Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Full Throttle Action on Two Wheels, but without the throttle or indeed brakes!
I am a fan of Joseph Gordon -Levitt, even back to `Third Rock from the Sun' because he got to act with the tremendous John Lithgow. Here he takes on the role of Wille (pronounced Wylie as in Wylie Coyote) who is a bicycle courier in New York City. He works for a negotiated price for each gig. He has an on and off sort of relationship with co worker Vanessa (Dania Ramirez...
Published on 30 Mar. 2013 by Tommy Dooley

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars HAVE YOU SEEN MY THIGHS?
Wilee (Joseph Gordon-Levitt) is an underachiever bike messenger in NYC. He has issues with his girlfriend Vanessa (Dania Ramirez) who in turn is being evicted by her roommate Nima(Jamie Chung) and she is being hit on by Wilee's work mate Manny (Wolé Parks).

Wilee likes to ride and is reckless. Once we get some quick character introductions, Wilee has to...
Published 23 months ago by THE MOVIE GUY


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Blink and you'll miss it!, 12 Jun. 2014
By 
Steven - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
The tight and uncomplicated screenplay is complimented by a director who shows a real flair for fluid movement. The cycling provides us with action aplenty as the cast weave through perilous traffic on the bustling city streets that seem to develop a character all of their own. Our hero is a cycle courier who's lastest package comes with a whole load of trouble. JGL's youthful charm belies a worldly understanding and despite some quick characterisation he's a familiar type and easy enough to route for. The leads are surrounded by a supporting cast that are a well worn mixture of street types, cops and rogues and as well as Michael Shannon as his fairly nasty nemesis, JGL has to contend with relationship problems, a love rival and the reminders of a cerebral past he's desperate to leave behind. The screenplay has enough room for a couple of tricks, namely, scenes being delivered out of sequence and motivations being revealed in a non linear fashion; at first, we don't know what is in the envelop or why JGL is being pursued, but it all works out nicely in the end. I'm really glad I watched this fast paced adventure, it's enjoyable, throwaway stuff which shares pace and excitement with the likes of 2004's Cellular.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a brilliant lesson in how to cycle through London ..., 10 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
no helmet, no brakes, fixed gear - well, maybe not, but huge fun nevertheless, definitely worth seeing once, a blast
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Brakes are death...., 23 Jan. 2014
Among the bike couriers in New York, no one is more determined and reckless than Wilee, more comfortable on his bike than in a suit.

A Chinese foreign student arranges for him to deliver a vital envelope across the city. A crooked cop, Det. Monday, has a desperate need for that envelope himself and won't take no for an answer.

Wilee finds himself relentlessly pursued by Monday and others in a situation becoming more complicated and dangerous by the minute.

Together with his friends and rivals, Wilee must discover the secret of this dangerous delivery and make it through a deadly gauntlet...

One of the more surprising films of the year, it's really odd how entertaining this movie is, and how familiar the film also is.

Levitt and especially Shannon, take what is essentially an average cat and mouse movie, and make it something that you actually pay attention to, rather than just have it on in the background whilst you are doing something else.

It's fast paced, very funny, and Shannon is easily having a ball playing the stereotypical bad cop.

It's one of those films that you will watch, and wonder why you've never heard of it before.

It does riff slightly on 1986's Quicksilver, but this is by far a better movie.

It's fun, with good stunts, and better performances.

Well worth seeing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Non-stop action, very little else, 2 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
but if that is what you want this should do the trick. Not deep and not violent or sexy either. Just a bit of light entertainment and I loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Something different, 27 Dec. 2013
By 
prmats (North Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Anyone remember Pacific Blue? That 90's TV series about Cops on pushbikes? Well, this kinda reminded me of that. The storyline is perhaps a little lacking but I bought it for the setting and the bike scenes, of which there are plenty, in fact I bet a good three quarters of the film is spent in the saddle. There are some good stunts and a few quirky little cut scenes here are there. An entertaining watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Exciting, unusual movie, 1 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An exciting movie, suitable for all ages and most enjoyable, apart from a few brutal scenes involving the corrupt New York police chief. The stunts performed by the cyclists were quite amazing and the interviews in the Bonus feature, explaining how the movie was made, were most interesting and informative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good film, 17 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is such a good movie, dont even matter if yo like bikes or not this is high speed entertainment at its best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 23 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Saw this on television loved the film so looked to buy found a great deal with this company sent for film got it bang on time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Simple, yet entertaining., 11 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
PQ is great.
AQ is great.
The movie is simple, yet it can keep the audience trying to anticipate what will happen next. It has a unique storyline.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Throwaway, but fun, 4 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not the greatest story in the world, but a fun and enjoyable ride none the less. A decent mid-week evening movie i'd say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews