Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Anger And Aggression. Heartbreak And Tears, 4 Feb 2013
This review is from: King Of Conflict (Audio CD)
I can't remember the last time I've been so impressed by a debut release. For me The Virginmarys are the most exciting thing to hit the music scene since Oasis and if there is any justice the Macclesfield trio will reach the dizzy heights of success as those Manchester boys. And the thing is The Virginmarys have the songs, look, swagger and talent to pull it off.
The lead singers voice is cross between Caleb Followill (Kings Of Leon) with hints of Alex Turner (Arctic Monkeys) with a little bit of Lemmy (Motörhead) thrown in for that gravelly power. It makes for a very distinctive combination. Talking of power this album has it, think Foo Fighter meets Black Sabbath and you'll be along the right lines.

If you've heard the single "Dead Man's Shoes" then you'll know what to expect but don't think for a second that this is one track album, it's far from it. That's what makes this debut so impressive, it's 12 tracks (13 with the hidden track) of power and movement, controlled anger and aggression, heartbreak and tears. But what is really wonderful about this album is that you can tell that this band really enjoy playing their instruments and playing them together. It gives the album its soul.

The Attention Grabber: Dead Man's Shoes
Personal Favourite: Running For My Life
Favourite Vocal Performance: Ends Don't Mend
Special Mention: Stripped (Hidden Track) - Such a wonderfully soulful, delicate song. It shows this band can slow things down and still sound excellent.

Overall: 5/5 Buy It, Buy it NOW!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic., 24 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: King Of Conflict (Audio CD)
Great band, great album.

I love his voice, its so different from everything else out there.

Some of the lyrics are a bit twisted (portrait of red in particular) but thats what I love about Virginmarys.

(Theyre also fantastic live)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, fresh new band, 14 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: King Of Conflict (Audio CD)
Sounding like classic rock, with a bit of Indie, Arctic Monkey like edge to it. Lots of promise and looking forward to see how they develop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars amazing, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: King Of Conflict (Audio CD)
This album is just a must have, I absolutely love it would definitely recommend the duluxe version. There is not one song I dont like
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Album of the year!!!!, 17 Nov 2013
This review is from: King Of Conflict (Audio CD)
Like many of the great rock bands of the last 30 years (Husker Du, Gang of 4 etc....) The Virginmarys defy comparison. They proudly plough their own furrow. The snarling vocals of punk, the guitar heft of rock and the tunes of pop. Great songs, a live show that'll leave you're head spinning and ears ringing for days. Get this album NOW!!! Recent winners of "Break through act of the year" at the Classic Rock awards. Congratulations fellas. They are, I hope, only one support tour away from mega stardom. They really deserve it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great limited edition version, 3 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: King of Conflict (Audio CD)
This CD was quite expensive, but as it is a limited edition and signed, I thought I would treat myself.
Its a really well designed case, and has a numbered sticker inside.
The CDs are both great, and having the acoustic disc as a bonus is good, as it shows the musicianship of the band more. Decided to go and see the band on tour on the strength of this CD, so they must be doing something right!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love it!!!, 7 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: King Of Conflict (Audio CD)
An excellent introduction album fr...m these guys...i'm no music buff so you'll have to use some of the more intelligent reviews for a descriptive review...all i can say is that i saw this band at hyde park and they were great...the album is just as good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great album, 3 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: King Of Conflict (Audio CD)
First album by a great band, had to buy it &
it was well worth it, a Rock Band at its best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars From a freebie to f'n amazing, 24 April 2013
By 
Mr. I. H. MacKinnon "Kinnon" (Kilmarnock, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: King of Conflict (MP3 Download)
Got bang bang bang as a free track from amazon many many months ago and everytime it pops up on my iPod it catches me out. Finally came on when I was online and remembered to look the band up to see what else they had been doing. The virginmarys have not disappointed. Energy, edge, and they don't just sound like angry kids! Love it.
Only disappointment is that I missed them when they played in Glasgow back in march. Will be keeping my eye on their fb page to make sure I don't miss them again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good strong Rock, 17 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: King Of Conflict (Audio CD)
This is the sort of stripped down balls out rock that is hard to find today, as a northern lad proud to support this local group before they become the headline act that they will surely become!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

King Of Conflict
King Of Conflict by the virginmarys (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews