Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cruise Can Really Sing!
There are lots of reviews on here detailing the full spectrum of opinions regarding this film. Personally, I was a teenager in the 80's and remember the era with great fondness (as do most teenagers from the 80s I think). A lot of the songs in Rock of Ages are were classics then and still are now.
But, that's not what's important here, is it? It's whether this film...
Published on 2 Dec. 2012 by Pantheon

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Tongue in Cheek, but great Sunday afternoon viewing!
I'm a massive fan of cheesy 80s rock and spent my 20s with a bubble perm, dressed in tassles and scarves and going to loads of concerts - Bon Jovi, Def Leppard et al. I also love Tom Cruise as an actor, he has a lot of criticism from viewers, but I like him, I like his acting and he looks good too.

However, I'm not a huge fan of musicals, especially the ones...
Published on 16 Jan. 2013 by Lincs Reader


‹ Previous | 1 235 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cruise Can Really Sing!, 2 Dec. 2012
By 
Pantheon (Boston, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
There are lots of reviews on here detailing the full spectrum of opinions regarding this film. Personally, I was a teenager in the 80's and remember the era with great fondness (as do most teenagers from the 80s I think). A lot of the songs in Rock of Ages are were classics then and still are now.
But, that's not what's important here, is it? It's whether this film works as a musical, whether Tom Cruise can sing, whether the film is a parody or a homage to the time it's set in? Well, rest assured, there's nothing much here to worry about.

CONS:
The story is as flimsy as a strippers knickers; and if you've seen Burlesque or Coyote Ugly then you've already seen this story too.
Diego Boneta (Drew) is a great singer but a poor actor. Whenever he has to speak it's obvious he's more comfortable singing.

PROS:
Everyone can and is singing!!
Diego Boneta's singing is incredible.
Tom Cruise can really sing and sounds amazing; and his performance is spot-on.
The film is visually great and director Adam Shankman (formerly a choreographer) really knows how to get the most out of the flimsy story and his actors.
Both Pat Benatar songs have the best dance routines too.

I loved the film. There were moments when the music overpowered the voices; but I kind of expected that with a rock musical.
Would I put this on if I had a choice of other movie musicals (Dream Girls, Chicago, Phantom of the Opera)? No. But if I wanted to watch a fun movie with some very fun one-liners, great performances and pure escapism in spades, then this would be it!

Lastly, every few years Tom Cruise takes a risk in his career and does a part that most critics think is wrong - Interview with the Vampire, Magnolia, Born on the 4th of July and now Rock of Ages. He's a brave man to be playing a drunk, over-sexed, damaged, fading rock-god; but he does it so well I wonder if he went into acting as a backup! Well done, Mr. Cruise!

This is a review of the Blu-ray so I should end with something specific to that format: the picture and audio quality are superb (Eng DTS HD Master). In addition to the DVD special features there are exclusive featurettes on this disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 80s nostalgia to relieve, 16 Jun. 2012
By 
Mr. P. Datta "Pritthijit" (Stockton on Tees, Teesside) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rock of Ages (DVD + UV Copy) (DVD)
Anyone who loves the 80s would definitely love Rock of Ages. It is an entertaining and feel good musical. I welcome the idea of bringing back the 80s to the big screen through a strong musical production. It has been well thought out and choreographed with a host of fine musical performances and appropriately used to match certain scenes. It is well written and researched. The atmosphere is nostalgic and electrifying, as we catch a vivid picture of what the 80's decade was like in terms of the music scene. I thoroughly enjoyed the film. It features a host of classic rock ballads from the decade, such as Foreigner, Bon Jovi, Guns N Roses, Whitesnake, Def Leppard, Journey, Posion, Reo Speed Wagon and a few more. These bands provide some memorable tracks of the decade to listen timelessly.

Rock of Ages unfolds a story, as most musicals seek to achieve.. It takes us on a journey to 1987 Los Angeles. The plot is about two young individuals who share similar ambitions of making it big. The characters are Sherrie and Drew. These actors are newcomers to the industry and show plenty of potential. The two characters have left their hometowns to embark on a new life in LA. Do they achieve their dreams or does it reach a disaster? The film explores other characters as well. It features a strong cast including Alec Bladwin, a club owner, Russell Brand, a crazy assistant, Mary Blige, another owner, Tom Cruise, an ageing rock star and Catherine Zeta Jones, a mayor's wife and a campaigner against rock music. We see plenty of character development. The characters are sketched well, as it highlights how fame and success affects certain characters in different ways.

Rock music was not viewed favourably by a certain minority due to image it projected as being strongly influenced by drugs and sex. There was a conflict of interest between club owners and music performers involving record producers. It provides an interesting and insightful journey showing how it all started, at Sunset Strip; a well known nightclub. The nightclub provided a platform for some of the most inspirational rock bands to emerge in the scene during the decade. These bands performed to a large crowd. The experience is relived through the key characters performing the music. We hear many well known tracks of the decade.

Rock of Ages promotes 80s rock music. I am massive fan of 80s music. The film provides a musical treat to enjoy and to relieve the good old days of the decade, as many of us share special memories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Rock musical, 27 April 2013
This review is from: Rock Of Ages [Blu-ray] [2012] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Just watched Rock Of Ages with Tom Cruise the film was amazing I loved it so much it was one of those shock surprise films I did not expect it to be so good its up there with other musical classics like Mam a Mia and Grease etc simply awesome film and loads of great 80's rock metal LOVE IT :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I love rock and roll, 28 Jun. 2012
By 
Mr. R. W. Graham (Lincoln, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rock of Ages (DVD + UV Copy) (DVD)
A very silly and over the top film but a lot of fun to watch with a great and very game cast on top form and a lot of great 80's tunes. It admittedly has the very flimsiest of plots, very basic boy meets girl tale, boy wants to be a famous rock star like his hero Stacee Jax, an excellent Tom Cruise, girl wants to be a singer and both work at the Bourbon club run by a movie stealing Alec Baldwin and Russell Brand where Jax's band Arsenal made it big and are scheduled to play. The mayor of L.A. played by Breaking Bad's Bryan Cranston and his wife Catherine Zeta Jones want the club shut down and there's Jax and his manager, Paul Giammatti to deal with too. If not taken seriously there is plenty to enjoy here and it helps that the entire cast can carry a tune too. Catherine Zeta Jones we already know can carry a tune from the oscar winning Chicago but who would have thought that Tom Cruise and Alec Baldwin could too??!! The 1987 setting is sheer nostalgia and you'll soon be toe tapping away to the 80's music. The plot is barely there but worth it just for the music and cast and great fun if not taken seriously.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Film!, 19 Aug. 2013
By 
J. Molloy "P&PMum" (South Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rock Of Ages [DVD] (DVD)
Love, love, love this film. The whole family love it. Back to the 80's with amazing music and the stars looking brilliant and fab and funny acting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't stop believing!!!, 26 Jan. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rock Of Ages [DVD] (DVD)
Just a small town girl, making her way in a lonely world. If you love Rock you will love this film. It is done as Grease [DVD] [1978] with Rock anthems. I loved it!

Small town girl Julianne Hough moves to LA fulfill her dream of fame. Geting the full LA experience of being mugged and penny less moments after arriving, she is helped out by the bar hand at the local institution of Rock called the Burben. After convincing owners and "close" friends Baldwin and Brand to hire her as a waitress, their romance starts, but can it stand up to the demands of their dreams, and possible fame offered to Drew?

On another front the new Mayor is trying to shut down the Burbon as Rock is currupting the younger generation. His wife seems to have a personal vendetta against Stacy Jacks played by Tom Cruise (based on Axl Rose) who does a grest job playing a Megastar (must be hard getting life experience of that for him) Rock Icon. I respect Cruise as an actor, but a couple of time it sounded like his voice on the Rock song covers. Another impressive accolade he can add to his skill set.

I espically do like the fact that this is a love story. On more than one front, and the fact that it shows Rock anthems are not about violence, I find hip hop and R&B songs to have much more disrespectful lyrics and/or foul language then rock songs. However this is about the film which is great. The whole cast work great together, the acting is good, the music speaks for itself. ROCK ON!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rock of Ages, 1 Nov. 2012
This review is from: Rock of Ages (DVD + UV Copy) (DVD)
The plot for this film is extremely cheesy for the most part, not something I was expecting considering it is a film about rock music. With main character Sherrie heading off to L.A to make it to the big time and her quickly finding a love interest, it was clear to see how the rest of the film was going to be. From here, I was ready for 2 hours' worth of cheese. However, this isn't always a bad thing because it makes for some easy watching even with predictability being a high factor. As nice as the two main characters were, they were a little too nice for my liking and neither one had anything really special about them.
This is where Stacee Jaxx makes the film a little more interesting. Played by Tom Cruise, Jaxx is known as a Rock God with a huge reputation for letting people down and having girls faint at his feet. I used to really love Tom Cruise in his earlier roles but have found his newer films to not be nearly as good. However, I think he was amazing in Rock of Ages. Playing someone so arrogant and full of themselves seems to suit Cruise really well but he does give a fantastic performance at the same time. This is the first musical Cruise has ever been in and after reading an interview somewhere, I found out that he had months of vocal training before starting this film. While his voice isn't amazing in the soundtrack, especially compared with some of the other cast, he does good enough. As Jaxx, Cruise adds in a darker aspect to the film which is nowhere near light and fluffy like the main characters.

Other cast members include Alec Baldwin, Russell Brand and Catherine Zeta-Jones who all do an ok job but nothing amazing. Then there is Mary J. Blige who was seriously underused. Playing Justice Charlier, Blige is only in the film for a short amount of time. She barely gets any songs to sing and certainly none of the biggest ones of the film. As such a well-known singer, I thought that she would have had a more important role or at least had her vocal talents showcased. Her character is the owner of a strip club which is where she meets Sherrie. I think this part of the film was basically a filler and it didn't really have anything important to add.
The soundtrack is really what makes this film great. With a mix of fast and slow songs from the era, there is something for everyone. While the ballads were pretty boring for me, I loved the more up tempo numbers as they added a lot more fun and excitement to the plot. With songs like Hit Me With Your Best Shot, Any Way You Want It and We're Not Gonna Take It, it gives the film a really happy feeling to it and there are plenty of songs to sing along to. I was only 1 in the year this film was set in but I did know the majority of the songs that were used so if you weren't around then, it doesn't matter at all.

Overall, Rock of Ages is really cheesy but super fun at the same time. It won't appeal to everyone but for anyone who likes musical films, it's a good way to spend 2 hours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars DON'T STOP BELIEVING, 6 July 2013
This review is from: Rock of Ages (DVD + UV Copy) (DVD)
This is perhaps the best rock and roll fable since "Streets of Fire." The music incorporates 80's rock songs into a fictitious 1980's Los Angeles setting. The mayor's wife (Catherine Zeta-Jones) is leading a crusade against rock, especially Stacee Jaxx (Tom Cruise) a heavy metal rocker god in the midst of a waning career needing a kick start. Julianne Hough and Diego Boneta star as the two wanna-be rock stars. Oh if they could just get their break....

The music is both the plus and minus side to the film. It comes across as a movie which upholds the standards of rock, but succumbs to the evils such as lip syncing and mistaking glam rock for heavy metal. I enjoyed the cliche filled predictable story. The seasoned veterans of the film seemed to have enjoyed making this production as it lacks any seriousness. I spent most of the movie waiting for the talking to get over and the next song to begin. My biggest problem with this film was believing the character of heavy metal rock star Stacee Jaxx which rhymes too much with Terry Jacks (Seasons in the Sun). The could have done better.

PARENTAL GUIDE: 1 f-bomb, no nudity other than butt cheeks. There are a number of suggestive/kinky scenes, such as a spanking, undressing, a near grope, stage dancing, and near or suggestive sex. A little too adult for the kids, a little too immature for adults. The heavy PG-13, near R rating may save it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'CRUISE CONTROL' (The guy can sing), 22 Jun. 2014
By 
rbmusicman/and/movie-fan' (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
The film will allmost certainly 'Rock' yer' Sock's off, within minutes of the start of the film you'll be tapping yer' feet with a huge smile on yer' face.............if not, well ?
The film tells the tale of two youngster's 'Sherrie'(Julianne Hough') and 'Drew'(Diego Boneta') trying to follow their dreams of stardom in Hollywood.
Both work in the 'Bourbon Club' which is fronted by 'Dennis' (Alec Baldwin) and 'Lonny' (Russell Brand)
The club owners think their ship has come in when 'aging' rock-icon 'Stacee Jaxx' (Tom Cruise) and his group agree to do a gig at the club.
The introduction of the 'Rock- Star into the lives of 'Sherrie' and 'Drew' causes friction between the two love-birds due to a misunderstanding.
The movie at times put me in mind of a rock version of 'Grease' but for me a whole lot more fun.
With some enjoyable versions of one or two 'rock-ballad' classics along with some really good new material written for the movie, The film is indeed hugely enjoyable ( I also invested in the 'CD' )
'Tom Cruise' as 'Stacee Jaxx' is quite brilliant, great performances also from 'Alec Baldwin' 'Russell Brand' with 'Jullianne Hough' who plays 'Sherrie' ( she, i believe has a great future ahead )
All in all, if you like 'rock'n'roll' the film is hugely enjoyable......a must see
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Fun!, 18 Jun. 2012
By 
Emma Wright (Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's not often I leave the cinema grinning from ear to ear, but Rock of Ages just had that effect on me! It's a film that doesn't take itself too seriously and is just incredible fun. Lots of really catchy songs from the 80's have you wanting to dance and sing along, and are used really well to help tell the story.
The plot of the film isn't exactly genius, but it's entertaining, light-hearted, and it's acted very well: particularly by Russell Brand and Alec Baldwin who make the perfect duo and have scenes that saw me creased with laughter! Tom Cruise seemed a very dodgy choice when I first saw the trailer, yet actually I now think he was perfect for the role of Stacee Jaxx. Fair enough, in many places the singing isn't great, but it's in tune and passable, and with this kind of music it doesn't really even matter. Where it matters, they have good singers, so in that respect it's all good!
I think Russell Brand summed it up really well in an interview - it won't cure your life problems, but it's an excellent distraction! I highly recommend it for people who want a really good two hour grinning session! :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 235 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rock Of Ages [Blu-ray] [2012] [Region Free]
Rock Of Ages [Blu-ray] [2012] [Region Free] by Adam Shankman (Blu-ray - 2012)
£7.10
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews