Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent
This is a briliant, easy to fit and remove. No more draughts so room is much warmer and it also cuts down the noise from outside
Published 19 months ago by Slam

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Bit of a let-down
The ballon is a good idea spoilt by its execution. A fully inflated balloon only lasts a day or two befoe it deflates itself to the point where you need to blow it up again. Maybe the problem lies with the valve arrangement which may not be airtight.
Published 4 months ago by dm99


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 12 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chimney Balloon Kit (Small) for Chimneys up to 15"x9"/38cmX23cm + FREE TUBE
This is a briliant, easy to fit and remove. No more draughts so room is much warmer and it also cuts down the noise from outside
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chimney balloon kit, 6 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chimney Balloon Kit (Small) for Chimneys up to 15"x9"/38cmX23cm + FREE TUBE
Does exactly what I needed it to do. It has stopped the rain and soot landing on the hearth. It also stops the peanuts that the birds drop down the chimney. Speedy delivery and a reasonable cost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stops drafts, 9 Feb 2013
By 
James Lever (Brighton & Hove, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chimney Balloon Kit (Small) for Chimneys up to 15"x9"/38cmX23cm + FREE TUBE
I bought this as I have a fire place which I kept on getting cold drafts from. My fireplace is quite small - and I also have a lined chimney with a 6" liner - the fireplace has a closing plate but most recently i've noticed it's taken a long time to heat my room. So after a bit of searching around I decided to buy one of these balloons.

My Liner has a collector hood and I was able to just about push it up high enough to make a good fit - if anything this might be a little bit bigger than I needed.

Installation.

You attach all the components, set the valve to open, position the balloon slightly inflated into the chimney. Then inflate the balloon by blowing into a tube.

1st complexity - the kit comes with a valve - its either open or closed, once inflated the moment you stop blowing and take the tube away from your mouth, air escapes (unless you quickly put your finger over the tube).(A one way valve with a release would have been better than the tap open/close type fitted.

2nd complexity - whilst holding your finger on the tube (so not to let any air out), you have to attempt to locate the valve (which is now in your chimney) and close it.

To remove the inflation tube you yank the blow up tube out of the valve and set aside for the next time you need to blow it up. I guess you could leave it there, but personally i'd prefer not to have a tube which makes contact with my mouth gathering soot.

The kit comes with a tiny label to say "There's a balloon in the chimney dont light a fire", its tiny and i didn't really know what I was supposed to do with it! It doesn't attach to anything, so its a bit odd!

Outcome.

Since installing the balloon, the draft has gone away. It still takes quite some time to heat the room though, so my thoughts on that being a big factor may have been wrong. Noise however still appears to pass though into the room

For the money, this has delivered what I wanted - the valve could have been better, and the blow up tube a bit longer, but I think its fair.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What it says on the tin, 29 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chimney Balloon Kit (Small) for Chimneys up to 15"x9"/38cmX23cm + FREE TUBE
Does exactly what it claims to do. Stuffed it up my chimney and it stopped the flakes, moss, and other random bits from falling down. Hopefully will save a bit of heat in winter, too.

My chimney is apparently an XS, since this balloon was still a bit too large, but it wedged itself into place anyway. Can't complain!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars sootfall, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chimney Balloon Kit (Small) for Chimneys up to 15"x9"/38cmX23cm + FREE TUBE
saves sootfall easy to fit
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Effective draught exclusion., 1 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chimney Balloon Kit (Small) for Chimneys up to 15"x9"/38cmX23cm + FREE TUBE
We suffered from a draught down the chimney and since fitting this we have a much warmer house with corresponding lower heating bills.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Bit of a let-down, 8 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chimney Balloon Kit (Small) for Chimneys up to 15"x9"/38cmX23cm + FREE TUBE
The ballon is a good idea spoilt by its execution. A fully inflated balloon only lasts a day or two befoe it deflates itself to the point where you need to blow it up again. Maybe the problem lies with the valve arrangement which may not be airtight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Get one and save money., 16 Mar 2014
By 
capgeoff (Lancashire England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chimney Balloon Kit (Small) for Chimneys up to 15"x9"/38cmX23cm + FREE TUBE
I bought two and they have been a boon. Draughts have been drastically reduced and the two rooms much warmer through the winter. The other thing was that before I fitted these, you could hear traffic and conversations in the street via the chimney! This has also been eliminated and now our two rooms are warmer and quieter. Delighted with the chimney balloons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Chimney balloon, 12 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chimney Balloon Kit (Small) for Chimneys up to 15"x9"/38cmX23cm + FREE TUBE
Brilliant device. I wish that I'd ordered it years ago. It keeps all the draughts and rubble from falling into my fireplace
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the money, 12 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chimney Balloon Kit (Small) for Chimneys up to 15"x9"/38cmX23cm + FREE TUBE
The Balloon was everything that we had been led to believe. Fitting was very straightforward,
albeit a bit on the dirty side.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews