Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works great
I was dubious about a TV tuner for Android, but this device works really well. The tuner is tiny and very light which I guess suits a tablet or phone, but does feel a bit insubstantial. Setup was very easy. Install the software from Google Play, plug the tuner in, the software pops open and scan for channels. That's it! Took about 5 mins from opening the box to...
Published 14 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars good , when you can get a reception!
quite dissapointed that you need a very strong reception, aerial supplied is pretty useless. When you can get a good signal I would have given it 5 Stars , but only ever had that once since i got it ...Hence 3Stars
Published 4 months ago by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works great, 13 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elgato EyeTV Micro, TV Tuner for Freeview, for Android Devices (Micro USB), black (Electronics)
I was dubious about a TV tuner for Android, but this device works really well. The tuner is tiny and very light which I guess suits a tablet or phone, but does feel a bit insubstantial. Setup was very easy. Install the software from Google Play, plug the tuner in, the software pops open and scan for channels. That's it! Took about 5 mins from opening the box to watching TV. Scanning was very quick and found all the channels I would expect. If your in a strong signal area the supplied small extendable aerial works fine. Their is a slightly larger base mounted aerial supplied as well which is a bit better as it can be positioned for the best signal strength. That one is probably a better bet for somewhere like a hotel room. If the signal is a bit weak, it comes with an adapter to plug a standard coax cable into so you can use with any other aerial. The software which you download from Google play is quite effective and gives you a 7 day guide and the ability to pause live TV both of which work well. You can also record TV but be aware that the current software only allows you to manually start and stop recordings. I hope that in some future version the ability to set up recordings from the guide will be instigated.

I've used the tuner on a Galxay S2 phone running Android 4.0 and on a Toshiba AT300 Tablet running Android 4.1. Both work fine. I've also tried it on my Windows 7 desktop, and it installed itself in seconds and works perfectly with Windows Media Center. However so far my attempts to get to work on a Windows Vista laptop have failed as it wont auto install and the drivers from the Elgato website are for win 7 only and wont install on Vista ? I guess I ought to contact Elgato support about that.

Whats Good: Small, effective, quick to set and to tune, great picture quality. Works fine on a Win 7 PC too

Whats Bad: The Tuners is a bit flimsy feeling and is so small I'm scared of losing it! Cant get it to work on Win Vista Laptop

Overall Recommended to anybody who wants TV on the move via an Android device.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It really works, 23 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elgato EyeTV Micro, TV Tuner for Freeview, for Android Devices (Micro USB), black (Electronics)
Tried a few other such devices but they were poor. This one just, well, works, easy set up and when ready is quick to operate and change channels. It would be nice if the guide was visible while the program was playing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Samsung S2/S4., 20 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elgato EyeTV Micro, TV Tuner for Freeview, for Android Devices (Micro USB), black (Electronics)
After the setup using the correct app it worked very good, clear picture, no interference, all the main channels & most of the other DVB channels.
Unfortunately, that only lasted for about an hour, after that "no signal" & "high power device connected" came up up on the screen, and that was with just the supplied aerial connected, so did a re-scan for the channels but nothing. Tried both of the aerial's supplied but it made no difference, i even tried a fly lead from the roof aerial but still nothing.
I borrowed a Samsung Tab Pro 8.4 & also tried a Samsung Tab 2 using the short usb cable supplied but it would't find any channels.
After spending most of the evening re-scanning & trying different andriod devices it became clear that this EyeTV Micro tuner is not fit for purpose.
I contacted Amazon & they were very good about it, they sent an email with a printable return label included, i repacked it & sent it back for a full refund, which was given within a few hours of it being dropped off at at my local Collect+ store.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars good , when you can get a reception!, 6 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elgato EyeTV Micro, TV Tuner for Freeview, for Android Devices (Micro USB), black (Electronics)
quite dissapointed that you need a very strong reception, aerial supplied is pretty useless. When you can get a good signal I would have given it 5 Stars , but only ever had that once since i got it ...Hence 3Stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars rating reason, 30 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elgato EyeTV Micro, TV Tuner for Freeview, for Android Devices (Micro USB), black (Electronics)
The telescopic aerial did not fit in the aerial socket,but the TV picture is excellent with the other aerial which fitted fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible, 1 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elgato EyeTV Micro, TV Tuner for Freeview, for Android Devices (Micro USB), black (Electronics)
Bought this for a Pipo tablet as an alternative to a normal digital TV r our boat. Absolutely brilliant piece of kit. would highly recommend. Setup and use is simple. Performance is unbelievable from an minute antenna - it outperformed a new digital tv with 'high gain' antenna mounted on a 10ft pole in the middle of the Norfolk Broads
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars samsung s4, 11 Oct 2013
By 
T. Bishop (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elgato EyeTV Micro, TV Tuner for Freeview, for Android Devices (Micro USB), black (Electronics)
Elgato EyeTV Micro DVB-T Tuner for Android Devicesdoes not work on the samsung S4,software not compatible, so should not be saying it works on android, it only works of some not all.
we will be returning for a refund.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 13 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elgato EyeTV Micro, TV Tuner for Freeview, for Android Devices (Micro USB), black (Electronics)
Delighted with the product. Works great on all of my Android devices. Great reception with portable antennae even better with roof top one. records fine. Only "extra" I had to buy, was an adapter so that I could use tuner with my Asus Transformer when the keyboard wasn't attached (when it is, the supplied USB adapter works fine.) I am happy to recommend this product. I have no reason to think that the Apple version will be any different. I use the desktop version of this tuner on an iMac without any problems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews