Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars side splittingly funny
absolute belter of a book,shows what a genius les dawson was(and sorely missed today).Obviously the mother in law jokes take centre stage but his general outlook of all walks of life are warm and witty.A book that puts a smile on my face when i flick through the pages,all thats missing is his out of key piano playing.
Published 24 months ago by severedex

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not so funny joke book
I liked Les Dawson - but the book doesn't do him any justice.
The man telling the jokes was funny.
Published 22 months ago by Pamela Jenkins


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars side splittingly funny, 25 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Les Dawson's Joke Book (Hardcover)
absolute belter of a book,shows what a genius les dawson was(and sorely missed today).Obviously the mother in law jokes take centre stage but his general outlook of all walks of life are warm and witty.A book that puts a smile on my face when i flick through the pages,all thats missing is his out of key piano playing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A lovely reminder, 10 Nov 2012
By 
David Hutchins (Sevenoaks, Kent. UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Les Dawson's Joke Book (Hardcover)
A very pleasant, easy trawl through some of the comedian's regular, much loved repertoire of gags, stories and one-liners. Although most of the jokes are very well known, they are all worthy of a reprise. A pity that the links and brief introductions in the book are not terrible well written, with grammatical errors that a proof reader should have spotted.
However, this book will undoubtedly give much pleasure to the loyal fans and followers of Mr D!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Will be enjoyed by 1000s, 10 Jan 2013
This review is from: Les Dawson's Joke Book (Kindle Edition)
I used to write for Les when he was at the BBC and I loved the man dearly so this review is far from unbiased. Whoever has assembled the wealth of funny one liners, gags and stories to be found in this book has done an excellent job and I can't imagine anyone not thoroughly enjoying it, especially the many fans of Les. All right, some of the jokes have whiskers on them by now, but they were fresh when Les first said them, and if you imagine him saying them as you read them is almost like having him back for a while. And, something in the way of a commercial here - but as Les himself might say,'You get nowhere without a bit of cheek'- people who like it will probably also my book 'Les Dawson's Cissie and Ada', to be found elsewhere on the Amazon website.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't eat or drink when reading this book, 8 Jan 2013
By 
Big Jim "Big Jim" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Les Dawson's Joke Book (Kindle Edition)
Because if you do you will invariably end up spitting and spluttering most off it back out of your mouth in pure mirth. Be careful because you could even choke with laughter. Perhaps you will need to remember Les and imagine him telling the jokes herein but if you do you you are in for a treat. Genius!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Late Great Les, 2 Dec 2012
By 
John Carpenter (Tiverton, Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Les Dawson's Joke Book (Hardcover)
Brilliant!. You have to be a certain age, I suspect, however any joke that starts with 'My Father was a retired Spittoon engraver from Doncaster' has to set that Standard for zany humour. Be prepared for uncontrolled hysteria.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars laugh a minute., 12 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Les Dawson's Joke Book (Hardcover)
Brought this book for my dad, he is in his eighties and he howled great book a tonic, tears rolled down his face, I visualized him (les) doing all the characters fab book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Comedian, 1 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Les Dawson's Joke Book (Kindle Edition)
I've read quite a few of Les Dawson's books and enjoyed them all , a very good read and funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars well done, 11 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Les Dawson's Joke Book (Hardcover)
love the book and the jokes had me laughing all the day and i keep going back to it for more smiles
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vintage Les Dawson, 2 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Les Dawson's Joke Book (Hardcover)
Bought for my husband as a Christmas present. Reading through the jokes I can just hear him telling them. I'm a Manc too so I even have the accent right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good laugh, 26 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Les Dawson's Joke Book (Hardcover)
Reading this book and laughing to myself I can almost hear Les Dawson as if he was still with us. Real fun, not like many so-called comics. And great value foe money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Les Dawson's Joke Book
Les Dawson's Joke Book by Charlotte Dawson
£5.50
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews