Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
202
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 October 2012
This is well worth £10. This is a very nice edition with every song you could ever possibly want in regards to James Bond. It has all the individual theme songs as well as a lot of backing music (that you might not realise you know). A very very good listen, but when you're driving to work with it blaring out you wish you might wish you had rockets, ejectable seats and an aston martin instead of a corsa...
0Comment| 52 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2012
So, there's a new Bond film due out, and we have another Best of Bond collection to "celebrate" 50 years of Bond, although you'd hardly know it. Disc 1 is much as you'd expect - all the main title themes, with Goldeneye and LTK appearing in their single versions and a different version of Casino Royale to that on the original single.

On to Disc 2. With it being the 50th Anniversary, there would have been no better opportunity to include some of the wealth of Bond music that has never been released before on any format, let alone CD. Sadly, there is nothing new here. Disc 2 is just a bizarre, random collection of widely available tracks taken from the soundtrack albums, some of which can hardly be called the "Best Of Bond".

This is a strange collection, clearly put together as a last-minute rush-job with no thought or effort - the Bond fans who don't want the soundtrack albums aren't going to be bothered by the incidental music on Disc 2, those that do have the soundtrack albums have these tracks already, so who exactly is this collection aimed at?

The 1992 30th Anniversary Collection was a great example of what they can do when they put some thought into it - a brilliant 2CD set containg all the songs (up to LTK), and previously unreleased demo recordings and Thunderball music on Disc 2, so it is possible. It's just a shame they obviously couldn't be bothered for this release.
22 comments| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2014
This magnificent CD brings together 37 years of the fantastic music that was brought to us by the James Bond series.

Beginning with the James Bond theme, first played on the first 007 flicks, Dr No (1962), and has graced as background music, in one form or another, most of the subsequent Bond films down the year.

Many of the hits featured on their respective Bond thrillers. This is music from the 1960's, 70's, 80's and 90's at it's very, very best.

My personal favorites include:

Shirley Bassey's luxurious and smooth Goldfinger (1964), with it's opening elephantine trumpets.

The rich and contemplative You Only Live Twice (1967) sung by Nancy Sinatra.

Soft Cell redid an interesting version in the early 1980's.

The closing piece from On Her Majesties Secret Service (1969), " We Have All The Time In The World" sung with great warmth and sincerity by Louis Armstrong.

Live And Let Die (1973), by Paul McCartney, an absolutely magical and enthusing piece in the very best style of that fantastic early 70's rock.

Carly Simon's melody Nobody Does It Better from The Spy Who Loved Me (1977). Marvin Hamlisch who wrote the song with Carole Bayer Sager explained: " It was time that Bond be pretentious enough and vain enough to have a song written about him."

The rich and haunting Moonraker (1979) by Shirley Bassey.

The sexy and enticing mood setter "For Your Eyes Only" (1981) by Sheena Easton, the only theme song where the singer of the theme song appears on stage. This is because Sheena Easton rivaled the Bond girls in her beauty.

The romantic "All Time High" from Octopussy (1983) by Rita Coolidge.

The energetic "The Living Daylights" (1987) by Ah Ha.

The R&B License To Kill (1989) by Gladys Knight.

And the moody Tomorrow Never Dies (1997) by Sheryl Crowe.

My one and only complaint is that the compilation did not include Three Blind Mice (Calypso), which started off Dr No.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2015
This is the only Bond music compilation you will ever need, and the main reason is simply because it collates all of the NON-commercial tracks alongside the popular Bond movie themes, which everyone knows and already loves. Essentially, the genius of John Barry and his Orchestra is given full exposure here and this is what makes this compilation far better than any other equivalent.

Despite what some reviewers are saying due to it's release date (2012), this collection is NOT worse off for missing recent movie themes such as Adele's "Skyfall". The reason is because many of these recent themes have lost their way anyway. Anything from Tina Turner's "GoldenEye" onwards are tacky, cliché and play to a predictable commercial formula, with perhaps Madonna's Die "Another Day" at the bottom of that pile. The only exception is Chris Cornell's "You Know My Name", which at least incorporates some Bond melodies but with a heavier and original edge.

Go, instead, back in time to the original Bond themes on disc 1 of this 2-part set (23 tracks on disc 1; 27 tracks on disc 2)and you will see exactly what I mean. "From Russia With Love", "You Only Live Twice", "Goldfinger" and "Thunderball" are all classics in their own musical right, all underpinned by John Barry's superb orchestration. Focusing on Barry and his single-handed creation of "spy genre music" for a moment, pick out "On Her Majesty's Secret Service" on disc 1, then on disc 2 "007", "Switching the Body" and "Capsule in Space". For those that remember Propellerheads and David Arnold's excellent rendition of the former and the latter themes, mixed together in the 90s, these are the origin points for these great ideas. (Arnold's "Vesper" and "Time to Get Out" from Casino Royale are both included here on disc 2, as is Moby's "James Bond Theme Re-Version"). All of the motifs we associate with Bond movies today come from these great musical interludes, and it is for that reason that the emphasis on John Barry on disc 2 makes this the better of the 2 discs in the set.

Topping the list of well-known themes on disc 1, however, must be "Licence to Kill" by the spectacular Gladys Knight, closely followed by Carly Simon's "Nobody Does it Better" and Lulu's "Man with the Golden Gun". One benefit to the listener of the 50-year popularity of Bond movies is that the accompanying music tracks popular trends over time. "Live and Let Die" by Wings and "The Man with the Golden Gun" show distinct 70s undercurrents, whilst you are slammed right into the 80s with Duran Duran's "View to a Kill" and A-Ha's "The Living Daylights".

I could continue heaping on further praise for this compilation, but for approximately £5 plus postage from your pocket money, you can find this all out for yourselves.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2012
This 22 track music album is brilliant. It has all the Bond songs on it from Dr No to Quantum of Solace. It would have been really perfect if the song for Skyfall had been on it too but it is'nt. I love playing it on my phone when I go for walks or exercising. I'm really in the mood for Bond songs at the minute and have just been to see Skyfall at the cinema. An excellent album. Well worth the money !
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2016
This was a Christmas present but was a great album so I bought it for myself too. I had a James Bond collection on cassette years ago (shows how long ago that must have been) so it brought back loads of memories listening to these great songs back to back again. Plus, there are all the new ones that didn't exist when I had my first copy. I was particularly interested in this edition because of the bonus disc with all the incidental music and additional themes, mostly from John Barry. It is brilliant to hear this music in isolation at last in all their sonic splendour.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2014
arrived very quickly - well packed - as described - no hassles -
Ok you know what you are going to get. Or do we? only kidding - actually you can see the evolution of the Bond sound. So much so that I guess people will have their favourite eras like their favourite Bond or Doctor.
Obviously there aren't 40 Bond films (are there?) so some of the tracks are the incidental music - again the changes are audible.
T BBC Philharmonic orchestra and a listener vote as to the best Bond Theme EVER came up with a truly ridiculous winner earlier this year. Possibly because most of the voting audience were too young to remember/ appreciate the breath taking older ones. Well they should buy this, give Disc one a bit a bending and behold a world of style and truly captivating music. Everything musical from a punch in the face to the suavest of melodies. It made my drive home an actual pleasure.
ACID TEST: would I buy it again - Yes
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2016
I love the Bond Films, so all of these theme tunes are great with the exception of a few which I shall mention later in this review...but other than that I would recommend. The only reason I gave a 4* rating is because a few of the tracks aren't so good. I think its because they don't seem very Bond like. In particular 'The World Is Not Enough' by Garbage and it is Garbage, 'You Know My Name by Chris Cornell', Another Way to Die by Jack White & Alicia Keys...the less said about that the better I think !!!. on the whole not bad.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2013
I like this album because it reminds me of childhood aswell as classic Bond moments. Having been brought up on a similar compilation (minus the Pierce Brosnan years), I wanted something more up to date. This has everything minus Skyfall.

I like most of the songs on the album, particularly "James Bond Theme (From Dr. No)", "Diamonds are Forever", "Live and Let Die", "The Man with the Golden Gun", "Nobody Does it Better", "License to Kill", "We Have All the Time in the World", "Goldeneye" and "You Know My Name". For me these are personal favourites and Bond theme classics.

I would recommend this to any Bond fan (that does't mind the absence of Skyfall), and also to fans top singers because these artists are the best. Shirley Bassey, Paul McCartney, Lulu, Carly Simon, Gladys Knight, Louis Armstrong, Tina Turner and Chris Cornell; making up a fab array of vocal genii!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2014
Brilliant collection of the evocative themes to the James Bond films.
I have always thought DVD's should be produced with just the opening songs and footage, without the listings of actors, etc., I think they would sell as music videos in themselves, especially the early films, so brilliant.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)