Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars I can only agree with the rest, 28 Mar 2013
By 
L. Howlett (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: King Of Conflict (Audio CD)
As all previous reviewers suggest, this is one of the best debuts in recent years without a doubt. I have been listening to this on the headphones but recently had the opportunity to crank it up on the hi-fi (wife and daughter out) and boy, does it rock!

What makes it so special? For me it's a combination of driving rhythms, an Arctic Monkeys northern-type twist on the vocals, catchy songs and great choruses. These songs are heavy, but all have a sense of melody and rhythm and for a three piece the sound is simply room filling.

It's difficult to compare the Virginmarys with anything contemporary because they have successfully infused so many genres on this album. From the strident Nirvana style openers Dead Man's Shoes and Portrait of Red to the White Stripes blues rock of My Little Girl, this band appear to have been listening to the right stuff. And do I detect a nod to the 80s in Dressed to Kill - the solo could have come from Big Country or U2.

By hitting so many classic rock buttons the band are sure to gain wide appeal, and why shouldn't they - if I buy a better new release this year I will be a very happy bunny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Rock Album!!!, 13 Mar 2013
This review is from: King of Conflict (MP3 Download)
Never heard of these guys before but the album is AMAZING. Has Arctic Monekys'esc vocals with some good punchy rock!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!!, 8 Mar 2013
By 
Lorrae Vernon "lollyrae" (aberdeenshire U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: King Of Conflict (Audio CD)
Wow what an album! Every track is memorable from the off. A must have for people with good musical taste
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Don't be stupid, 11 Feb 2013
This review is from: King of Conflict (MP3 Download)
If you don't buy this album, you're stupid.

It is such an incredible mix of addictive riffs, toe tapping drum beats and relateable lyrics.
You won't hear anything this good anytime soon so;

I repeat, don't be effing stupid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... album takes me back to when British rock was great. The leads voice is rustic with a bluesy ..., 16 Nov 2014
This review is from: King Of Conflict (Audio CD)
This album takes me back to when British rock was great. The leads voice is rustic with a bluesy tone. The guys are energenic and put on a great gig. The album is amazing and I love the accoustic version, worth every penny!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rock music my old friend . . . . it's so good to finally see you again!, 14 Mar 2013
By 
Louise (West Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: King of Conflict (MP3 Download)
In a world dominated by the likes of Will.i.am, Nicki Minaj and Justin Bieber (for Christ's sake) I had started to believe rock music - PROPER rock music - was a dying art. I frequently have a flick through the music channels on TV and frankly it makes me want to cry, there just didn't seem to be anything exciting out there anymore. Even the likes of Kerrang seemed to play the same stuff all the time, All Time Low, You Me At Six, Paramore etc and while they are all okay that is pretty much the most positive thing I can say about them. They're just okay. It was depressing.

Enter the Virginmarys.

I hadn't heard of the Virginmarys until I saw them support Feeder in November last year and I was blown away. You know how it is when you go to gigs, sometimes the support bands are okay, sometimes they are bloody awful but on occasion you come across a band or an artist that knocks your socks off and the Virginmarys are such a band. They opened with Bang Bang Bang and it was one of those jaw dropping "wow, this is amazing" moments. It's been such a long time since I've been so impressed by a band - their dynamic on stage, the vocals of Ally Dickaty, the drummer totally beating the crap out of the drums, you could tell it was a pleasure for them to be playing and they were simply spectacular. I got the two EP's they were selling after they finished playing and looked forward to the release of the album.

A few months later King of Conflict is released. It is perfection.

It's the best album I've heard in such a long time and most definitely the best debut I've heard in years. Both Ally Dickaty's vocals and guitar playing are amazing with great riffs and solos, Matt Rose is a fantastic bass player and Danny Dolan is awesome on the drums - the album is 50+ minutes of excellence. My personal favourites are Portrait of Red (written about domestic abuse with the less thought about scenario of the male being the victim), Bang Bang Bang, Running for my Life and Dressed to Kill. The hidden track at the end of the album (about 12 minutes in) is also fantastic and shows the band's "softer" side but without them losing their edge and going all "ballady" (I know that's not a real word but you know what I mean).

I had the opportunity to see them play live again last week at a small venue in Birmingham and they were outstanding, they OWN the stage. I honestly can not say enough good things about this band and the album. If you ever have the opportunity to see them play live, grab it with both hands because you will not be disappointed.

This band has restored my faith in rock music!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 Nov 2014
By 
Mr. M. Magdalinos (LONDON U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: King of Conflict (MP3 Download)
I just love this album!! Amazing songs and performances. A very authentic band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Try it, 15 Feb 2013
This review is from: King Of Conflict (Audio CD)
The other reviews here say it for me. Saw them in Carlisle, Bought the E.Ps . Bought this. Bought tickets for preston. Gotta give this one a listen, trust me you'll be impressed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Immaculate!, 12 Feb 2013
By 
Mr. P. Caveney "Philcave1" (Manchester UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: King Of Conflict (Audio CD)
Quite simply the most exciting rock band to emerge from the UK in decades. Since I first saw them playing in a sweaty little pub in Stockport, three years ago, I've been watching these three young musicians spread their wings - and now with the release of their first proper album, they are finally ready to take flight. From the high octane riffing of Dead Man's Shoes, through the chugging feel-good brilliance of Lost Weekend, to the bluesy pile-driving delights of My Little Girl, this is a record that demands your attention. Crank up the volume and ENJOY!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ROCK 'N' ROLL FOR THE 21st CENTURY!, 8 Feb 2013
This review is from: King Of Conflict (Audio CD)
This is quite simply the finest rock album i've heard since Radiohead's 'OK Computer'. King Of Conflict is 50 minutes of foot tapping, fist pumping energy wrapped up in 12 excellent songs (and one bonus track). The Virginmarys have attracted much admiration for their live performances and producer Toby Jepson has tried to encapsulate that on this record. There is very little studio wizardry here, its largely just 3 instruments and some powerful vocals. But boy do those instruments create some noise. Matt Rose's bass playing is sublime, but Danny Dolan's drumming has to be heard to be believed. In any other band he would be the star of the show but when you have a guitarist as talented as Ally Dickaty it must be pretty hard to get yourself noticed. For those looking for a rock album full of riffs, licks, and solo's get downloading this straight away. Indeed the solo on album closer 'Ends Don't Mend' wouldn't be out of place on a Zeppelin or Pink Floyd record. And Ally's talents don't end with his guitar playing. This album has some great lyrics. It's the usual rock staple of love gone wrong, drugs, and drunkenness, but far superior to most other bands offerings.

Amongst all this praise i must balance it out with some criticism. 5 of the songs have appeared previously on various EP's and some songs (Out Of Mind/Lost Weekend) sound like Oasis era rock, and although certainly not bad they are notably the weaker tracks on the album. In fact almost all the songs follow the verse-chorus 3-4 minute cliche, it would have been nice to have this broken up with some more experimental, less formulaic songs (e.g.) Nothin To Lose or Satellite. Also Dickaty is such a good guitarist that you want him to break out and play a solo for a minute or two (Jimmy Page style). Arguably their 3 best songs (Soul Vampire/Silence/Brothers) have also missed the cut. I hope this is because they are being saved for their next album and they haven't been forgotten about (the fact that 2 of those songs have large acoustic parts could be a reason why they haven't been included here). And finally, why do bands add secret tracks on to the end of albums? all it means is at the end of the final song you get 3 minutes of silence before another song starts, and although the song is pretty good (Stripped) its been released before so is pretty pointless.

All in all tho this is a fantastic record that must be heard. Buy it instantly, play it loud, annoy the neighbours, then play it again. Finally there is a rock band to get excited about again.

Best Songs: Portrait Of Red, Dressed To Kill, Ends Don't Mend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

King Of Conflict
King Of Conflict by the virginmarys (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews