Customer Reviews


296 Reviews
5 star:
 (144)
4 star:
 (59)
3 star:
 (43)
2 star:
 (25)
1 star:
 (25)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


63 of 67 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A typical Burton's film
Dark Shadows is a typical Burton's film. It comes across as quirky, surreal, gothic and richly entertaining. I enjoyed the film. Johnny Depp proves how versatile he is as an actor. He plays the role of a vampire really well. I love the make -up and the costumes of the characters. The setting sets the tone of the film really well. The characters are interesting and...
Published on 4 Jun 2012 by Mr. P. Datta

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars NEEDED A WRITER
They assembled an all-star cast for this film. They included "dark" favorites such as Alice Cooper and Christopher Lee. Character actors like Depp and Helena Bonham Carter. Toss in ChloŽ Grace Moretz, Michelle Pfeiffer, Eva Green and a great soundtrack and you would think you would have a great film, right? They forgot to hire a writer.

The film opens...
Published 17 months ago by The Movie Guy


‹ Previous | 1 230 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

63 of 67 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A typical Burton's film, 4 Jun 2012
By 
Mr. P. Datta "Pritthijit" (Stockton on Tees, Teesside) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dark Shadows [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
Dark Shadows is a typical Burton's film. It comes across as quirky, surreal, gothic and richly entertaining. I enjoyed the film. Johnny Depp proves how versatile he is as an actor. He plays the role of a vampire really well. I love the make -up and the costumes of the characters. The setting sets the tone of the film really well. The characters are interesting and eccentric.

The plot initially starts three centuries ago. The opening sequence shows a young Barnabas and his parents leaving Liverpool for a new life in an American fishing town. The family build a huge mansion. Barnabas becomes a businessmen and a servant played by Eva Green falls for him. She is later rejected and takes revenge by killing the parents. She is a witch. Barnabas returns alive in the 70s. Why going back to the 70s? The TV series is based on the 70s and was never shown in the UK. It is available on DVD, but only sold in the States if you are interested to watch the original TV series. The mansion is passed on to a new generation, who are dysfunctional and strange. Barnabas is a vampire and even the past haunts him, as you are about to discover. The film is filled with plenty of comedy moments and a few glory bloodshot moments. It has a good cast, as Michelle Pfeiffer and Helen Bonham compliment the main characters well with their roles.

Dark Shadows is classed as a comedy film. It is a bit like the Adams family, as it is gothic and vampire influenced. I admit it is not going to be everyone's cup of tea. It is entertaining and worth seeing if you like to have a good laugh, but I would not say it is totally light hearted. The term light hearted is a bit of an understatement, as there are some sickening moments in the film. I enjoyed the film as a whole. I love the 70s nostalgic to the film. The good old days of the decade are relieved with some classic tunes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars NEEDED A WRITER, 22 July 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Dark Shadows [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
They assembled an all-star cast for this film. They included "dark" favorites such as Alice Cooper and Christopher Lee. Character actors like Depp and Helena Bonham Carter. Toss in ChloŽ Grace Moretz, Michelle Pfeiffer, Eva Green and a great soundtrack and you would think you would have a great film, right? They forgot to hire a writer.

The film opens with a long narration to give us the 196 year old background, then shifts to 1972. Some of the humor involves the typical 200 year old man stuff coming into a strange era. It also had the immature "balls" humor. The dialogue was bad. It managed to be campy without being funny. The advantage of bringing the series to the big screen would be the use of great special effects limited by a stage. This was underutilized.

This movie was classless. None of these women could hold a candle to Lara Parker. And if you are going to give 1972 as the year the movie takes place, why would you play music that wasn't released until 1978? I thought ChloŽ Grace Moretz did great in her role. Gulliver McGrath as David was also fairly decent. The writing, editing and directing killed this film. Wait for the rental.

No f-bombs or nudity. Weird sex scene.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Light or dark? It's a misfire either way., 16 Nov 2012
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Dark Shadows is directed by Tim Burton and written by John August and Seth Grahame-Smith. It stars Johnny Depp, Helena Bonham Carter, Chloe Moretz, Eva Green, Bella Heathcote, Jonny Lee Miller, Michelle Pfeiffer, Jackie Earle Haley and Gulliver McGrath. Music is by Danny Elfman and cinematography by Bruno Delbonnel. Based on the TV series of the same name, plot finds Depp as Barnabas Collins, a 200 year old vampire returning to the family mansion in 1972 to find his dysfunctional descendants in residence. With his old nemesis still to deal with and the changing of the times complicating matters still further, it's clear Barnabas has much on his hands.

The Burton and Depp combination, coupled with an American fan base of the original TV series, ensured that Dark Shadows made a decent profit at the box office. However, this does in no way prove to be a guide to the quality of Dark Shadows. It is in truth a muddled mess of a picture, in fact it comes off as a selfish exercise, it's a film that Burton and Depp appear to have made purely for themselves. Self confessed fans of the original TV show, of which only a cult fan base existed any way, there's no denying that Burton pleases the eyes with his visuals and Depp engages in that kooky way from the corner of the market he has cornered, but even their hardiest of fans must be growing a little concerned about the lack of feeling for their audience.

The film actually starts off quite promising, prologue and lead characters in place, a whiff of comedic horror in the air, but once Barnabas is unearthed from his 200 year old grave, it all goes quickly down hill. Not sure if it wants to be funny or creepy, or what pace of scene or tone should follow each set-up, it's weird for all the wrong reasons. The fish out of water premise quickly grows tired and the support characters to Depp's Barnabas are merely making up the numbers. Only Eva Green, who is so delectable she is made for Blu-ray, is able to compete on equal terms with Depp's latest kook, but even she is hindered by the weak screenplay. It's a shame and a waste rolled into one, because as gorgeous as it is to look at, and as sure as there is loving intent, Burton has crafted a disappointing over long mess of a movie that is neither homage or reinvention. 5/10 for Miss Green, the visuals and a snazzy sound track.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I laughed out loud, so fun and a great story nonetheless, 30 Oct 2014
A really lovely, tongue in cheek film telling a great story of love, betrayal and the value of family. It deliberately keeps every vampire film cliche and device and gently pokes a bit of fun at all of them while not offending those of us that love them. There's nods to Bram Stoker's Dracula and Nosferatu as well as Popular folk lore.

What I loved best was the multiple contrasting layers of the story and the flawed nature of the characters. Underneath the dramatic gothic styling, the self-deprecating humour, the love stories, there's the tragedy of child abuse, irresponsible and abusive parenting, jealousy and obsession, infidelity and failure of self-control, and no character is black-and-white good or bad. Everybody is flawed, human, ordinary like the rest of us. Most make mistakes that could have been played differently, and it's not so easy to point a self righteous finger without feeling a bit of compassion.

A very enjoyable collage that shows affection for and honours the genre but doesn't take any of it too seriously at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lightweight, but entertaining, 10 Jun 2012
By 
S. Ahmad (Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dark Shadows [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
I had forgotten that Johnny Depp can also be a serious actor - & here he plays the part of an English aristocrat settler in 1700s America - perfectly: having been turned into a vampire by an insanely jealous witch, he awakes 200 years later in 1970's America. To find a strange world, where the inevitable culture clash between the 2 eras is fertile ground for lots of laughs. And with background music of 1970s pop songs, it really is most enjoyable. Special effects - yes & quite well done, horror - not really, more on a par with Addams Family Values. OK, the plot is a bit simple, but you walk out of the cinema with a smile & not feeling as if you've wasted your money. Would buy the DVD provided it's well below a fiver.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Notwithstanding all fertile hips present, this film is a stillborn pathetic mess, 20 Oct 2014
By 
Darth Maciek "Darth Maciek" (Darth Maciek is out there...) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Dark Shadows [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
All big fan of Johny Depp and Tim Burton as I am, I was still VERY disappointed by this film. Below, more of my impressions, with some limited SPOILERS.

This film, as probably everybody knows, is the remake of an old TV show (1966-71) about a very strange family living in modern times in Maine. The family becomes even stranger once their 200 years old vampire-ancestor, Barnabas Collins, rises from his grave and moves in with them... I didn't see any of the episodes of this show, so I can absolutely not compare it with the film - but it seemed to be quite popular in its time and it seems to have still some cult following now.

I knew that this film bombed at the box office, but it usually doesn't bother me, so I decided to give it a chance, just setting my expectation level at "really not high". Sadly, it was not nearly low enough and therefore I was VERY disappointed.

To put things very bluntly, this film is BORING. It is definitely NOT FUNNY - I couldn't find even one really good joke in it. Visually, there are some scenes in which you can still see some of talent Tim Burton knew how to conjure in the days of yore - but they are few... And even worse, a lot of talent was wasted here by a bland, uninspired scenario. Johny Depp as Barabas was of course supposed to be the main asset - and he doesn't deliver. AT ALL! With Michelle Pfeiffer, Helena Bonham Carter, Johnny Lee Miller and young Chloe Grace Moretz in supporting roles there was a lot of things that could have been done - and nothing happened! For Christ sake, Tim Burton had Michelle Pfeiffer at his disposal and all he could find for her to do is to once discharge a shotgun!? Really man!? Then he even hired Christopher Lee for a cameo - and failed to do anything with such an opportunity!

As for Eva Green, I confess to an element of subjectivity, because I simply cannot stand her, but here, playing the main villain (and a very evil and depraved one) she was probably completely in her element - and yet, her character is also a huuuuge disappointment...

Tim Burton made some great movies in the past, like "Beetlejuice", two "Batman" films, "Mars Attacks", "Sleepy Hollow" (I didn't see "Sweeney Todd" yet) - but both "Alice in the Wonderland" and "Dark Shadows" were complete failures... I am afraid that he simply burned out - which would be a great pity... As for Johny Depp, he also appeared in a lot of great films: the first "Pirates of Caribbean" of course, but also "Ninth Gate", "Sleepy Hollow", "Donnie Brasco", "Secret Window" and of course "The Brave", which he also directed (it is one of the most shocking and creepiest films I ever saw) - but even his talent couldn't save this failed thing...

When this film ended I was mostly relieved that this ordeal was over, but also sad, because a lot effort and talent was wasted here - and I simply cannot understand why... My sincere advice is to AVOID IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 'JOHNNY DEPP' IS SUPERBLY WICKED', 24 Sep 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
The film received mixed reviews, for me, this is 'Johnny Depp' at his deliciously wicked best.
His family arrived in America many years ago, and built a fine fishing business calling the town -'Collinsport' along with a splendid mansion.
'Barnabas' who finishes an affair with one of the house servants has picked the wrong lady to mess with.............she's a 'witch'
she places a curse on the 'Collins' family killing the parents and condemning 'Barnabas' with a life as a 'vampire'
Unable to win him back she has him buried in a coffin secured by chains......................'196' years later a group of workmen uncover the coffin and cut the chains, 'Barnabas' is freed.
It's a strange world, '1972' so much has changed, he returns to the family home to find it run down, however the home is still occupied by the 'Collins' descendants, who are some what dysfunctional.
'Barnabas' discovers the business is now run by .............and yes,'the witch 'Angelique' (Eva Green) that had condemned him nearly 200 years ago................well 'mayhem' is about to break out as 'Barnabas' sets out to re-build that which the family had lost.
'Angelique' has other ideas.
Among the cast members also on-board - 'Michelle Pfeiffer' (Elizabeth Collins Stoddard) 'Helen Bonham Carter' (Dr Julia Hoffman) 'Chloe Grace Moretz' (Carolyn Stoddard) 'Christopher Lee' (Clarney) and 'Alice Cooper' (as himself) among
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome! Very entertaining..., 22 Oct 2012
This review is from: Dark Shadows [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
I wasn't planning on writing a review but when I saw how the movie review on amazon averaged out as 3.4 I had to step in and help ^_^

This movie is entertaining start to finish, it doesn't have a slow start (unlike other movies, I am sure we can all think of a few that do) it starts of with how Barnabas Collins turned in to a vampire and how he woke up buried alive two centuries later, very behind time.

What made me laugh was how old fashionably he acted towards everyone and Johnny Depp's acting was spot on!

No other actor could have portrayed the character in a more funny way than he did. So this is a must buy.

Tim Burton and Johnny Depp, I wouldn't think twice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Johnny Depp and Tim Burton - who wouldn't watch it, 19 April 2013
By 
JSL "Jen" (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dark Shadows [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
This film was so funny, I couldn't stop laughing. It was very well acted, especially Johnny Depp, I would recommend it if you want to be entertained and have a good laugh. It was light and enjoyable and not difficult to watch or follow. A thoroughly enjoyable bit of fluff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected as this is so much better, 22 Oct 2012
This review is from: Dark Shadows [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
When you get the pairing of Johnny Depp & Tim Burton you know 2 things
10 Visually impressive with the scenes,back drops & camera usage
2) It will be cooky & entertaining.
This goes so much further than the previous collaborations.
If you have seen the 60's & 90's revival of the classic tv show made in the 60's then you should know this is not like those.
Story line is loosely the same but this has been given a fresh shot of life.
Worth getting as it is the intricate details of Depp's acting that brings this to another level along with the star cast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 230 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dark Shadows [DVD]
Dark Shadows [DVD] by Tim Burton (DVD - 2012)
£3.52
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews