Customer Reviews


156 Reviews
5 star:
 (89)
4 star:
 (36)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


71 of 73 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars unusual and beautifully acted
This is an unusual film about a boy - who is clearly a very unusual boy. Previous review described the boy as 'annoying' ... i think they have missed the point of the character. The boy is intense and would clearly be classed as very high functioning autistic (which is briefly mentioned in the film) - i didn't find him annoying at all, i found him charming and very...
Published on 3 Jun. 2012 by ms. Kit Meg

versus
28 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A film to be admired, if not enjoyed in the traditional sense
When Stephen Daldry's drama about a young boy trying to come to terms with the loss of his father was first released, the critics savaged it. Those that gave it more than one star damned it as "Oscar bait" and, indeed, Max von Sydow's non-speaking performance was, bizarrely, nominated for an Academy Award.

Very few people, however, took the time to look closely...
Published on 26 July 2012 by A. Chell


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

71 of 73 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars unusual and beautifully acted, 3 Jun. 2012
This is an unusual film about a boy - who is clearly a very unusual boy. Previous review described the boy as 'annoying' ... i think they have missed the point of the character. The boy is intense and would clearly be classed as very high functioning autistic (which is briefly mentioned in the film) - i didn't find him annoying at all, i found him charming and very moving. Highly intelligent but struggles with people and his own emotions. His father works with him constantly to encourage him to interact with people and face situations he (the boy) thinks he can't cope with. They play games, invent games with clues to be solved - and are just so close. Then it happens - that day. After that the boy has to cope without his dad and this story is the boy trying to move on, trying to cope with so much going on in his brain, trying to cope with his grief. The mum seems to be distant, not at all close with her son but really (and obviously ) she understands her sons problems and this will become clear. Its not a typical film about a child, this is a child with emotional problems - suberbly acted and i really enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful film..., 12 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
a beautiful film - thought provoking - life affirming - and well shot. Don't listen to the critics that say it,s over sentimental - it's not but where sentimentality does exist it is well placed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Moving, 13 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Anybody who remembers the awful tragedy of 9/11 cannot fail to be moved by this film and I think it portrays what life must have been like for many children and adult partners as they sought and still seek to come to terms with that event and the loss of a loved one. The cast where great and there was real feeling in the way they acted which brought you into the situation whether you wanted to be there or not. A film well worth watching, if only to remind us just how fragile our time and relationship are, and it reminds us that what we leave behind are memories for others to cherish and respond to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A film to be admired, if not enjoyed in the traditional sense, 26 July 2012
By 
A. Chell "Avid reader" (Staffordshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
When Stephen Daldry's drama about a young boy trying to come to terms with the loss of his father was first released, the critics savaged it. Those that gave it more than one star damned it as "Oscar bait" and, indeed, Max von Sydow's non-speaking performance was, bizarrely, nominated for an Academy Award.

Very few people, however, took the time to look closely at the central performance by young Thomas Horn, who manages to carry the whole film despite never having acted before. Less charitable viewers have described his character as annoying, with too many irritating quirks; I disagree. Having some experience of being in the presence of children with autism, I recognised some of the classic traits in the character of Oskar - a precociously bright, single-minded child who finds it difficult to relate to others and who needs the world around him to make sense. In the script, Oskar even mentions that he'd had tests for Asperger's syndrome but that the results were "inconclusive".

There is a fairly thick layer of schmaltz overlaying the film and Sandra Bullock, playing Oskar's mother is criminally underused, but this is a film that draws you into its - or more precisely Oskar's - world so fully that you're compelled to watch it to its conclusion.

It most definitely isn't a film for everyone, but if you think it might be your type of film, it's worth a few quid just to marvel at the central performance. There is a section in the middle that slows the film down, and that's the reason I can't stretch to a four-star rating, but it's most definitely a solid three-and-a-bit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 13 Feb. 2012
Heart warming and heart breaking: Inspiring ideas (all of Oscar's creations are so lovely - they'll definitely make you smile/giggle)and beautiful colours used throughout. If you've always wanted to visit New York, this film will just amplify that desire! Watch this with an open mind as the ideas and events are all emotional and powerful. The place you are taken to by the end - acceptance - is just right, like a lukewarm bath.
There are lots of very upsetting moments where you'll possibly be close to tears but after the 2 hours and 10 minutes, you'll definitely feel a lot more at ease.
Highly recommend the novel as well as his others (e.g. Everything is Illuminated)!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thought Provoking Film, 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Extremely Loud And Incredibly Close [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
I bought this film originally because Sandra Bullock and Tom Hanks were in it. Without giving away too much of the story, it's a well written story that is very thought provoking. The young boy is played perfectly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sensitive and rewarding study of tragedy, 7 July 2012
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Having not read the book on which this film is based, I can't comment on how faithful it is to the novel, but on its own merits the film version of `Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close' is a well-made, satisfying and moving movie outing.

Having watched the film, I suspect the novel is superior, because the story doesn't really lend itself to a feature film; there is a final fulfilling climax, but not enough story conflict along the way to make it thoroughly gripping at every stage of Oskar's journey. In particular Oskar's unrealistic autonomy is a sticking point, and although this is eventually explained, this along with other unlikely events doesn't ground the production in the reality that you feel would have best served the material and made for a more profound experience. But that's not to say it isn't fantastically shot, directed and acted, because it is.

Although I do feel some criticism of the casting of Oskar's parents to be warranted, because (even though they do a very good job) actors with more range and on-screen presence than Tom Hanks and Sandra Bullock would no doubt have made this story even more impactful and poignant.

In spite of the years that have passed since 11th September 2001 the use of the tragedy of that day as the main focal point for this story is no less effective. The occasional (somewhat) graphic representational shots of the fates of some of the people in the World Trade Centers on that day will surely be traumatic for some viewers, especially those directly effected, but I think the film-makers have balanced that sensitively with the touching nature of Oskar's quest and the final sharing of pain and joy between Oskar and his mother at their memory of their lost loved one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A very touching film with excellent acting....., 5 Dec. 2014
This review is from: Extremely Loud And Incredibly Close [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
Rented this film on video, having missed it at the cinema.
I don't like giving a synopsis of films because the plots should unfold as we watch them for the first time.
I will only say that yes, it is a sad film but also very uplifting.
I am not sure what form of autism Oscar was suffering from - Asperger's Syndrome?? As the star of the film he carried it through with ease and finesse and was entirely believable. Top marks for all acting from Tom Hanks and Sandra Bullock as well. The fact that it was filmed in New York City and seen through the eyes of a New York boy adds to the charm of it. Oscar connects with strangers in a metropolis that is filled with problems and people short on empathy. And he manages to help heal them as much as himself.
It is a great film to see during the holidays because although a tear jerker it also makes one feel glad to be part of the human race. There aren't many films I would watch again but in another year I will dig it out and replay it - and love it as much as I did the first time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A GOOD FILM DISMISSED BY THE CRITICS, 14 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After his father dies in the 9/11 tragedy, Oskar Schell played by Thomas Horn, finds a key with the word black after breaking a vase. He then starts an obsessive quest to find the lock that the key fits. After searching the name black in the phone book, he then starts his quest of visiting every address in New York city that is occupied by people with the name black, trying to find the owner of the lock that will fit the key.

This is a thought provoking film that has been unfairly scorned by the critics. It portrays the feelings of people after 9/11, and follows Oskar in his search, and of him trying to come to terms with the loss of his father. It's not going to be to everyone's taste, but it does show that a film dosen't need loads of action and explosions to be a good film. Just a good story.

Picture Quality on this transfer is excellent, with natural colours, and a pin sharp image. It has been transferred in it's original aspect ratio of 2.35:1 and the soundtrack is in 5.1
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, a movie i thurally enjoyed, 4 May 2014
I, laughed, cried, and got swept away as the plot unfolded. This is a moving story about loss, love, family, and humanity. The characters are well portrayed with some fantastic acting and a piece of genius directing. I would warn anyone who doesn't like an artistic film that needs interpretation and logic to forget it, you should stick to something simple. To all of the people giving this 1 star you are philistines and have obviously picked a movie outwith your limited range of understand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Extremely Loud And Incredibly Close [DVD] [2012]
£3.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews