Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best read in conjunction with the Coursera course
Keith Devlin makes mathematics interesting. This is something none of my maths teachers achieved when I was at school. If you think you are not very good a maths don't worry this book will awake a hidden interest in the subject. I read it because I took the Coursera course on the Introduction to Mathematical Thinking. So if you would like to think like a mathematician...
Published 22 months ago by JS_419

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not an easy book
Not an easy book for a generalist reader. It has obviously been written to stimulate interest in the subject but in my case it was rather less than successful. In particular the author's deliberate refusal to give any suggested answers to the questions raised was most irritating - unnecessarily unhelpful as one could not tell whether one had properly grasped the point(s)...
Published 20 months ago by WILLIAM HAMISH McLEAN RUSSELL


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best read in conjunction with the Coursera course, 9 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Keith Devlin makes mathematics interesting. This is something none of my maths teachers achieved when I was at school. If you think you are not very good a maths don't worry this book will awake a hidden interest in the subject. I read it because I took the Coursera course on the Introduction to Mathematical Thinking. So if you would like to think like a mathematician or, as in my case aspire to, then this book is essential reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good and accessible introduction to mathematical reasoning, 28 May 2013
By 
M. F. Cayley (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good and accessible introduction to mathematical reasoning, with exercises to test your comprehension. It covers logic and mathematical proof, and does not require much previous mathematical knowledge, so it is accessible to lay readers as well as people studying maths at school or university.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Book - shame about the formatting, 12 Mar. 2013
By 
N.L.Haddy "Semper Viridis" (Chesterfield, Derbyshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Introduction to Mathematical Thinking (Kindle Edition)
I have the print copy but decided to get the EBook for my Kindle Fire. Firstly this is an excellent introduction to logic and mathematical proof. However, being a 'mathematical' text there are a lot of Greek characters - some of which do not reproduce on the Kindle Fire - leaving a series of empty squares. Strangely enough this is not reproduced on my Kindle for Ipad app. Other than that flaw it woukld get 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great companion for the coursera coure. Would recommend it., 24 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great companion for the coursera coure. Would recommend it to anyone interested in maths. The course is unique and you will find yourself having a productive/enjoyable time. The textbooks merely makes the course easier for visual learners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent introduction to Mathematical thinking, 7 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an execellent Introduction to Mathematical Thinking, not only to those who want to og for a major in mathematics, but also for others who can benefit from this en everyday life by improving aqnalytical thinking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 15 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Looking to develop my mathematical skills to a higher level (beyond that which I left off after my school years) this book provides that much needed bridge to further study. His approach challenges the reader and encourages deeper thinking. Would highly recommend reading this book in conjunction with his Coursera course of the same name.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not an easy book, 15 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not an easy book for a generalist reader. It has obviously been written to stimulate interest in the subject but in my case it was rather less than successful. In particular the author's deliberate refusal to give any suggested answers to the questions raised was most irritating - unnecessarily unhelpful as one could not tell whether one had properly grasped the point(s) under consideration. Overall I found it disappointing although, to be fair, this may have been due to my maths being somewhat rusty!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great tie in to the Corsera course, 7 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this because I really enjoyed the start of the Corsera course but did not have time to peruse it. Hopefully I will have more time with the book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very instructive, 2 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very instructive book, written by someone with a teacher's mind. Loads of material to think about, and an incredible amount of exercises. Guaranteed to keep your mind entertained and busy for a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 27 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not as friendly as I had hoped!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Introduction to Mathematical Thinking
£6.64
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews