Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


48 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hu Hai Ho to Norway we shall go
One of the finest Garbarek recordings that I have heard. Very distinctive stuff from the Norwegian sax man. He ploughs his own furrow much as does other sax giant John Surman. I guess a lot of it is difficult to describe as jazz music. What it is, is very, very good music. Garbarek has wonderful tone and control. His sound is unique.
Two tracks feature vocals from...
Published on 14 Nov 2002 by Mr P

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some stunning tracks mixed in with some mediocre stuff
Jan Garbarek was recommended to me so I took a punt on this cd. Some of it is a bit like the stuff used to back those questionable relaxation cds with smooth talking Californians trying to lull you into the 'experience'. Having said that some of the tracks are quite brilliant. I think I would take another punt on a different cd of his and will persist listening to it...
Published 19 months ago by Adam. Southsea Hants


Most Helpful First | Newest First

48 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hu Hai Ho to Norway we shall go, 14 Nov 2002
By 
Mr P "radletteer" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Twelve Moons (Audio CD)
One of the finest Garbarek recordings that I have heard. Very distinctive stuff from the Norwegian sax man. He ploughs his own furrow much as does other sax giant John Surman. I guess a lot of it is difficult to describe as jazz music. What it is, is very, very good music. Garbarek has wonderful tone and control. His sound is unique.
Two tracks feature vocals from Agnes Buen Garnas and then Mari Boine both singing presumably in Norwegian. Very moving stuff.
Garbarek never shys away from a high register denouement to a song and that may be my only complaint.
Excellent complimentary work from Rainer Brununghaus on piano, Eberhard Webber bass, Manu Katche drums and Marilyn Mazur percussion.
Track 7, The traditional Gautes-Margjit is more jazzy. To me this interpretation seems to draw inspiration probably subliminally from John Coltrane. It is a piece of music that builds up tension and feeling with fine percussion from Katche and Mazur and some thoughtful piano. Garbareks solo is impassioned before the quieter percussion led end. My favourite track.
Huhai too is a gem including the traditional Sami joik "Oskar-An'te" highlighting a really catchy little melody.
The closing Witchi-Tai-To is a Jim Pepper composition and this reading is beautiful fitting in so well with what has gone before. A very astute choice to close this fine offering.
I guess the enjoyment would be heightened if you were surrounded by the striking Norwegian countryside that so inspires Garbarek but just close your eyes and drift away....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent music of course, 10 Jan 2011
By 
Rabber Exile (Worcestershire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Twelve Moons (Audio CD)
as usual Garbaek produces music that makes your spirit soar amazing to listen to in the car or relaxing in the home, even better blaring out when you are sitting outside with a fire or by moonlight, it is atmospheric and leaves you begging for more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Twelve Moons is a new world, 25 Sep 2009
By 
Mr. J. W. Thompson "Traveller" (Cumbria, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Twelve Moons (Audio CD)
I am new to the idea of Folk Jazz inspired to look up Garbarek on the web following the use of his music in an advert for bottled water (and if anyone knows the name of that track I'd be grateful for the info.) Twelve Moons has taken me to areas of my mind that I never knew existed. I would have said that I had a phobia about jazz, but now I find a whole new vista open before me with my senses so overloaded that I know I'll be trying to work the cd out for years.
It never sounds the same. It always transports me light years away in my thought universe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Jan garbarek, 19 Feb 2013
By 
Mr. David El Baz (Oxford. England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twelve Moons (Audio CD)
lovely CD with fantastic pieces of music ; helps relaxing ... the service was very efficient and professional. Would recommend them .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some stunning tracks mixed in with some mediocre stuff, 12 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twelve Moons (Audio CD)
Jan Garbarek was recommended to me so I took a punt on this cd. Some of it is a bit like the stuff used to back those questionable relaxation cds with smooth talking Californians trying to lull you into the 'experience'. Having said that some of the tracks are quite brilliant. I think I would take another punt on a different cd of his and will persist listening to it because he is obviously a brilliant musician. May be a change in producer?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic modern classic, 25 May 2004
By 
Jennifer E. Patrick "jeni wren" (Felixstowe, Suffolk United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Twelve Moons (Audio CD)
This CD is stunning, track three blows me away. I can't express how amazing it makes me feel, buy it and listen to all of the songs. Put track three on repeat!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Twelve Moons
Twelve Moons by Jan Garbarek Group
Buy MP3 Album£6.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews