Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a great book
Christopher Isherwood's style is unassuming but flows very well and is always evocative without over-reaching itself. It makes this book a particularly enthralling read if you have read the fictions based on it, that he actually wrote first, namely Goodbye To Berlin, Down There On A Visit, and Prater Violet, and possibly others I don't know. If you have read them it is...
Published 11 months ago by schumann_bg

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A BIG NO
Wow, what a truly boring and terrible book! One to be removed from my kindle, just went on and on.
Published 4 months ago by Toby Macmillan


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a great book, 30 Dec 2013
By 
schumann_bg - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Christopher Isherwood's style is unassuming but flows very well and is always evocative without over-reaching itself. It makes this book a particularly enthralling read if you have read the fictions based on it, that he actually wrote first, namely Goodbye To Berlin, Down There On A Visit, and Prater Violet, and possibly others I don't know. If you have read them it is like a palimpsest of those experiences, drawing you back into memories of those novels which you thought you had lost sight of. It's a bit like watching a film several years later and remembering things only as they occur, but unable to recall what will happen next. You get a very good sense of Auden and Stephen Spender, both of whom he knew very well, and other figures like E. M. Forster and Virginia Woolf are given in deft portraits; equally it gets the feeling of being in Germany, England, Portugal, Denmark, and other countries in the 1930s - China too - and the feeling of dread at the approach of war. How this was felt in everyday life comes across better in this book than almost any other I have read, yet it has the casual tone of a diary we are privy to. There is a thoroughly engrossing section about his German friend Heinz and how they went around Europe trying to get a residence permit for him abroad. Everything he tells about remains totally vivid and compelling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Honest, 28 Jan 2014
By 
M. Ronald Jewell "Sugah" (à Gay Paree) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Isherwood was gifted and his books travel through time and are relative to the ages of today and tomorrow, emotion, intellect and the challenges of living in difficult times are so vividly expressed that I I highly suggest his books to anyone. he doesn't lie nor mince words and his care for the reader despite those who would prefer lies, Isherwood's writings are magical.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quite a story., 22 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was expecting this to be like the Matt Smith programme about Berlin in the 1930s, but its so much more. this book goes into the story of Christopher Isherwood not just in Berlin,but to many other places he travelled to and his meetings with authors like E.M Forster etc. good bedtime reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully written description of 1930s gay Berlin, 4 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Christopher and His Kind (Vintage Classics) (Kindle Edition)
The best and easiest way to describe the witting is sumptuous. We follow Christopher Isserwood through his movents and affairs in 1930s Berlin. The constant changing of point of view (1st to 3rd person) can initially be distracting, but you soon get used to it and it only ands to the story.

Absolutely first class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fast delivery, 4 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A fast delivery and the book was in great condition, I can't wait to read this! My friend has and she said it was great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A BIG NO, 17 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Christopher and His Kind (Vintage Classics) (Kindle Edition)
Wow, what a truly boring and terrible book! One to be removed from my kindle, just went on and on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 29 July 2014
By 
Mark G. Ferguson "Fergy the Sarnie" (Egham, Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Christopher and His Kind (Vintage Classics) (Kindle Edition)
Well, I would review it if I had received it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Christopher and His Kind (Vintage Classics)
£3.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews