Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Don't criticise what you can't understand'
'The Times They Are A-Changin'' doesn't progress from what Bob Dylan did on 'Freewheelin''. Rather, it broadens his protest-oriented repertoire. Perhaps the gloomiest of his albums, it seems to be the only one from which his sense of humour is entirely absent. There is a slight shift in emphasis from anti-war songs to the effects of social injustice and hardship...
Published on 18 Jun 2008 by D. J. H. Thorn

versus
4 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dr. Dylan's Patented Antidote To Happiness.
Nobody's favourite Dylan album, "The Times..." is his real 'protest' album. After a rush of optimism in the title track there's a lot of human misery to deal with. Though some of it is due to some really awful guitar playing. Despite the likes of "The Ballad Of Hollis Brown", "One Too Many Mornings", "North Country Blues", "Restless Farewell" and, of course, the title...
Published on 6 Sep 2000 by tolstoyisd@hotmail.com


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars The Times Are Indeed Changing,, 20 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Times They Are A-Changin' (MP3 Download)
Time does indeed change, although Dylan never did. Takes me way back, but I still love every second of the above.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Album, 31 Dec 2013
By 
R. G. Staley (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Times They Are A-Changin' (MP3 Download)
Chose this album as it has a great selection of my favorite Dylan songs. Good price! Would recomend it to any Dylan fans who havent yet got this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mmmmmmmmm, 7 Jun 2013
By 
Pierre Brewee - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The best version ever of the traditional "the house of the rising sun" ??? That's easy: that is this one on this record, no doubt !!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 50 years old, 17 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was recorded 50 years ago. Makes you think... Not his first either, but for me, one of his best. The songs are sublime, and mean so much to me over the years.

I play in folk clubs and The Ballad of Hollis Brown has been a song I have played through the years and is as harrowing now as ever. Boots of Spanish Leather is one of my personal favourites, and God on our Side is possibly the song that influenced me most as a young teenager to reject superstition, and for that I am very grateful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of His Best Albums, 22 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There are very few albums where every track is worth listening to again and again. This is one of those albums; one of Dylan's early classics. This was one of the iconic protest albums of the sixties with the title track warning the estabishment of the inevitability of change, and then songs such as Hollis Brown, With God on Our Side, Only a Pawn in Their Game and The Lonesome Death of Hattie Carrol vocalising why that change was necessary. Although the world has moved on, the album is as fresh as the day it was made, almost fifty years ago - only the names and context have altered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars i love it, 13 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
just magic I really liked this album this is real Bob dylan at his best to my mind i would recomend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Legend, 28 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Always loved this album...it's a must for any Bob Dylan fan. Bought it when I was 14 and it taught me more about life, bigotry, love and, as the title suggests, the changing of time than I thought possible.
It's one of those albums that gets into you....and never leaves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Oldie but goodie, 12 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One of Dylans best, what more can you say? A must-have for aficionados. I will never get tired of listening to this LP.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The difficult 3rd album, 10 July 2011
There's no doubt nowadays that it was the Press who created the term "protest singer" one which Dylan himself felt uncomfortable with because he wasn't really protesting he was simply a commentator.
So in come the usuual copies-Barry McGuire's Eve of Destruction and the Hedgehoppers Anonymous to actually spoof the whole thing.
The McGuire hit was purposely created to copy Dylan and for my money I prefer this one to any of his acoustic things from the first 3 albums but that's because I like Good Time Music (or folk rock as it became known) which Dylan himself would soon embrace after he'd heard the Animals and the Beatles.
But at the time this was before the first serious book had been written about Dylan and would be a few years before it began to fall into proportion
Until he started doing cover versions Dylan was a singer songwriter but one who would take public domain melodies and pass them off as his own work
Thus for example Restless Farewell was created from an Irish drinking song called The Parting Game
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the essential Bob albums, 4 July 2011
Dylan's third album is the peak of his protest phase. Full of heart-wrenching stories of inequality and poverty (Hollis Brown, North Country Blues) its clear, bitter lyrics cut right to the quick and have lost none of their ferocity in the intervening years. In contrast I think that When the Ship Comes In is one of Dylan's most uplifting songs and Restless Farewell one of his most defiant. This is one of the eessential Dylan albums (along with Highway 61 Revisited, Blood on the Tracks, Infidels and Time Out of Mind) There is no filler on this record - I would recommend an uninterrupted, close listen of these vibrant, pertinent lyrics and the spare playing that accompanies them. You won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews