Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lights bright and visable, wireless never faulted
These indicators are easily seen during the day and night, and with the audible tone will not be left on by mistake. Seem durable and well worth the money.I
Published on 7 Dec. 2012 by Jeremy Gillett

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars IT'S TIME TO SAY GOODBYE...
(SCROLL DOWN FOR THE LATEST AMENDMENT BELOW!)

This indicator system looks terrific and when it works, works very well: a genuine addition to one's safety. I find it's great to use after making an initial hand-signal, switching it on to go through the turn so I can concentrate fully on balance and steering with both hands. I recommend it highly.

Two...
Published 22 months ago by Devi


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars IT'S TIME TO SAY GOODBYE..., 22 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cyclamatic Wireless Remote Control Bike Indicators (Misc.)
(SCROLL DOWN FOR THE LATEST AMENDMENT BELOW!)

This indicator system looks terrific and when it works, works very well: a genuine addition to one's safety. I find it's great to use after making an initial hand-signal, switching it on to go through the turn so I can concentrate fully on balance and steering with both hands. I recommend it highly.

Two things to watch for, however.

1. The indicator unit has lugs that slide onto the fixture on the seat post, and these are made of plastic. You need to be careful when chaining your bike to a standard cycle parking rack that you don't knock the unit, as the plastic is easily cracked, leaving you with no way of fixing the rear unit onto the bike unless you use sellotape. This workaround actually works well-- but why didn't they use metal parts? Just park the bike with the indicator unit clear of the back upright of the cycle rack.

2. After a few months' use, the unit started to drop its radio contact with the control unit on the handlebars; at first, rarely, and fixable by giving the control unit a slight twist on the bars; but, eventually, very much more frequently, the result in each case being that the indicators either wouldn't switch on or wouldn't switch off, when the relevant button was pressed on the control unit. At the very end, the control unit lights were merely glowing, not shining properly to signal that the indicator was working, and that's with brand-new batteries.

I e-mailed the manufacturers pointing out that after just 4 months you couldn't really call it fair wear and tear and that the unit must have been faulty to start with. I had an instant response, friendly apology, and a promise of replacement with no requirement to return the old unit. The replacement came the very next day: wonderful service!

The reason I decided to stick with this product is that I'd noticed that one or two of the reviews of similar products also mention occasional dropped radio signals: the service it gives is a genuine addition to my safety; and so long as the new unit behaves itself reliably, all is well.

***** a few weeks later *****
This replacement works fine so far BUT the fixing lugs on the mount have fractured again as I gently leaned the bike against an upright. Fixed with black masking tape this time, so it does its job properly...

***** January 7th 2014... just a few weeks later still *****
The replacement mentioned above has developed the same fault as its two predecessors: a) won't switch on/off properly b) pilot light indicating whether it's on or off, on the rear unit, doesn't actually work properly c) control buttons on the front don't work reliably d) the 'beeping' sound that signals that the indicator is flashing is barely audible in the lightest traffic noise and sometimes simply disappears e) the indicator light itself sometimes doesn't come on, or switch off. EVERYTHING that could be wrong with this item, is wrong, and is a danger to life and limb.

Just a thought... if people writing reviews here on Amazon could occasionally provide an update, potential buyers could judge for themselves whether their initial optimism holds up after few weeks of use....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lights bright and visable, wireless never faulted, 7 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cyclamatic Wireless Remote Control Bike Indicators (Misc.)
These indicators are easily seen during the day and night, and with the audible tone will not be left on by mistake. Seem durable and well worth the money.I
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, but..., 14 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cyclamatic Wireless Remote Control Bike Indicators (Misc.)
This is very nice product. The indicators even make an audible noise whilst they are operating. You can even select both indicators at once to signal you are stopping or in trouble of some kind. I have given it four stars instead of five, because it is not currently supplied with the four AAA batteries the indicator unit needs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Indicators and hazard lights, 19 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cyclamatic Wireless Remote Control Bike Indicators (Misc.)
These are a good design. I would like to see improvements, however, to make them even better. First: metal brackets and a wider selection of fastening holes and shapes, to fit with carriers and boxes. Second: brake lights in the middle, via a detector on the brake handle would be great, especially if hydraulic-disc compatible. Apart from that, it's all good. Tested with fresh batteries to over 30m uninterrupted line of sight distance. Shorter when batteries in controller or light unit are low or metal objects in the way.
Very handy hazard-lights function. Beeper sounds whenever lights used: would be nice to be able to adjust beeper volume.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Need for improvement, 27 July 2014
This review is from: Cyclamatic Wireless Remote Control Bike Indicators (Misc.)
Fine when it works correctly, but for me this was only about 30% of the time. For the rest, about 30% of the time the indicator unit signal came on, but then would not switch off again from the handlebar set. The other 40% of the time it would not work at all. I think this may be due to the battery in the handlebar unit not being sufficiently well secured and losing contact with the terminals as a result of bumps in the road surface. This is not a reliable enough indicator to be used when in traffic. A good idea, but some design improvement needed in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars really handy, 8 Mar. 2014
By 
deb (chester uk) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cyclamatic Wireless Remote Control Bike Indicators (Misc.)
extra safety ,really good .bright,i wobble when i indicate with my hand going left so this really helps ,would recommend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars indicators, 8 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cyclamatic Wireless Remote Control Bike Indicators (Misc.)
great when I first put them on 2 weeks down the line
hard to get them to switch on and stay on.
then when your cycling and indicate they would not switch off
put them in the bin still indicating.
Dave.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars bike indicaters, 22 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cyclamatic Wireless Remote Control Bike Indicators (Misc.)
I bought this for my son who rides 5miles to work each day (diabetic reasons) He is so pleased and gets so many people asking about them and I am pleased as a driver to see them in use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great product, 10 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cyclamatic Wireless Remote Control Bike Indicators (Misc.)
Good value, works well, easy to fit. Very clear indications both at night and in daylight. I feel much safer with it fitted. Lewis
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent idea, but not robust enough, 9 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cyclamatic Wireless Remote Control Bike Indicators (Misc.)
This is a really good idea - anything that makes cycling safer is, and this certainly gives a clear indication to those following you of your intentions. You still have to put you arm out to signal to anyone coming towards you, but as its usually those following that you need to be most worried about its well worth having. The LED lights are bright enough for the most part, maybe not much cop in the bright sunshine but thats hardly a great problem, they are perfectly acceptable for the twilight and hours of darkness.

Fitting it was easy enough, but the fitting kit only really allows for "standard" size bikes - mine has a larger diameter seat post and smaller diameter handlebars so I had to get longer and shorter bolts and faff around a bit, and while the final fitting isn't ideal, it does the job. Both the light and control units can be removed from the bike for safe keeping, but the release clip on the control units was badly made so didn't actually release, so I had to file it down to make to work

The greater problem is that the light unit simply isn't robust enough. The small plastic lugs that locate it onto the bike mounting are small and fragile and broke almost immediately - second day out I leant my bike up against a rail before chaining it up, it hadn't noticed that the light unit was in contact with the rail, and this forced the unit from its bracket and bent back one of the two lugs, and the the second lug actually broke off while I was riding over a bumpy bit of road later on the same day. As a result I've had to bolt the unit to its mount, it does the trick, but not ideal. It can't now be removed, but then again, tricky to steal too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews