Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Some beautiful relatively unknown covers, 22 Nov 2012
By 
K. J. Greenland "kevinthegerbil" (Cardiff, Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost Are Found (Audio CD)
A new Claudia Brucken album is rightfully treated with reverence from her fans, in my household and should be by others as she has a stunningly beautiful voice and was party to one of the best 80s albums; Propaganda's A Secret Wish, my favourite album of all time.

Claudia, with Stephen Hague, has produced an enticingly introspective and at times melancholic album of relatively unknown covers; always the better thing to do than use more famous songs, in my opinion.

I would have loved to have given this album 5 stars; some of the songs are worth in excess of 5 stars alone, but unfortunately, and I really hate having to say this as I do love Claudia, some suffer from being rather average tracks to start with, end up a little messy or do not suit Claudia's voice.

The best songs are Julee Cruise's 'Mysteries of Love', Electric Light Orchestra's 'One Summer Dream', The Bee Gees 'And the Sun Will Shine' and The Band's 'Whispering Pines' where Claudia has really captured and enhanced the ethereal, dream-like beauty of the originals and has improved on or made them her own; showcasing how wonderful her voice can be. These covers are outstanding. The one original song 'No One to Blame' is also a real corker!

Not as beautiful but still good are Stina Nordenstam's 'Memories of Color' and 'Crime' and Dubstar's 'The Day I See You Again'. These suffer in comparison to the stronger songs above but do improve on the originals in fact.

The least successful songs are David Bowie's 'Everyone Says Hi', The Lilac Time's 'On The Road To Happiness' and Pet Shops Boys 'Kings Cross'; sounding a little too busy in parts and proving that sometimes less can be more; a theory proved by the remainder of the album.

For those who find it important, the CD is housed in a simple cardboard sleeve, similar to the recent 'Combined' and 'Wishful Thinking' releases, so treat with care!

Despite it's flaws, it is a joy to listen to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a rare treat from miss brucken!, 23 Nov 2012
By 
Mr. Nathan Armstrong - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Lost Are Found (Audio CD)
claudia was the voice of PROPAGANDA a signing to zzt at the same time as frankie goes to hollywood...their album "secret wish" is a stunning album especially on the rare deleted sacd format.

claudia left after this album and released a solo album and an album under ACT...they are both amazing! then she went quiet for years and years.

she reappeared with the covers album with andrew poppy "another language" which i did not warm to as it was a bit too experimental.

a few years ago she teamed up with paul humphreys from OMD as ONETWO and released an amazing pop electro album "instead". it was a true return to form for her fans..it has the angst of claudia and the pop of omd.

this new solo album is brilliant and will not disappoint and fans - it could be the new onetwo album.

there is not a bad song on the album but my favourites are her cover of the pet shop boys "kings cross", "one summer dream" and "the road to happiness"

a stunning singer and a stunning album!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Claudia does it again!, 5 Nov 2012
This review is from: The Lost Are Found (Audio CD)
Since I received my signed copy at the weekend I've given this CD some hammer. Song selection is inspired and there's not a dud track on the album but stand-out tracks (for me) are: 1 (Mysteries of Love), 4 (Bowie's Everyone says 'hi') and 8 (Pet Shop Boys' Kings Cross). Production is understated throughout which doesn't jar and fits the song choices just right. Buy this now, tell all your friends to buy it and tell them to tell all their friends to buy it too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb album, 31 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost Are Found (Audio CD)
I missed out on Propaganda but heard a track from this album on the radio and had to buy it. It's a superb album of covers that you would not usually expect to hear. It's a very gentle album to listen to and worthy of it's 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning Album...., 14 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost Are Found (Audio CD)
Claudia Brucken never gets the attention or praise that she deserves, this album of ceover versions are both beautifully chosen and presented with an electronic soundscape. Some of the songs were already known and loved by me, but there are other gems to appreciate. Her voice is as wonderful as ever and works well with the production to create a true masterpiece. try it, you will love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rapturous, 31 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost Are Found (Audio CD)
This is lovely. Covers albums can be a bit hit and miss (Annie Lennox...) but this is just perfect. The album beguiles with its langour but at the same time lifts you up so that, by the end, you feel as if the rain's just stopped and the sunshine has broken through. Pardon my conceit but honestly, listen to this and your ears will want to take you to bed and cuddle you all night.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Claudia!, 19 Oct 2013
By 
Pol4959 (Orpington, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost Are Found (Audio CD)
Great Claudia! Missed her work with Propaganda but now trying to remedy that. Her generally wistful approach fits the well chosen selection of reinventions perfectly giving new life to some and generally providing a very entertaining set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great, 3 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost Are Found (Audio CD)
I didn't actually recognise any of the songs. So, didn't feel like a covers album. The voice is as good as ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars we found Claudia...again, 16 Nov 2012
By 
Stefano Sacchi "STEFANO" (ITALY) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost Are Found (Audio CD)
This album is really a pearl.
The voice, the songs, the atmosphere....all is really magic.
I hope in a strong promotion, because this cd would deseve it.
Stefano
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Amazing, 8 Nov 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost Are Found (Audio CD)
What can I say about this release except that it is simply amazing. Anything that the wonderful Claudia pins her name to is guaranteed to be good.

This release is pretty down tempo but still an electronic joy.

Claudia's voice still sounds great with the infamous German accent and the music is fantastic.

Well worth the wait I just hope any future release doesn't take nearly ten years again...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Lost Are Found
The Lost Are Found by Claudia Brucken
Buy MP3 Album7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews