Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Weird Science (Take Two)
There was a lot to digest in Bjork's 2011 album 'Biophilia' but technological
wizardry aside it remains, in many ways, one of her most visionary and satisfying
works; a distillation of core values and a huge imaginative leap into the dark.
'Bastards' harks back to 'Telegram' (1996), a marvelous set of re-imaginings by
other artists of her 1995 album...
Published 22 months ago by The Wolf

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Bastards
I always find remix albums to be a bit hit or miss, really, and that applies to Björk's 'Bastards' as well. For me, a remix should both honour and add to the original, a balance not easily achieved.

With the source material being as strong as 'Biophilia', in my opinion Björk's finest since 'Vespertine', is a remix album really needed? Perhaps not, but...
Published 12 months ago by Torben Madsen


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Weird Science (Take Two), 25 Nov 2012
By 
The Wolf (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Bastards (Audio CD)
There was a lot to digest in Bjork's 2011 album 'Biophilia' but technological
wizardry aside it remains, in many ways, one of her most visionary and satisfying
works; a distillation of core values and a huge imaginative leap into the dark.
'Bastards' harks back to 'Telegram' (1996), a marvelous set of re-imaginings by
other artists of her 1995 album 'Post' and delivers some exhilarating listening.

The elusive melodic and structural form of 'Biophilia's' compositions are given
greater rhythmic presence in many of these interpretations which both reveals
their quasi-organic inner-workings and affords us a refreshing second look.

Omay Souleyman's takes on 'Crystalline' and 'Thunderbolt' attest his Syrian roots
and contribute a fascinating perspective through his use of traditional Arabic
instruments and ribald percussion; the Hudson Mohawke, Peaches and Guacamole
remix of 'Virus' fleshes out the song's fragile heart with big echoing beats
and rich washes of regal synth; the darkly grinding arrangement of 'Sacrifice'
by Death Grips makes your bones rattle in their sockets and The Slip's approach
to 'Moon' adds flesh and blood to the original's ephemeral skeletal structure.
Current Value's inspired response to the magical 'Solstice', however, is perhaps
the project's most exciting contribution; with its truly beautiful skittering
introduction and subsequent massive granite-like slabs of sound we can almost
feel the very Earth tremble and subside beneath our feet. A sonic masterstroke!

Side by side with its esteemed progenitor 'Bastards' can stake a claim to be
one of the year's most rewarding releases. Bjork's offspring have served her well!

Highly Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's another Telegram, and nearly as good!, 5 Aug 2013
By 
notimetoulouse "Safe never starts - Perfect ... (Sheffield UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bastards (Audio CD)
There's something about cover versions of Bjorks stuff that really energises me. I saw her perform Biophilia in Manchester at the start of her world tour, and the whole event was stunning..... now comes this, all mixes and reworks of her Biophilia music by different artists and musicians.
The review below by 'The Wolf' says all there is to say about the music, all I can add is that I would have gladly been happy to pay for just the Omar Suleyman tracks alone. Magical.
If you are a Bjork fan and haven't already purchased this, it really needs to be in your collection, you won't be disappointed.
Hope this helped.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing album, 20 Nov 2012
By 
S. Helps "James" (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bastards (Audio CD)
fantastic, fun, exciting, overall I'm so impressed by this. I love the title of the album too. This would also be an amazing Christmas present for anyone who likes bjork, especially her being lively, it's all quite fast on this album which is nice
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Clever Bastard !!, 27 Nov 2013
By 
J M. Knight "isle 4" (Marlow.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bastards (Audio CD)
Bjork never disappoints with wacky, weird and wonderful instrumentation ... Crystalline sounds amazing with the use of Bangra.. Nice 1 .. What will be listening to next,.. ??
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Bastards, 6 Sep 2013
By 
Torben Madsen (Copenhagen, Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bastards (Audio CD)
I always find remix albums to be a bit hit or miss, really, and that applies to Björk's 'Bastards' as well. For me, a remix should both honour and add to the original, a balance not easily achieved.

With the source material being as strong as 'Biophilia', in my opinion Björk's finest since 'Vespertine', is a remix album really needed? Perhaps not, but some of the mixes definitely do add to the original songs: Matthew Herbert's mix of 'Mutual Core' and The Slips Remix of 'Moon' are prime examples.

All in all though, I don't see this as an essential purchase, but 'Biophilia' is. 'Bastards' is a companion piece, amd while it's not bad, it is a lesser sibling mainly of interest to fans and completists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 24 Dec 2012
This review is from: Bastards (Audio CD)
Didn't disappoint. The music is great I can't stop playing it and dancing while I'm driving. Another top notch delivery for all her fans as I know she is like marmite. You love her or hate her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bastards
Bastards by Björk (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews