Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars216
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 June 2012
This is an unusual film about a boy - who is clearly a very unusual boy. Previous review described the boy as 'annoying' ... i think they have missed the point of the character. The boy is intense and would clearly be classed as very high functioning autistic (which is briefly mentioned in the film) - i didn't find him annoying at all, i found him charming and very moving. Highly intelligent but struggles with people and his own emotions. His father works with him constantly to encourage him to interact with people and face situations he (the boy) thinks he can't cope with. They play games, invent games with clues to be solved - and are just so close. Then it happens - that day. After that the boy has to cope without his dad and this story is the boy trying to move on, trying to cope with so much going on in his brain, trying to cope with his grief. The mum seems to be distant, not at all close with her son but really (and obviously ) she understands her sons problems and this will become clear. Its not a typical film about a child, this is a child with emotional problems - suberbly acted and i really enjoyed it.
22 comments|80 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2013
Anybody who remembers the awful tragedy of 9/11 cannot fail to be moved by this film and I think it portrays what life must have been like for many children and adult partners as they sought and still seek to come to terms with that event and the loss of a loved one. The cast where great and there was real feeling in the way they acted which brought you into the situation whether you wanted to be there or not. A film well worth watching, if only to remind us just how fragile our time and relationship are, and it reminds us that what we leave behind are memories for others to cherish and respond to.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 26 July 2012
Format: DVD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
When Stephen Daldry's drama about a young boy trying to come to terms with the loss of his father was first released, the critics savaged it. Those that gave it more than one star damned it as "Oscar bait" and, indeed, Max von Sydow's non-speaking performance was, bizarrely, nominated for an Academy Award.

Very few people, however, took the time to look closely at the central performance by young Thomas Horn, who manages to carry the whole film despite never having acted before. Less charitable viewers have described his character as annoying, with too many irritating quirks; I disagree. Having some experience of being in the presence of children with autism, I recognised some of the classic traits in the character of Oskar - a precociously bright, single-minded child who finds it difficult to relate to others and who needs the world around him to make sense. In the script, Oskar even mentions that he'd had tests for Asperger's syndrome but that the results were "inconclusive".

There is a fairly thick layer of schmaltz overlaying the film and Sandra Bullock, playing Oskar's mother is criminally underused, but this is a film that draws you into its - or more precisely Oskar's - world so fully that you're compelled to watch it to its conclusion.

It most definitely isn't a film for everyone, but if you think it might be your type of film, it's worth a few quid just to marvel at the central performance. There is a section in the middle that slows the film down, and that's the reason I can't stretch to a four-star rating, but it's most definitely a solid three-and-a-bit.
0Comment|33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2013
a beautiful film - thought provoking - life affirming - and well shot. Don't listen to the critics that say it,s over sentimental - it's not but where sentimentality does exist it is well placed.
11 comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2016
This is an incredible film about life and death and pain which is something we all have to deal with , it also shows the added difficulty of having Autism and yet dealing with very deep emotions

I was so glad in the way Oscar got all his complex emotions out in the end and the scene on the swing shows him at peace with it all after his personal journey into healing

I also love the way the film shows we are all interconnected in many ways , we all have our own stories of sadness and loss etc but that is something which can bring us together , this is what I would call a film with many layers and beautifully touching and realistic , my Grandson has Autism so I could see the classic signs in Oscar and it shows we all can and need to heal in our own very personal way , whatever it takes
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2012
Heart warming and heart breaking: Inspiring ideas (all of Oscar's creations are so lovely - they'll definitely make you smile/giggle)and beautiful colours used throughout. If you've always wanted to visit New York, this film will just amplify that desire! Watch this with an open mind as the ideas and events are all emotional and powerful. The place you are taken to by the end - acceptance - is just right, like a lukewarm bath.
There are lots of very upsetting moments where you'll possibly be close to tears but after the 2 hours and 10 minutes, you'll definitely feel a lot more at ease.
Highly recommend the novel as well as his others (e.g. Everything is Illuminated)!
0Comment|27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The film tells the intense quest a young boy takes on when, one year after the 9/11 attack in which his father dies, he finds a envelope with a mystery key inside when breaking a vase in his fathers room.
'Oskar'(Thomas Horn) who cannot come to terms with his loss believes that the key will, if finding what it fits, help him make sense of what has happened.
He visits many people with the name 'Black' even being helped by what at first appears to be a stranger.
'Oskar' keeps running into a dead-end, will he find what he seeks ?
A really intense and moving film, well worth taking time out to watch.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2014
I bought this film originally because Sandra Bullock and Tom Hanks were in it. Without giving away too much of the story, it's a well written story that is very thought provoking. The young boy is played perfectly.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2014
I, laughed, cried, and got swept away as the plot unfolded. This is a moving story about loss, love, family, and humanity. The characters are well portrayed with some fantastic acting and a piece of genius directing. I would warn anyone who doesn't like an artistic film that needs interpretation and logic to forget it, you should stick to something simple. To all of the people giving this 1 star you are philistines and have obviously picked a movie outwith your limited range of understand.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 22 November 2012
One of the biggest mysteries in film lately has been how on earth Extremely Loud And Incredibly Close got lots of oscar nominations while the far superior Drive, Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy and Shame got snubbed. Well as Kate Winslett once said in Extras issues and tissues win oscars and in this film you get lots of both. A very good cast and the film is certainly very well acted with young Thomas Horn standing out as a name to watch with a great performance as a young boy devastated by the loss of his father played by Tom Hanks in the 9/11 terrorist attack finds a key that he thinks belonged to his father and runs all over New York trying to find out what it opens with the help of his elderly neighbour played by an excellent Max Von Sydow. Tom Hanks and Sandra Bullock play the boy's parents and while both give good solid performances both have done a lot better and a very good supporting cast including fine performances from John Goodman and Jeffrey Wright who again while good have done better and the story certainly keeps you interested but oscar worthy?? Well the academy does love Tom Hanks and the other films mentioned would have been too dark for the academy to handle despite being far superior so mystery solved.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)