GSP's philosophy. The book is of high quality and is aesthetically pleasing.

- To those looking for an alternative or visual companion to book - i recommend watching "Takedown: The DNA of GSP" (2014). Sam Sheridan's "The Fighter's Mind" is an excellent book providing insight to the mind of the fighter if you haven't read that already.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not a typical fighters autobiography, 25 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Way of the Fight (Kindle Edition)
This is not your typical fighters autobiography.....then again GSP is not your typical fighter. It isn't packed full of backstage-rumble rumours and hard luck stories. It is, however, packed with an insight into what makes GSP tick. It is a book about preparation, psychology, philosophy and attitude. Intelligently written this had me gripped from the start
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars outstanding, 25 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Way of the Fight (Kindle Edition)
Not just a book about fighting. Far from it.

If you interested in the things that got GSP where he is today, (goal setting, vision, strategic thinking etc..) this is a great book. If you just want a blow by blow account of each fight you won't like this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A good read overall and insight into the life of my ..., 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Way of the Fight (Hardcover)
A good read overall and insight into the life of my idol GSP, but will I pick it up again soon, probably not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Amateur!, 24 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Way of the Fight (Paperback)
I'm a massive GSP fan and parts of it are good however he is trying too hard to write a book as if he is Bruce Lee...and he's not! I also find the comments from his entourage (coaches, mum, etc) extremely nauseating, written as if GSP is some sort of god...I'd rather read an autobiography from him than his amateur tales of wisdom and ego massage from him friends
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Book that you don't have to grapple with !, 2 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Way of the Fight (Hardcover)
Compelling read, couldn't put it down once i started. Demonstrates a psychology, philosophy and attitude that i if feel is a real winner for everyday life even outside the octagon. Put away those self help books and buy this instead if you have something you wish to achieve !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 14 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Way of the Fight (Hardcover)
I found it very hard to get this book locally so it was a relief when it was so readily available on amazon. Great present for my brother.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, 15 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Way of the Fight (Hardcover)
Georges st pierre is my favorite fighter and I have learned so much from him that he inspired me to take kickboxing and its amazing to read about his life
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome read!, 17 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Way of the Fight (Kindle Edition)
Great book and insight into the life of, who in my opinion is the greatest Mixed Martial Artist on the planet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Way of the Fight
The Way of the Fight by Georges St. Pierre
£4.05
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews