Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Death disguised as love
I have owned and watched several versions of this film. I even have the film script. I would say that the Kino two DVD versions is the best presentation so far. I watched both the English and German versions I find the story depressing but the telling of it and the acting fascinating.

A real added plus is the commentary by German Film Historian Werner...
Published on 21 Sep 2008 by bernie

versus
9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Disappointing DVD (not film) Experience
This review refers specifically to problems with the 'special two disc set' from Eureka! Most reviewers seem to be appraising Sternberg's film, which has been reviewed thousands of times, rather than the product they have (or perhaps haven't) bought from Amazon.co.uk.

I am pleased that the set contains both the German and English versions of the film. However,...
Published 23 months ago by Adam


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent historical production, 25 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The best thing about it is that it comes in two versions. German and English.
So one can really understand the appeal for both countries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fatal attraction, 1 July 2013
By 
Peter Mills (hook, hampshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The story is a well known one of human frailty. The quality of this set is excellent given the age of the production.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Death disguised as love, 31 May 2010
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
I have owned and watched several versions of this film. I even have the film script. I would say that the Kino two DVD versions is the best presentation so far. I watched both the English and German versions I find the story depressing but the telling of it and the acting fascinating.

A real added plus is the commentary by German Film Historian Werner Sedendorf. He brought up information directly relating to the film at the time it was relevant. Then he left some berating room so you could absorb and experience the information. To many commentaries turn into soap-box discussions or rill in slow times with useful information that however is irrelevant to the film at the time. The film has so much hidden death and lost culture that after the commentary you will have to watch it again.

The English version is not really entirely English. Enough English is presented that the German in-between is clear enough to follow the story. However the German version is spoken clear without mumbling and lacks any slang that would force the casual follower to rush for a dictionary.

The basic story is as Federico Garcia Lorca describes in his play, "The butterfly's Evil Spell", death in disguise of love. Prof. Immanuel Rath (Emil Jannings), a person afraid of life, starts out to save his students, who want to embrace life, from a fate worse than death. In the process he meats an entertainer, Lola Lola (Marlene Dietrich). She inadvertently is the instrument of the Professors downfall from grace.

The magic of the film is more in the telling of the story through acting, sound, and symbolism than the story its self.

The Ufa Story: A History of Germany's Greatest Film Company 1918-1945

Blue Angel, The (Class. Film Scripts S)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Weimar Germany in its own eyes, 18 Dec 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was the first film I bought from pre-National Socialist Germany, and it was a treat. It seems surprisingly contemporary, and you can see what this thing about Dietrich was. Today she would be set as a dominatrix, no doubt - but here you can see what inspired the characterisations to come in Cabaret. It is a film with a moral - which we don't often get in today's post-Joseph Campbell pulp churned out by Hollywood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great film, but no booklet..., 18 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this used to replace a lent copy (never lend!), and it arrived without the fabulous Masters of Cinema 48 page booklet. The vendor insisted it had never had a booklet, and MoC have yet to respond to my enquiry about a replacement. So, REALLY annoying, but the film is fine. Five stars for the film; two stars for the experience... so I'm forced to settle at three.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good girls are good, bad girls are better, 1 Aug 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Josef von Sternberg is less early, Marlene Dietrich (Lola-Lola) is very early Dietrich, and The Blue Angel the first Dietrich/Sternberg vehicle. Still came out in Germany in 1930 after Professor Unrat by famous novelist Heinrich Mann. The team should continue in Hollywood. One of the first German sound films, Friedrich Hollaender's Falling in Love Again (Can't Help It) should finally get him around the world and back, Emil Jannings and Hans Albers were major names in Germany at the time.

Having not seen the film in thirty years, I find some parts more aged than last time - especially the expressionist setting of the town looks medieval, which was a far way from the late 19th century in which the film plays. Teachers, however bad or poor, have landed in other professions since, and love affairs of the type are today a worldwide business. The melodramatic outcome of a Professor's love for a Diseuse are still happening. Its cinematographic qualities make the Blue Angel still worthy of the five stars it originally pulled. Sternberg had cast the then-unknown Marlene Dietrich as Lola-Lola, the female lead, and overnight made her an international star.

This is a good occasion to point at further joint products: Sternberg and Dietrich continued to collaborate on Morocco (1930), Dishonored (1931), Shanghai Express (1932), Blonde Venus (1932), The Scarlet Empress (1934), and The Devil is a Woman (1935). The Scarlet Empress is particularly celebrated for its atmospheric and suggestively demonic production design, but all of them are actually worth seeing again. Also, it might be worthwhile to hunt for an old copy of Sternberg's autobiography, if alone for its title, viz "Fun in a Chinese Laundry",
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 59 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Insufferable, 6 Aug 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Prof. Rath (Emil Jannings) is a teacher who discovers that his pupils
are visiting "The Blue Angel" cabaret club to see the girls there - and
one girl in particular - Lola Lola (Marlene Dietrich). He goes there to
catch the boys and throw them out but he ends up falling in love with
Lola. His obsession with her leads to their marriage and he quits his
teaching job and joins her troupe, at first selling postcards to
customers. The show goes on tour and eventually returns to perform at
"The Blue Angel" but the once respected Prof Rath is now playing a
clown as part of an act. His humiliation is further increased by the
arrival of Mazeppa, the "strong man" (Hans Albers). How will Prof. Rath
cope on his return to his old town.....?........

The film starts very slowly and just gets slower and slower! Emil
Jannings gives a totally unbelievable portrayal of a pompous, superior
school-type who falls in love. His character is an idiot. Nothing
happens for long periods and we also have long drawn out silences to
sit through. Dietrich appears looking slightly chunky and singing
terribly. She is also unbelievable as someone who falls in love. She is
meant to be streetwise and so there is no way that she would not be
able to find a better suitor than Jannings. Its a complete joke that
she agrees to marry him. A couple of the songs are repeated and they
are all terrible.

The film is a waste of time and it seems to go on for 3 million hours.
It has the iconic Marlene Dietrich imagery but nothing else - this film
is rubbish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaa1baf9c)

This product

THE BLUE ANGEL [DER BLAUE ENGEL] (Masters of Cinema) (DUAL FORMAT) [Blu-ray] [1930]
£12.92
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews