Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great introduction to the hobby.
This really is what it promises to be. From the ground up it leads you through the basics of an activity which is so easily passed over by so many people. Plain English is used to good effect as you are introduced to the many facets of astronomy. Valuable advice is given along with many helpful websites. Just what I was looking for. Recommended.
Published 18 months ago by kK D Connelly

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A reference book that does not suit the Kindle aplication
I was disappointed to find how difficult it was (IE not user friendly) to locate a particular item. By the time I realised this I had missed the opportunity to return the download for refund. Otherwise it would have definitely gone back.
Published 18 months ago by Peter H Butler


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A reference book that does not suit the Kindle aplication, 7 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Astronomy For Dummies (Kindle Edition)
I was disappointed to find how difficult it was (IE not user friendly) to locate a particular item. By the time I realised this I had missed the opportunity to return the download for refund. Otherwise it would have definitely gone back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great introduction to the hobby., 5 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Astronomy For Dummies (Kindle Edition)
This really is what it promises to be. From the ground up it leads you through the basics of an activity which is so easily passed over by so many people. Plain English is used to good effect as you are introduced to the many facets of astronomy. Valuable advice is given along with many helpful websites. Just what I was looking for. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good to start off with, 19 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Astronomy For Dummies (Paperback)
Great Dummies book, they are such a brilliant series, very informative, easy to follow and to understand, well worth the money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Info, Great Photos, 11 Feb 2013
By 
Ursula K. Raphael "AstraDaemon of The Zombiep... (USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Astronomy For Dummies (Paperback)
Astronomy For Dummies acts as a good informational guide on the subject matter, and provides enough details to encourage readers to further research specific topics on their own, but without being overwhelming.

In the middle of the book are several pages with colored photographs of the planets, nebulas and galaxies.

We have several books from the Dummies series on our homeschool library. They are useful for quick reference, and because of the way the information within is organized, they are very useful in teaching a student how to make outlines and take study notes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Astronomy For Dummies (Paperback)
Priceless for us numpties
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars My assessment of "Astronomy for Dummies", 5 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Astronomy For Dummies (Paperback)
I enjoyed the light-hearted friendly style and am pleased at the breadth of the coverage regarding heavenly issues. It is written (like all the Dummies books) in a way which differs from conventional textbooks and makes the reader feel he is here to enjoy a hobby rather than engage himself in earnest study. I have only skimmed the surface of the book, but it is already a favourite component of my astronomy library, and one which I shall lend to my nephew, who has been inspired by its informal presentation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Astronomy For Dummies (Paperback)
Great book, easy to read and follow. Lots of tips for spotting what you are looking for in the night skiy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good simple introduction to astronomy, 3 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Astronomy For Dummies (Kindle Edition)
Found this an interesting and enlightening introduction to astronomy. Whetted my appreciative to learn more. Liked web links to additional resources in Kindle fire edition but disappointed the colour picture section mentioned in book not present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT, 5 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Astronomy For Dummies (Paperback)
I got this as a gift for my hubby as he is a novice gazer and he loves it :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's ok, 18 April 2013
By 
T4bsF (Cardiff, Wales, UK.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Astronomy For Dummies (Kindle Edition)
I expected this book to be a lot more informative and exciting. It's neither of these things. The Dummies books are usually a much higher standard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Astronomy For Dummies
Astronomy For Dummies by Stephen P. Maran
£10.50
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews