Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fitting tribute
I'll keep it simple. Stunningly beautiful, moving and thought provoking. The production is a triumph and I can think of no better tribute to the late Peter 'Sleazy' Christopherson and TG than this. THE album of 2012 - and just in the nick time.
Published on 11 Dec 2012 by S. Tree

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Exciting concept and GORGEOUS packaging, but dull inside
I love Nico's work and there are several tribute cover albums that I really treasure, but honestly I'm disappointed. Maybe if I were more of a fan of the artists, TG etc., then I would get it.

It went wrong for me on the first line of the first track, when I realised Anthony was already mumbling "lunacy" while I was still waiting to hear a proper "janitor"...
Published 24 months ago by Mr. J. Gray


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fitting tribute, 11 Dec 2012
By 
S. Tree "moogster" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Desertshore/The Final Report (Audio CD)
I'll keep it simple. Stunningly beautiful, moving and thought provoking. The production is a triumph and I can think of no better tribute to the late Peter 'Sleazy' Christopherson and TG than this. THE album of 2012 - and just in the nick time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning....., 31 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Desertshore/The Final Report (Audio CD)
.....simply stunning. How long have we been waiting for this release? Was the wait worth it? Yes and Yes. Double CD featuring as you are well aware 3 of the 4 members of TG performing Nico's 1970 masterpiece Desertshore. The 2nd CD titled The Final Chapter is just that, the final X-TG recordings. Oh and the packaging is just beautiful featuring large booklet, postcard and the 2 discs slip nicely inside the inside cover of the thick white package. 5 stars all the way. I honestly feel that the music TG/X-TG have produced since they began working together in 2004 has been maybe the best music thet have ever made together. The Endless Not, The Third Mind Movements and TG Now - buy them all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fitting tribute, 29 Dec 2012
By 
Peter Counter (Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Desertshore/The Final Report (Audio CD)
I was lucky enough to be at the ICA when the original sessions for this album were recorded. Sadly much has happened since then and this is not what I heard all those years ago. But it is a fitting tribute both to Throbbing Gristle, X-TG and Nico.

What a way to bow out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marc Almond and others star on this great vinyl lp, 28 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a fantastic lp full of great songs, Marc Almonds contributions are what I bought it for and love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As bleak as Joy gets, 15 Feb 2013
By 
Dr. Delvis Memphistopheles "FIST" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Desertshore/The Final Report (Audio CD)
Clearly as they have moved through time - the earlier sonic abrasiveness has been sanded down to be replaced instead by a sheer drop into a pit of adventurousness, which has become forever more pronounced. So it is into Nico's world we journey and the descent is a pleasure.

The final? offering is the best piece of cohesion they have ever achieved and a re-influence of Coil along with the melodics of Chris and Cosey injected back into the mainframe of TG.

Gone are Neil's vocals, as he left the other three to complete this piece of stunning music. But never fret, the other guest vocalists (Blixa, Anthony etc) bring out the hidden vistas within the rolling musical landscape, as the emotional resonances shift around as a kaleidoscope in the palms of a manic pair of hands. Gradually building the electronic bytes in layers as Sleazy, Chris and Cosey come together to cross wires and make something aspirational, coated in a luminous humming wonder and perhaps even.... joyous. Sleazy would have been proud of the final event as it unfolds it builds upon the Coil ideologies, without ever selling its soul to the corporate worlds of the advert.

Given the basis of the event is Nico's blast into sheer nihilism, this ascension into the realms of joy is no mean feat.

The other disc blows through the distinct revolution in changes as TG take on the pulses and frequencies they initially ushered in, later reworked throughout the 90's, to reposition themselves at the centre of the avant garde. Building from 20 Jazz Funk Greats and An Endless Not, they use the various frequencies to continue to explore.

A stunning two disc presentation, a fitting tribute to one of the pioneers who never surrendered and kept on blooming beyond the final end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A piece of history, 8 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An amazing sonic experience. It shows how the Throbbing Gristle sound still has immense power and how influential it has been over the past decades. The guest vocalists add to the sound, but it is X-TG's work. Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Exciting concept and GORGEOUS packaging, but dull inside, 3 Jan 2013
By 
Mr. J. Gray "JJGray" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Desertshore/The Final Report (Audio CD)
I love Nico's work and there are several tribute cover albums that I really treasure, but honestly I'm disappointed. Maybe if I were more of a fan of the artists, TG etc., then I would get it.

It went wrong for me on the first line of the first track, when I realised Anthony was already mumbling "lunacy" while I was still waiting to hear a proper "janitor". (check out the spelling there guys: it's not janiter). Actually, it gets better through the rest of that track, but then there was only one or two other tracks that could keep my attention.

Sorry to be negative. I am into the The Young Gods and can happily listen to the whole of Metal Machine Music,if teh volume is right, so I felt I ought be be able to like this more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Be Aware Peter Tributes., 8 Dec 2012
By 
C. Murrell "direct current" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Desertshore/The Final Report (Audio CD)
Chris, Cosey, and a host of sincere artists ranging from Blixa Bargeld to Pierce and Massimo pay proper tribute to Peter who has given given given given and given of the best of everything all his life long - cut too short. This, especially disc 1, the only album i have found that truly and properly and deservedly respects the deeply missed and lovingly loved Peter. Disc 1 is the closest relative i ever heard of Coil - and, if you ever heard Coil, you will know that is praise to the sky and to the core of the earth. Disc 2 is visceral pleasure: X-TG, TG after Gen deserted. 'Desertshore' amazingly respects and radically remodels Nico's original with intelligence and befitting integrity. Nico's: 'Desertshore' is a work of unparalleled exquisite insightful humanity, comparable with every other work Nico ever released (please note: intentional contradiction, not dualism rather whole and complete). X-TG's: 'Desertshore/ The Final Report' is a work of unparalleled exquisite insightful humanity, comparable with the innovation and craft of the Creative Technology Institute, Conspiracy International, Chris & Cosey, Carter-Tutti, Throbbing Gristle - and drip-feeding life back in to the blood-wound left by Coil's departure: loss so deep, apparently only X-TG and Cyclobe can ... apparently only Cyclobe and X-TG have the bone marrow ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mission Is Terminated, 5 July 2013
By 
R. Wosley - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Desertshore/The Final Report (Audio CD)
I received this as a gift for my recent birthday, having been a fan of TG, Chris & Cosey's solo work, and Sleazy's work with PTV, Zos Kia, Coil, SoiSong and Threshold House Boys Choir, for 33 years.
Desertshore is a tour de force of art. That might sound sychophantic, but the washes of sound that accompany the vocals of Cosey, Anthony, Blixa, Marc and the many other contributors to this gorgeous release fill me with a sense of elation.
Final Report shows where XTG could have gone had Sleazy not left this world so suddenly. I have every TG studio album, and this stands above all of them for me. Ten slabs of musical loveliness, soaring and powerful. This album made my skin tingle. I am left hungry for more, which, sadly, can never be.
If you're a long-standing fan, you won't be disappointed, if you're new to them and found your way here, I urge you to try this.
The packaging is thoughtful, beautifully put together, and the artwork inside is lovely. A very fitting tribute to Peter Sleazy Christopherson, much missed, and orchestrator of some of the greatest alternative music ever made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars As expected, 1 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Anybody who is familiar with Throbbing Gristle will know what to expect from this record and it serves as a fitting tribute to the late Peter Christopherson. It has a gentle pace but is delicately removed from standard song construction to make you feel both comfortable but spellbound as to the direction the music will follow. Was rated album of the year by several of my friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Desertshore/The Final Report
Desertshore/The Final Report by X-tg (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews