Customer Reviews


67 Reviews
5 star:
 (54)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A little bit naughty
After seeing the show on London's West End I was pleased to hear the original cast recording from the production in Stratford was very very close to what I heard on stage, maybe even better.

The score is slightly quirky and has several songs with lyrics seemingly impossible to fit into the music, but they do. And how.

The lyrics are fun and poignant...
Published on 16 Dec 2011 by S. F. J. Smeets

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bright and breezy Matilda
Bought as a gift for someone else. The recipient was well pleased and, having listened to it over Christmas I enjoyed it too.
Published 5 months ago by SarkBus


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A little bit naughty, 16 Dec 2011
By 
S. F. J. Smeets (Amsterdam, The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
After seeing the show on London's West End I was pleased to hear the original cast recording from the production in Stratford was very very close to what I heard on stage, maybe even better.

The score is slightly quirky and has several songs with lyrics seemingly impossible to fit into the music, but they do. And how.

The lyrics are fun and poignant and the arrangement is just complex enough to make this far more than a kids show. But then I hadn't expected anything less from Minchin. The cast is awesome. The kids are spectacular, the amazing Robert Madge of Gavroche (Les Miserables 25th Anniversary Concert) and Dodger (Oliver!) fame makes Nigel stand out and Matilda is impressive. But the true star of the show ofcourse can only be the cross-dressing Bertie Carvel as the hammer (and sometimes child) throwing headmistress Agatha Trunchbull.

Obviously the musical is based around Roald Dahl's children's book "Matilda".

The score opens with the wonderful "Miracle" and the birth of our protaganist Matilda. It then moves on to the uplifting "Naughty". Both songs are recurring themes for the rest of the score, which goes on to a cleverly worded ABC in the form of "School Song". Next up is the slight "Pathetic" by miss Honey which moves into our first confrontation with the Trunchbull as she explains how one gets to throw "The Hammer" for one's country, supported by the children singing latin hymns. Matilda's mother, smarting "front-bottom" and all, next explains to miss Honey how it's not about what you know but how "Loud" you can profess your ignorance. Another lament from Miss Honey about "This Little Girl" is followed by the wonderful "Bruce" whose largeness seems to be a bit like a Tardis (much roomier inside) as he devours an enormous chocolate cake. In the show it's now time for intermission followed by Matilda's dad praising the educational value of "Telly" and a musical "Entr'acte". We then move on to the next show-stopper as the kids and Miss Honey explain what they will do "When I grow Up". The moving "I'm Here" expands on Matilda's story-within-a-story about the escapologist and his acrobat wife. Then it's the Trunchbull's turn to set her nostrils to "The Smell of Rebellion". Her rage builds to a frenzy and at that point Matilda retreats into her own world where everything is "Quiet". She then wlaks home with Miss Honey who in "My House" explains a little about how she came to live in a shed. The show ends with the wonderful "Revolting Children" singing revolting songs using revolting rhymes (a nod to another Dahl work). But that's not entirely the end as the whole cast returns to the stage to sing "When I Grow Up (Reprise)". And as an added bonus keep listening after this finale to hear the Trunchbull go off in a rage.

A true classic in the making!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you haven't seen the show buy it - if you have seen the show you've probably already bought it, 21 Jun 2012
I was hoping the show would be as good as the awards had suggested but I was in no way prepared. It's by far the best West End show I've seen and a lot of that is down to the fantastic songs that Tim Minchin has penned. The soundtrack is superb and we've listened to it, well, probably too much since the show but the songs are so catchy I haven't got bored of it yet and I doubt I ever will.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Decent CD of the stage performance, 21 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Matilda The Musical (Audio CD)
I saw Matilda in the theatre in the West End - inventively staged and well performed. Personally I, and several others in our party, thought it was brilliant; opinion was quite sharply divided, mind, with some people quite unimpressed. I'd say it helps to have a slightly child-like mindset - if you like Dahl's stories, you're likely to enjoy the musical. I can't say that I feel the musical numbers are perhaps quite good enough to make any of them timeless classics - but like much of Tim Minchin's work, they're still clever (very clever, in a couple of cases) and catchy. As for the CD itself, that seemss technically fine; no problems I noticed. If you've seen Matilda on stage and enjoyed it there, you'll enjoy the CD. If not...I have no idea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Slice of What This Musical Can Offer, 26 Nov 2013
By 
This review is from: Matilda The Musical (Audio CD)
Matilda has been the darling of theatre critics in recent years, mainly for its comic moments, as well as being both appealing for both children and adults. So for those that have enjoyed the experience of seeing it on stage may wish to revisit the songs in one of these cast recordings. Whilst there seems to be a bit of absence of some of the comic timing that made the musical such a joy to watch, this cast recording will do the trick for those looking for their fix of this musical.
Whilst this cast recording is merely a slice of what this musical can offer, it does offer some rather good performances of all the key songs. It should be noted that this recording comes from 2011, and there is a Broadway cast recording from 2013, which does feature some of the score in its track listings. Therefore, with this in mind, getting this album may give you a good idea of what the songs are like from the musical, but not what the musical is really like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every song is a little gem!, 11 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Matilda The Musical (Audio CD)
It's been on our car stereo all week, and the children now sing along with all the 'best bits' (most memorable lines). My wife and I love the lyrics for the lines aimed at adults, and all of us love the melodies. I never knew Tim Minchin was so adaptable!

Highlights for me are 'Miracle' (with a great deal of script - the talking - included), 'School Song', 'Loud', 'Telly', the barn-storming 'When I Grow Up', the haunting 'I'm Here' and 'My House'.

Extra points go to Paul Kaye (Dennis Pennis to older readers, don't let that put you off) for making Mr Wormwood so funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great, but not as great as the show..., 24 Mar 2012
By 
This is great - we all know it is - and not much needs to be said about that. The only thing is: Bertie Carvel's performance has developed A LOT since this recording, and as a result, songs like The Smell of Rebellion are just no way near as good... The voice is very different. But otherwise, it's great - esp things like Revolting Children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best new British musical in years!, 27 Dec 2011
It comes as no surprise that 'Matilda The Musical' received raved reviews upon its premiere in Stratford, or that the recent west end production is playing to packed houses, brilliant reviews and has already been nominated for an array of theatrical awards. If you listen to the soundtrack you'll understand why!

This is truly one of the best new musicals since 2005's 'Billy Elliot'.

Tim Minchin has struck gold with his stunning music and lyrics, as they perfectly capture the spirit of Roal Dahls original novel; it's terribly dark, brilliantly funny and immensely poignant. Minchins score is nothing short of stunning. Ok so it doesn't have anywhere near as much 'power' and 'awe' as the big ones like Phantom or Les Mis, but it does not need too. This score is simple and intimate. The brilliantly imagined and excellently performed characters simply jump out at you when listening and even if you haven't seen it, the story is effectively told through the soundtrack. This musical just sounds like so much fun!

Look out for the cheeky "Naughty", the inspiring "When I Grow Up", the poignant "Quiet" and the raucous show-stopping "Revolting Children".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars i love it !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!, 26 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
if your a fan of this musical or just love musicals this cd is a must have for all collections with foot tapping music it tell the story from start to finish excellent buy have now booked tickets to see the show cant wait !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!!, 8 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Matilda The Musical (Audio CD)
A must buy for anyone who has seen the stage production, or who just simply loves the story. Since receiving this last month, my daughter has practically worn a groove in the disc, knows it word for word and learnt the dance moves! Definitely value for money 😊
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic music, 10 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Matilda The Musical (Audio CD)
I bought this prior to going to see the Musical with my 8 year old daughter. She has been playing this ever since! The songs are all so catchy and memorable and the kids are learning them all by heart. Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Matilda The Musical
Matilda The Musical by Original London Cast (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews